We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible”
Review of Hotel Le Comte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Comte
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Baie Comeau
Baie-comeau
1 review
“Horrible”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel has aged badly. It is a ruin. Definitively not a 3 stars (not even a 2 stars). Air conditionning does not work. It is durty!! & services are poor. It is also quite noisy. We have been bitten by some insects (bed bugs?) and needed cortisone cream to recover. Breakfast was a disaster. The presence of the hygiene department making controls did not provide a good feeling neither. DON'T GO THERE!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nan. A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldorval, General Manager at Hotel Le Comte, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am really sorry to hear your experience and comments with us, we are all really sorry.
We just hired a new hotel manager and we are sure he will help us improve our areas of opportunity, breakfast, noisy a/c, services in general. At the beginning of the year we have a small water leak from the roof, on the second floor. What you saw was the inspectors, checking that our hotel is 100 % operational, we have a new roof, a new manager and we are hoping to start some room renovations at the end of the year.
We are really sorry for the inconveniences and we hope you give us a second chance..
Kind Regards,

Maria G. Alanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    21
    21
    20
See reviews for
20
17
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times however the last two times I have booked over the phone, well ahead of our arrival date I did not get the room I requested. (Drive up). Both times I was told they were booked but funnily there were no vehicles there late into the night or early into the morning. So not only did we not get the room we requested which is a rate of about $100.00 a night what we were given was a room that cost us $175.00, no explanation, no discount, no customer service. We will no longer be choosing Hotel le Comte as our go to accommodations in Baie-Comeau.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleObsession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldorval, General Manager at Hotel Le Comte, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are very sorry to hear your bad experience when making your reservation. We are starting some room renovations and the first rooms we are doing are situated on the first floor, no excuse not to give the room you reserved, just wanted you to know what is happening at the hotel.

I hope you could give us a second chance, and I will make sure all will be perfect during your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Maria G. Alanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baie Comeau hotels

Perce, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

stayed here a few years ago and looked forward to the return-greatly disappointed-desk clerk was curt and not friendly-room was not fully clean with dirty towel behind bathroom door- caulk around tub was discoloured-dining room was only open for breakfast which was good- bar was open with no one in it-the bar was dark and the night clerk would have had to leave her position to serve us- toilet needed repair and we were told it would be fixed-returned later in the day and it was not fixed-we fixed it as our concern that a.m. was not heeded-never again

Room Tip: sad how we enjoyed this place only a few years ago--never again
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldorval, Manager at Hotel Le Comte, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
On behalf of Hotel Le Comte please accept my apology for the inconveniences encounter during your past stay with us.

We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We are actively working training our staff in customer service, and I am also happy to say that the hotel will be showing new improvements in the near future.

We hope you will give us a second chance to show you the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit.

Kind Regards,


Maria G. Alanis
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A/C was broken in the first room we got. We couldn't even open the window so we asked for another room where the A/C was also not working. Other guests said there was no A/C in their room either, but the halls was getting A/C so it wasn't the whole system... The staff at the desk did not seem to care.

We found clothes from a previous guest in our room. The cleaning staff must not have been very thorough. Our room was not even cleaned between our two nights.

Included breakfast was alright though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BisonDesPrairies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldorval, Director of Sales at Hotel Le Comte, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
On behalf of Hotel Le Comte please accept my apology for the inconveniences encounter during your past stay with us.

We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We did experienced a failure during some days with the AC, which we have fixed.

We hope you will give us a second chance to show you the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit.

Kind Regards,


Maria G. Alanis
Regional Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Montreal only to wake up with bites over our legs with further searching we found bed bugs.. The bathroom is really small and the breakfast is terrible and also served with warm juice, would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler8679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldorval, Manager at Hotel Le Comte, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We were our most concerned to read your comments, and thank you for answering my direct email sent to you, but unfortunately you were not able to remember your room number. However, we have our specialized extermination company checked all rooms on the first floor and we were unable to find any bugs. I found really interesting that after staying with us for one night, you went to another hotel in Baie-Comeau and you also found bugs in that hotel too!! What an unfortunate coincidence for you!

Please receive our most sincere apologize for the inconveniences encounter during your stay with us.

Maria G Alanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel. Going through some renos. They are really nice at the front desk. Decent price.Room we had needed to be updated but was clean and comfy. Located in the older part of the town but only a short drive to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

During winter on this part of the coast, most tourist businesses close down or cut back, and this one is no exception. There is no bar or restaurant, except for breakfast, though you get 10% discount at the Mike's across the road. The room was clean but smelled a bit musty when we moved in, and was also cold. It was below zero outside, and the thermostat had been set to minimum. That might also explain the smell. Once the heating was turned up, the smell seemed to disappear (or perhaps we just didn't notice any more). The problem was that the blower was very noisy, and kept cutting in and out every ten minutes or so. It didn't seem to stop us sleeping in the comfortable beds, but maybe the 10hr drive from Montreal had something to do with it. The toilet wouldn't stop flushing unless you took the top off the cistern and prodded the float each time until it sprang back. OK - no great problem, but should I have had to do it? Breakfast wasn't plentiful, but it was included, and tasty, and the serveuse was friendly. Overall, for the money, I can't complain.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baie Comeau hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Baie-Comeau
Comfort Inn Baie-Comeau
#2 of 9 in Baie Comeau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Caravelle
Hotel Caravelle
#7 of 9 in Baie Comeau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel le Manoir
Hotel le Manoir
#1 of 9 in Baie Comeau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Motel Du Rosier
Motel Du Rosier
#6 of 9 in Baie Comeau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Baie Comeau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.7 mi away
Motel Hauterive
Motel Hauterive
#3 of 9 in Baie Comeau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Comte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Comte

Property: Hotel Le Comte
Address: 285, Blv. La Salle, Baie Comeau, Quebec G4Z 2L5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Baie Comeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Baie Comeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Comte 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Baie-Comeau main shopping and entertainment area, just 20 minutes from the airport, Hotel Le Comte offer all the services and facilities of a Grand Hotel at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Comte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing