We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place needing investment”
Review of Hotel le Manoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel le Manoir
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baie Comeau
Certificate of Excellence
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful place needing investment”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hotel very well located along the St Lawrence River; very nice view and a nice walking path. Incidently, this hotel is pet friendly which is great. Rooms renovated recently: those ones do not look like brand new one but they are very acceptable as such. A new air conditioning system has been installed; the main problem is that you cannot adjust the temperature you want without asking to the front desk. The room control panel is locked by the main control board; according to the front desk clerk, as it is an entire new Mitsubishi system, they are not used with all its possibilities as the one unlocking the room control panel. So check it out with the clerk if you experience any problem with the system. Tip: do not sleep in front of the air conditioning unit for it is very uncomfortable. Unit is installed high on the wall.

There is a small dining room on the premise; the restaurant is under contract with an outside operator. We try it once. Our conclusion: good food but not remarkable; low quality/price ratio. If you are not to hungry, take the necessary time for going elsewhere. You will save money for a better meal. Tip: try Mikes Restaurant.

Finally, we must underline the very good service experienced at the front desk; also, you will not be disappointed by the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaston G, Propriétaire at Hotel le Manoir, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Our new air conditioning system has been installed and balanced recently. Training has been provided to all employees. Each and every bedrooms have entire control of their unit. The air flow can also be controled.
The restaurant now feature a brand new menu for the summer season. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you again at Hotel Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    72
    32
    15
    5
See reviews for
26
71
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Looks very pretty from the outside, it's got history and well maintained. I love the older Victorian decor in the rooms and hallways. Appreciate that a microwave and a fridge was provided. I understand it's an older building so electronic outlets weren't placed at the most convenient spots in the room but at least free wifi was available. Washroom was fine, interestingly the toilet was right by the door... was a bit tight. One thing I dislike is having to carry heavy luggage up the steps entering the hotel, let alone up more stairs to rooms on the 2nd floor but again, I do understand this is an old building and automatic doors and elevators are out of the question. At least breakfast was provided next morning which was great, there was a cute staff member helping me out.

Room Tip: -closer to lobby for better internet signal -breakfast was provided but it was just alright
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baritonekeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel was clean, quiet and affordable. It is an old victorian style hotel and is a beautiful place to stay. The hotel is located near the water and has a beautiful view of the Baie Comeau ocean. They have a free breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AWebb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We recently spent one night at Hotel Le Manoir, en route towards Havre-St-Pierre. The hotel is located in a small bay near a big park and in a beautiful neighborhood of Baie-Comeau. We asked for a sea-view room which was worth the splurge: the view was splendid and there is a noisy factory nearby that you could probably hear from the city-view rooms. We heard nothing in ours. The front desk staff was very friendly.

The hotel is decorated in an old fashion way which gives charm to it. Our room was nice and clean, with a big window facing the sea. The large hotel terrace also faces the sea. There is a general very serene feel to this place. The hotel is located at a walking distance from restaurant "La cache d'Amélie" which is excellent, highly recommended. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. It's ok, nothing more: toasts, some fruits, eggs, juice and coffee.

I would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The sea-view rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowaning, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Given we were there in the "off season", facilities were restricted like dining, terrace, etc. Very pleasant front desk staff....room exceptionally clean and quiet. Order-in service worked great for dinner. Lots of parking in 2 lots...(we had a car trailer). A very "peaceful" time after a hard day on the road from Labrador city. Would definitely stay again...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed one night only, and asked for a sea-view, which adds to the price. The room was fairly basic, but clean, and not noisy. As it was winter there was no need for air-conditioning but I could see how summer visitors might have a problem. The view would have been limited too, as there are some trees in front, but it is certainly nicer than the front, which looks out into the town, and an industrial plant. There is a small garden, and some sporting facilities as well as access to the shoreline. The breakfast was included, but very simplistic, with self-service from a fairly limited choice, which seemed to run out quite early. The service and facilities need some real improvement here - not expensive ones, but simply better presentation and service. There is no hostess service for seating, and nothing to say that breakfast is self-serve. Cleaning the tables consists of sweeping any crumbs on to the floor, from which they are hopefully vacuumed up later. The hot water for tea was lukewarm, and their section of bakery goods limited. Hot breakfast consisted of sausage links and pre-prepared omelettes. There was a limited fruit selection, along with some self-serve yogurt in a bowl. There was an instant waffle service machine, but for me the biggest insult was that here in the heart of Quebec it was offered with pancake syrup, and not real maple syrup. Oh dear.

Room Tip: The sea view is definitely nicer if you are prepared to pay the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Wow, what a place. Overlooking the sea in a perfect setting. But on arriving, no bar or lunch service. Not even on the fantastic terracce where I had dreamt having a bottle of dry white wine and a great lunch and enjoy the quitness of the fantaqstic view! What a dissapointment. We had to go to Grand Hotel that showed up to be a total disaster (mostly because of the language and an ignorant servant!)
The kitchen and the chef at Hotel le Manoir was excelent. The food was great. I had just starters and was so satisfied. My somewhat more hungry travelfriend had starters and a great entree: A really fantastic steak.

What a place this could be with bar-be-que on the terracce with cocktails..... Start dreaming....

Most of us know english so much better than french. In Hotel le Manoir everyone tried their best to speak english with us. It's not that easy for a 60 yo Norwegian to speak french when last time was some 44 years ago in school! But language was not a problem in Hotel le Manoir. This is a really good place to visit and hopefully the owner starts renowating and put ideas in action! (The room was terrible hot in the night without possibility to open the window!))

Two Norwegians on tour...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjell575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baie Comeau hotels
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Baie-Comeau
Comfort Inn Baie-Comeau
#2 of 9 in Baie Comeau
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Baie Comeau
32 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Le Comte
Hotel Le Comte
#9 of 9 in Baie Comeau
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Caravelle
Hotel Caravelle
#7 of 9 in Baie Comeau
52 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Boreal
Le Boreal
#5 of 9 in Baie Comeau
7 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel Du Rosier
Motel Du Rosier
#6 of 9 in Baie Comeau
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Manoir

Property: Hotel le Manoir
Address: 8 Ave Cabot, Baie Comeau, Quebec G4Z 1L8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Baie Comeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baie Comeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel le Manoir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Manoir, rated 4 star, is a French colonial style Manor located in the historic district close to the Baie-Comeau-Matane ferry. Newly renovated rooms (60), restaurant, lounge and a magnificent terrace overlooking the Saint-Laurent River. Exercise room, Business centre, free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Baie Comeau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing