We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place to Stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here one night in one of the motel rooms on a circle tour of Superior based on Trip Advisor ratings.. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Games and books in our room for use which is a nice local touch. Satelite TV and internet reception was good. Hosts were excellent and very accomodating. Breakfast was typical continental. Nothing special. Although location is out of town a bit, we would definitely stay here again. Congratulations on their comeback from the flood in Oct. 2012.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    44
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
80
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We choose Northern Lights based on reviews here. And boy were the positive reviewers right!!!
The innkeepers were so gracious and friendly it was like they were welcoming long lost family members. We felt right at home. We stayed in one of the motel rooms that was very quiet and VERY comfortable. Sure the bathroom was a bit small but we weren't planning to spend much time there. The room was immaculate, the bed linens were positively exquisite and the beds so comfortable. We enjoyed the grounds surrounding the place with many touches that made us smile.
Then to top it off, the restaurant and lounge on site made it even better. Fabulous food----cabbage rolls and other Polish delicacies in Wawa(?)----attentive service and good drinks made our experience even better--if that was possible. It was a most enjoyable evening only a few yards from our room.
We were sorry we could only stay one night due to our schedule. Rest assured, we'll be back.
This is what lodging is supposed to be----and what all should be. Most fall way, way short. Not the Northern Lights. We're spoiled for life!!!
Thank you for such a wonderful night!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1cutekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying with Jo and Mo twice this month, one night on a room and one in a chalet. Both the proprietors and the accommodations were delightful. We were unaware that this was the motel we had seen on the news after the Oct. 2012 disaster in Wawa. The chalet has been renovated and is most tastefully decorated. There is evidence of their sense of humor everywhere and our very need was met. Imagine our delight to see smiling faces drawn on the shells of our breakfast hard boiled eggs.
We will most certainly return and will recommend it to others.
Ann and Ed
Tecumseh, ON

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tofflemire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

You know you have found a gem of a Motel when you cannot stop grinning from ear to ear as you explore the property. Motels are supposed to be quaint, functional, basic. You are not expecting the amenities of Delta or Quality Inn, however, we never want to sacrifice cleanliness or comfort no matter where we stay. From the moment you walk into the Motel Office, you can tell that the owners, Mo and John take pride in their work, their motel and making your stay the best experience they can offer. Whether it is a frozen mug waiting in the freezer to keep your drink cold, cute notes or signs to tell you which light switch is which (kitchen vs. outside deck), or a rubber ducky waiting for you on the edge of the bath tub, the combination of quirkiness and consideration is inviting and helped make us feel right at home.

During our two night stay at the Motel, we were fortunate to stay in one of the newly renovated Chalets at the back of the property with nothing but wilderness behind us. The Chalet had three bedrooms on the second floor which included two beds in each (a double / queen and a twin). The beds were comfortable and included a television with a VCR and selection of movies in one room. The main floor, quite honestly, made your jaw drop as you walked from the wrap around deck and over the threshold. You had all the amenities of home and more, right down to a full kitchen, two leather couches and “real” plants in the living room, premium satellite television on a nice LCD screen, a DVD player, a selection of novels, and a propane BBQ outside. Not in the mood to cook - look no further than the coffee table and find a book containing the entire menu from each restaurant in the Wawa area. Mo and John have thought of everything.

Thank you for a wonderful stay and we would highly recommend this motel to anyone travelling along the Trans Canada and in the Wawa area. Keep up the incredible work and congratulations on being re-open after your disaster last fall (Motel had been re-opened a week and a half when we stayed in August).

Room Tip: Be sure to check out their Facebook page, as you may stumble upon a chance to get a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

What a delightful place. The proprietors, Mo and John have a heartwarming and inspiring spirit. I have traveled half way around this planet and this place was the most pleasant surprise of all. A simple roadside place just to rest your weary head it is not. What it is ... is... a joyful place of comfort and ease for the body, mind and soul that will leave you with an experience that you will cherish for a long time.

Room Tip: Just go there...you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I was happy to end up in such a wonderful motel after a bad experience elsewhere. Pleasant staff, very clean room, comfortable, good breakfast, they thought of everything. I will stay here every time in Wawa....thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Each time I pass through Wawa I have stayed in a different motel. No particular reason, really, as I've never had a bad experience. But I think I've found my "go to" Wawa motel at Northern Lights. What a lovely, warm atmosphere. John and Maureen have obviously put an incredible amount of TLC into ensuring their guests feel welcomed and looked-after. The place is just flat-out fun, ie many jokes, comments, paintings, posters, etc throughout the motel that add a great deal of charm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and really appreciated that nearly everything we could have wanted was in the room and the breakfast was a great start to the next leg of our journey. When we checked in, we mentioned to John that we were thinking of going for a swim. He suggested we go to Sandy Beach and showed us where it was on the map. It was a breathtaking spot to go for a (chilly) swim. I've been through Wawa many, many times but had never gone down to the shoreline before. I really appreciate John showing us a new side of the community and area. Long story short: This is THE place to stay in Wawa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRM2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wawa hotels
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#6 of 13 in Wawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa

Property: Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa
Address: 1014 Highway 17 | PO Box 1150, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wawa
#3 Family Hotel in Wawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Motel & Chalets. Free Wifi, Premium HD Satellite with Free Movie Channels, Free HBO, Commercial Free Music & more. Beautiful 3 Bedroom Chalets & 2 Bedroom Cottage with wrap around decks, BBQs & Propane. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Wawa
Northern Lights Motel And Breakfast
Northern Lights Hotel Breakfast
Northern Lights Motel Breakfast
Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing