We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you could ever want from a B&B”
Review of Gite Cafe Plumard

Gite Cafe Plumard
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val David
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gite Cafe Plumard
Ranked #4 of 7 Val David B&B and Inns
World Citizen
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All you could ever want from a B&B”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Lovely welcome, fantastically feathery bed and delicious breakfast - impeccable!
Our 1-year-old boy was treated like a little prince too!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debaixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westerlo, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We travelled for two weeks in Canada (Toronto and Quebec province) and this was the best place we stayed. Lucie and Daniel are very friendly people. The house and rooms are clean, the location is good, with a spa and private lake. We had two wonderful nights and tasteful breakfasts in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrien_katrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed 1 night in November. VERY off season; no one else there, got a choice of all the rooms. The owner came across helpful initially, but told us the hot tub was broken and to use the wi-fi we'd have to stand by the window or go downstairs (it didn't work at all downstairs, and was slow & kept dropping out by the window). We had come mainly for the hot-tub so my fiancée inquired about this and whether we could leave as it wasn't as advertised. The owner was stand-offish about the issue and finally told us that the lights inside the actual tub weren't working, otherwise it was fine. He could have told us this originally. Also offered no compensation or solution to the wi-fi not working which was important to us as it is our ONLY means to communicate (via skype & Internet), traveling on Australian phones.
Despite it being the low season & having no guests the price was dropped $5. I feel we could have received better service/more value elsewhere for the same price. The owner, despite us telling him we are English speakers (though my fiancée speaks French) made no effort to speak English or speak slower so I could understand, despite me clearly not understanding.
The breakfast was ok, though the crepe was VERY cheesy, and we had to ask for milk for our coffee. It was nice to have some fresh fruit with it.
Maybe the place would be better in winter, and if the wi-fi actually worked anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orimallei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

we stayed at the Gite Plumard for 3 nights because we were visiting some friends of ours. We normally stay at 4-5star hotels, but we can only talk positively about this bed and breakfast:
first the breakfast was more than wonderful( if you were already so full they wrap the cookies and muffins in for you so that you can eat them later)
second: they rented us their private bikes
third: the rooms are a bit small but nice and freshly renovated
the inkeepers are really nice and due to the fact that they only have 3 rooms it is very quiet...
we hope to return soon

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipi_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmfeldman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This is a lovely B&B, our hosts were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was outstanding.

The only fault that comes to mind is the close proximity to the road (I used earplugs and still had some difficulty falling asleep).

Overall, this was one of the highlights of our two-week trip through Quebec Province.

Dr. Phillip M. Feldman

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmfeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Gite Cafe Plumard is a excellent place to stay. Lucie and Daniel are the most hospitable hosts. Rooms are great. Food is great. Value for money is very good. My wife and i stayed there for 2 days of which we booked Cafe Plumard only 'on spec'. We were on our honeymoon and Cafe Plumard and the hosts Lucie and Daniel just made our stay delightful. And this is from someone who really does not give very good comments unless they are really warranted.

  • Liked — The hosts - Lucie and Daniel
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ireland1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse Cove Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

We spent 2 days of our 4 day weekend mid August 2008 at Gite Cafe Plumard in Val-David before heading off to Montreal. Our hosts, Lucie and Daniel, were most hospitable, the 3 course breakfasts were outstanding (my favourite was a savoury cheese & blackforest ham crepe in a bechamel sauce). The ambience is cozy and very relaxing. There are two 2-bedroom cabins with living room, full kitchen, laundry facilities, and screened-in porch with dining table. The cabins each have an outdoor fireplace and are equipped with a gas barbeque. In addition, there are three Bed & Breakfast (Fr: 'Gite') rooms in the main house each with private en-suite bathroom with shower. This property offers a very small private lake (suitabe for children to swim) with sand beach, a state-of-the-art hot tub in its own gazebo, a swing for reading on the lawn and great peace and quiet. The town of Val-David is charming: full of great shops & fabulous restaurants. Lucie is happy to recommend places to dine & even has copies of menus from her favourites for her guests to peruse before making reservations. Saturday morning there is a fabulous open air market with local products, produce, artisanal cheeses and crafts. You must try the lamb moussaka made at a local convent by Greek Orthodox nuns - a speciality, along with their marvelous cheeses, which you will find at the sisters' market stall. The flavour of the town & especially the market is very European - just like getting away to France for the weekend. Nearby Ste. Agathe also has a lovely downtown and the area is dotted with lakes & rivers and trails in the woods for exploring. There is a 'linear park' running along a former railway line refashioned for walking, cycling, etc.. In the winter, there is downhill & cross-country skiing closeby, making rental of one of the cabins for $750 a week very affordable for a family. The Bed & Breakfast rooms are $90 per night for two persons. All in all, a very good value.

  • Liked — comfort and cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LQW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val David hotels
0.5 mi away
Motel Le Radisson De Val-david
1.2 mi away
Auberge Prema Shanti
Auberge Prema Shanti
#2 of 4 in Val David
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge-Microbrasserie Le Baril Roulant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Auberge Parkers' Lodge
Auberge Parkers' Lodge
#4 of 5 in Val David
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.3 mi away
Domaine des Merveilles
Domaine des Merveilles
#2 of 5 in Val David
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Motel Des Pays D'en Haut
Motel Des Pays D'en Haut
#5 of 7 in Val David
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite Cafe Plumard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite Cafe Plumard

Property: Gite Cafe Plumard
Address: 1641 chemin de la Riviere, Val David, Quebec J0T 2N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Val David
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Val David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gite Cafe Plumard Val David, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing