We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people, good food and random kindness of owner”
Review of C'est la Vie Cafe

C'est la Vie Cafe
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Val David
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Breakfast all day long and lunch, room for kids, 40 differents tea or tisanes, beers, all kind of coffee you like, you will love the ambiance and our wonderful terrasse in center of the town of Val-David See you soon!!!
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly people, good food and random kindness of owner”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My sister and I were visiting Val David for the 1001 Pots exhibit. We had checked tripadvisor for options and C'est la Vie was top of the list. We were not disappointed. The folks did their best effort in English to explain the options (lots to choose and it all sounded great). I also ordered home made lemonade with the fruit they could not translate (cranberry lemonade was wonderfully refreshing). We had cold soups and wrap and sandwich. All was fresh and delicious. My sister wanted a brownie but no ice cream....we were going to leave and find another place for a dessert. However, the owner insisted we try his version and gave it to us complimentary with TWO spoons to be sure we shared. :) I believe he wanted to make sure we were happy...or a random act of kindness....he made our day....we will be back next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie R, Owner at C'est la Vie Cafe, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
For sur you will come back
We have more food to make you try
Tanks for your message
Have à great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    43
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Very small Cafė with a big impression. There is a terrasse if you want eat outdoors. Room for kids to play in( for younger kids)
Everything tastes so good! There is a vast menu which is almost confusing. 2 adults & 2 kids(12-10) left me with a bill for $70.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happyfrank15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie R, Owner at C'est la Vie Cafe, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your visit and your message on tripadvisor
It is fully appreciate
Have a great day and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

One thing you must do in Val-David is visit this quirky cafe. The owner and staff are delightful, the food is both interesting, good and creatively presented. The unisex bathroom is practical and amusing (see the walls) however do not use the shower! A laid-back atmosphere where no one is rushed and babies are very welcome. Definitely worth visiting again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Auxiliary7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie R, Owner at C'est la Vie Cafe, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Tank you so much for your visit and message
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SMILE :) We're in Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

For our family, Val David is Heaven on Earth and we always stop by our favourite Spot "C'est La Vie Café" to remind us to o SMILE, we are Here!! Their warm hospitality is exceptional!
Thank you,
Marco & family

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mbazzocchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie R, Owner at C'est la Vie Cafe, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
You are right
Val-david is un paradise and we are so graceful to live in this beautiful village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Warm People, Creative Presentation of Good Food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This place has a heart and soul. When I had stepped in for the first time with a friend for a simple beverage, we immediately felt like we had stopped by to visit family! While sitting on the terrace by the fireplace, we watched the magnificent dishes parade by us and made a point to come back for breakfast. Dishes were generous and smelled heavenly!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BougieBFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie R, Owner at C'est la Vie Cafe, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
So!!! Did you came back to try???
We will be happy if your eyes and your stomach felt happy
Thank you for your nice message
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C'est la Vie Cafe also viewed

 

Been to C'est la Vie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing