We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Property- Staff Fantastc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Sinbad's is off the highway close to the mall. This is an older property but there have been renovations (dining room). My attempts (and failure) to connect to the internet on the first night had me ready to move to another hotel as I rely on the internet while on these business trips. When I explained my dilemma to the wonderful lady at the front desk she immediately saved the day (for both us and the hotel...) by moving us to another room where the internet was fast and reliable. Thank you Marina. The room was comfortable and clean but the owners are going to have to consider renovating soon as it is showing wear. A beautifully decorated dining room with a nice breakfast buffet included along with the wonderful staff will have me coming back.

Room Tip: If you need internet make sure you let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

This older Hotel is right in the heart of Gander and fairly easy to get to. Check in staff was great and very friendly. Was tired from traveling so ate at on site restaurant which was very good. Room was clean, little old looking with décor but all you should need. There is also a lounge on site which serves food and drinks. Will stay here again on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is in dire need of some upgrades. It is not 1981 anymore. Things have changed and so should your hotel.

The only nice things about this place was the woman at the front desk when we checked in. Nice lady. Cannot remember her name.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for a week while on business. My room was very clean and comfortable. The window opened onto a small courtyard which unfortunately resounded with the hum of air conditioners. Not enough to put me off totally. The common area (lobby and hallways) are very tired and not as clean as they could be. But the service staff was friendly and accommodating; service in the boardroom I used was prompt. The adjoining restaurant is quite good. It is a large hotel; my room was 137 steps from the elevator.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The room was clean and quiet, but there were lots of minuses with this stay. The hall ways in the hotel were very hot, musty, and appeared dirty, though none of the issues appeared to continue into the room. My room had all of the towel racks and hooks removed from the walls. There were holes in the walls and bathroom door where the racks and hooks should have been. The only place to hang the towel after my shower was on the floor so that's where my towel went. If the hotel was feeding persons from a bus tour, it had limited or no capacity to feed any other guests during the time the hotel was feeding person's from the bus tour. There were eating establishments within the hotel area, but all were fast food eateries. The bathroom area was divided into two areas, with one area having the sink and the second area having the toilet and bathtub/shower. But the toilet area did not have its own light switch; thus, when you turned on the light for a bathroom visit in the middle of the night, it lit up both the sink area and the toilet area making the light visible and bothersome to the other sleeping guest in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandyZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here on a tour bus when they had another bus at the same time. Amazing service and food. Propery is a little tired but very clean and comfortable. Mall across the road is convenient as well as the liquor store.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Canada/US coast to coast, hotel #17, 1 night

Gander was a pitstop on the way to St John's from Port Aux Basques and fortunately redeemed by a bistro and the staff working there. The Sinbad hotel needs updating, the room was large but the hotel and room had a general musty smell, my wife found the bed uncomfortable. The staff was courteous and I had a good sleep. One silver lining was the included breakfast, it is served up in a regular restaurant that only puts out a small quantity (of eggs, bacon etc) at a time. Since we showed up late we received fresh scrambled eggs and bacon which was great. One negative is the price, the hotel is not great value and I would seek better value if available in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amosnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gander hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Gander
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Albatross Hotel
Albatross Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gander
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn Motel & RV Park
Show Prices

Been to Sinbad's Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinbad's Hotel and Suites

Address: 133 Bennett Dr | Newfoundland, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1W6, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gander
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Price Range: £85 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinbad's Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sinbad's Hotel & Suites has been newly renovated and we are now a 4 star hotel. We are 100% air-conditioned located in downtown Gander and only minutes away from the Airport and shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sinbad's Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinbad`s Hotel Gander
Sinbad's Hotel And Suites Gander, Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing