We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ot a bad spot for the price!!”
Review of Hotel Caravelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caravelle
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Baie Comeau
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great spot for a single night stop-over stay....We have stayed here befr and always great. Needs some up-dating but very clean. Restaurant is great and they have a indoor pool as well.. Just a note, ask for a air conditioned room if it is hot!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labradorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed one night to recover from our finish of the Trans Labrador Highway drive! Reception was great and they managed to get us into our room quickly. The hotel is very clean and we had a room that was accessible from the parking lot which was great. Breakfast in the morning was first rate and we were on our way in no time. Definitely a nice place to stay and it would be great to spend more time in the Baie Comeau area on a future visit. We would have like to have had a swim but the pool was being serviced on our visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Stay here everytime we drive to Labrador.The Hotel has a indoor pool seems to be getting more updates in the last little wile. Room was clean and perfect for our little family. I love that they do not charge a fee for your pet as others charge min $25 per night. Staff is friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stayed at Hotel Caravelle the first week of July 2012 after attending a wedding in Lab City, NL. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful, and he spoke decent English. It's an older hotel but it was clean and has been up kept very well over the years. The rooms are spacious and have character with brick walls and scenic pictures. The bathroom was very small and out dated with a 1970's green grass colored bathtub, but the plumbing worked fine. The rooms have updated televisions with the newer Flat Screen models. The hotel wifi was slow, I became impatient so I used my own internet air card instead. The restaurant was closed by the time I checked in so I can't give an opinion on the food and I didn't use the pool. The price point was decent for an intermediate room at $85 plus tax. My relatives that frequently pass through Baie- Comeau often and they will only stay at 2 hotels in this town, Hotel Caravelle is one of them. For a crappy little french town that doesn't have much to offer as far as accommodations go....this hotel is as good as it gets. If you need a place to crash while waiting for an early morning ferry, Hotel Caravelle will fulfill your travel needs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CommanderRyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have stayed in Baie Comeau several times; a necessity on the drive to Havre St. Pierre. Unfortunately the conclusion I have come to is that you simply don't get much for your money here. That Said the Hotel Caravelle was adequate and the only annoyance was that the help woke me around 8am with a bunch of banging around and loud talking. I guess you are not expected to sleep in Quebec. This has been a common occurrence in at motels in Quebec in general. I have stayed in several and this has happened several times. ALWAYS make it clear to the desk clerk that you need to sleep and would like a room at the end. Also, I'd like to point out a scam on priceline & Booking.com. They indicated that there was only one room left to create a sense of urgency. The place was practically empty.
The night desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. If I was not so road weary and remembered to ask, I'm sure he would have given me a room at the end of the hall.
The room was very nice and spacious. Plenty of room for your gear and a stand for your suitecase - imagine that in a motel in Quebec, lol. The exterior entrance was really convenient but was extremely slippery and icey.
The Wifi was not good. Difficult to connect to and my iPad would not connect at all.
This is a really solid 2.5 star motel and I will not stay anywhere else in Baie Comeau from now on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blamanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here 3 days during a motorcycle ride. Staff was accomodating and we had a good stay. Good value for the money. The rooms were clean, the hotel relatively well maintained and in good conditions for something built in the 60's. The hotel is frequented a lot by out of town workers who tend to go to bed early and get up early so expect some noise from trucks and cars in the morning. Most workers are very quiet and even park their truck backwards so that int he morning they can drive away without backing up and haveing the back up alarm horn go off. The hotel is way off the main road up the side of a hill so there is no road noise. The rooms are not soundproof so you will hear the people in the other room talk. No air conditionning. Get a room on the 2nd floor if possible to avoid having noise from people walking.
The restaurant at the bottom of the will is very good and withing walking distance

Room Tip: the rooms on the 2nd floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadrunner666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

In the first week of August 2011, we stayed four nights at Hotel La Caravelle in Baie Comeau. While the hotel offers good value (about $100 per night for a comfortable room with two beds and breakfast for two), we were taken aback by the nonchalant attitude of some of the staff at the front desk when we pointed out a safety concern with the room assigned to us when we arrived.

The room initially assigned to us was at the top of the stairs of this two-storey hotel. The door to the room was almost entirely blocked by the hallway glass door, which was left open during the day. To get into the room, you had to close the hallway door. When we pointed out that this could be a hazard to us or to other guests, we got a blank stare from the woman at the front desk. She seemed (pretended) not to understand our concerns.
We managed to get another room with the help of another staff member.

As for the swimming pool, it is closed from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. It is only open in the morning and evening. When we asked the front-desk clerk why the pool was closed during the day, she said she would ask her boss. Although we stayed at this hotel for four nights, we never got to use the pool. And we're still waiting to hear from her boss.

Our room was comfortable, breakfast was hearty, and the price was fair. We had no problem with noisy neighbours, but others apparently were not as fortunate. Try it, you may like it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baie Comeau hotels
1 mi away
Travelodge Baie Comeau
Travelodge Baie Comeau
#8 of 9 in Baie Comeau
103 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Baie-Comeau
Comfort Inn Baie-Comeau
#1 of 9 in Baie Comeau
104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel le Manoir
Hotel le Manoir
#2 of 9 in Baie Comeau
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Baie Comeau
37 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Boreal
Le Boreal
#5 of 9 in Baie Comeau
10 reviews
4.7 mi away
Motel Hauterive
Motel Hauterive
#3 of 9 in Baie Comeau
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravelle

Address: 202 Blvd La Salle, Baie Comeau, Quebec G4Z 1S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Baie Comeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Baie Comeau
Price Range: £49 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Caravelle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing