We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop looking, this is the place you will not regret!”
Review of Orveas Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orveas Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Sooke
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stop looking, this is the place you will not regret!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I had a group gathering this past weekend, and we were all was so thrilled not only by June and Ron's hospitality, but by the amazing accommodations and breathtaking location (we rented the entire Beach House, well worth it). Everything was perfect, just like staying in someone's perfectly equipped and very comfortable and roomy home.
You will love the artistry of these handcrafted and artsy home structures and gardens.. not to mention the great hot tub overlooking the straight. Take the walk to the beach, but bring the walking stick, it's kinda steep! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Orveas Bay many times over the last several years and went again last week..This place is an absolute gem. When we first went..we had no idea what to expect as it is down a country road..but the discovery was worth it. There are many "home" touches in the rooms and the grounds are lovely. The Wiliams are very hospitable and we look forward to returning in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTracita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This past weekend was my third visit to Orveas Bay. I have stayed with friends in each of the two cottages. I now want to make this a quraterly escape!

The drive from Victoria is peaceful and arriving to the natural , private setting is instantly calming to me.

We always prepare a simple meal and eat overlooking the ocean. The touches in the cottages are so subtle yet ensure you feel at home.

The sound of crickets and the ocean are soothing and make it difficult to leave.

I recommend this getaway to everyone for an escape for one or a family reunion.

Room Tip: Each accomodation ensures the same privacy and beauty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
419 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

What a great find! Looked long and hard for available accommodation for a one night stay on a Saturday night in August. A seemingly dauntless task. Called Sooke Tourism and they had a list of available rooms. We called enroute and booked their last cabin. The website looked good. Seemed the right place for us to relax on a short getaway from Nanaimo and a day at Botanical Beach.

Well for $150 a night plus HST we think we scored! The cabin was very nicely done up. It is filled (perhaps a bit too much for our tastes) with lots of DVD's books, games, knick knacks from Mexico and Central America, food and a plethora of interesting little bits and bobs. The outside area had lots of spots to sit at, a hammock and a BBQ.

The bed was super comfortable. The sofa bed was comfortable.

We used the kitchen area to prepare a nice BBQ meal, watch the cruise ships go by and the fisherman trying to catch some salmon. Had a hot tub and then curled up to watch the Da Vinci Code. It was a very lovely evening for our family.

The next morning we made pancakes with the mix provided and then drove an hour to Port Renfrew to catch the low tide at Botanical Beach.

We will honestly be back to stay at Orveas Bay again but for a longer period of time. Really a great spot to kick back, relax and enjoy the area. Lots of great stuff to do in the Juan de Fuca area and this is a great base!

Thanks for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Great place to stop while driving the Pacific Marine Circle Route!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

When we arrived with three young children after travelling for three days. We were amazed. The cabin was gorgeous they had games and movies and beds for all the kids! There was a great yard for them to run in and view the wildlife. The cabin was larger then we imagined and there was nothing we could have needed. We all agreed that we would come back as often as possible ! Ron and June were so very kind and helpful ! They thought of everything. Sooke is an amzing place to go and people are all so friendly. If you go stop in to Tale of the Whale and tell him we said hi Great guy and awesome stories !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_7488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My friend and I try to get away for "girl's weekend" every spring. We had stayed at a few places before I found Orveas Bay. Since then, we wouldn't even consider looking for somewhere else!

We've had four long weekends there now and think of the place as our personal retreat. A place to relax, read, enjoy the fire, have quiet dinners, go for long walks or simply sit gazing out over the Strait of Juan de Fuca.

It's hard to describe what happens while you're there - but it's something wonderful!

We've stayed in both the Captain's quarters and the First Mate's quarters. These are not like hotel suites - they are like beautiful, fully equipped homes - furnishings are relaxed and luxurious. There are interesting architectural details everywhere, wonderful nick-nacks such as old clocks and tasteful folk art. You could spend (and I have) a whole day just noticing the little details of the architecture and decor.

There are candles everywhere (including on the deck) and flowers always. Need binoculars to see something out on the strait? They have them. Forgotten a notebook and pen? They have them. Want to read a magazine or two? Forgot your book? They have them. Want to play some music? CD player provided. Watch a movie? Always a nice selection provided. The first year we went to Orveas Bay, I packed a large bag of items I thought we might need and that the resort might not provide. Never had to do that again!

Orveas Bay is not just accommodation - it's an experience. It's owners are delightful and clearly have put their hearts and souls into creating this oasis.

Each time we arrive, enter through the garden with its little pond, and open the door, we both give a huge sigh of relief. It's as if we are weary sailors who, after many months at sea, have finally arrived safely at home.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitorSMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2011

What a wonderful getaway away from the busy bustle of nursing school and "city" life. This stay was a very special birthday present for me, and with the fabulous scenery, nature hikes and walking on the beach these memories will stay with me. Sitting in the hot tub, listening to all the different bird songs and looking at the ocean took my breath away! The starboard cottage was absolutely perfect and all of the extra little touches made it so difficult for us to leave when the time came. We look forward to many more trips and investigating the lighthouse. Thank you Ron and June for your hospitality, we will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinaShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sooke hotels
9.3 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
8.9 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
3.1 mi away
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#2 of 24 in Sooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
6.7 mi away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
8.8 mi away
Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orveas Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orveas Bay Resort

Property: Orveas Bay Resort
Address: 2577 Sunnybrae Rd | BC, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1G4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Sooke
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Orveas Bay Resort Sooke, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing