We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cozy and fabulous place to unwind!”
Review of Orveas Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orveas Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a cozy and fabulous place to unwind!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Everything at Orveas Bay was just about perfect. The cabins were filled with all kinds of conveniences and cozy items that made it feel like we hadn't even left home (except for leaving all of our stress behind of course). June & Ron are incredible hosts and think of just about everything to make a vacation complete. As Washingtonians, we especially loved the view of our home state across the straits of Juan de Fuca in the form of the stunning Olympic Mountains. i can't imagine going anywhere else in Canada for a break from all the craziness of city living! I would recommend Orveas Bay to anyone who wanted to get away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

After travelling for a month in Canada, we arrived here and were gobsmacked by the beauty of the accommodation and its surroundings. We were casually warned about the black bear nearby and wandered down to the beach through the forest trying to ignore the rustling of the berry bushes around us. Bear droppings spotted but fortunately no bear sightings. This place was a piece of heaven and although we're in Australia, we would dearly love to return one day to this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_Hobelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My favourite aspect of this place was the lovely private backyard with the ocean view. The owners were delightful and very attentive. The walk to the beach was somewhat treacherous for the uninformed so that would be my only recommendation... bring proper footwear and prepare yourself for a very steep climb to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Our recent stay in the Captain's Suite was much more than we expected. Our luck in the past has been to stay in rentals where things don't work properly. Here, everything functioned and was of good quality, in good condition and clean. We would happily stay again and I would give it five stars if the water had been of drinking quality (although plenty of bottled water was provided), a dishwasher was included and if there had been a second bathroom. The three of us found one bathroom a bit inconvenient, although it was a nice bathroom! Thank you for the excellent directions for locating this peaceful place, very helpful as it was getting toward evening when we arrived.

Room Tip: Any suite would be great, a bonus if it is only your party there! Try booking during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlinswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Beach House for a girls getaway weekend. We could not have been happier - the house is gorgeous with a wonderful view and private garden and hot tub; the four bedrooms are spacious and beautifully furnished; the kitchen is really well equipped; and the living/family room is cozy, comfortable. In fact, it feels like you are staying at a friend's lovingly furnished and decorated house rather than at a resort.
June and Ron, the owners, have thought of every detail to make it special and easy for their guests. The kitchen is stocked with milk, jam, peanut butter, oil, vinegar...way beyond the basics. Be sure to check the website for a handy list of kitchen supplies before schlepping them all in. The house has fluffy beach towels, games, tons of books and magazines... The bedrooms and bathrooms are furnished with plenty of room to stash all your belongings, and you'll discover a different piece of eclectic artwork in every nook and cranny.
The location, right on the ocean, and well away from the coastal highway, is perfect. We all noticed, and loved, how quiet it is at Orveas. It's a great place to explore the natural wonders around Sooke. There is a lovely walk right from the house that brings you to a lighthouse with beautiful views. We had bikes with us and enjoyed cycling on the easy, traffic-free Galloping Goose trail. The hikes and beaches of the wonderful Juan de Fuca Park are only a short drive away.
It's so pleasant making meals and eating in the comfort of the Orveas, but if you want a break from cooking, the Pointe No Pointe Restaurant, only a few km away, is excellent - Beautifully prepared meals in a serene setting overlooking the ocean.
We loved our stay! Thank you!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful and private - just depends on the size you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binderdundat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This resort is a "TEN" in all respects. We spent a full week in the Starboard Cabin and things could not have been better. June & Ron have done a super job with this resort. The solitude and peacefulness left us forgetting our watches, never turning on the radio or TV. Nature at it's best was our entertainment. Lounging in our private hot tub watching the humming birds. When we did want to go on a daytrip, everything is close by. Good food in Sooke. The circle trip to Port Renfrew, Duncan, Victoria and Sooke was great. Whale watching...wow! Picked up fresh dungoness crab from the dock and steamed that up at the cottage. A truly refreshing and relaxing holiday. Go here!

Thank you June & Ron...you know we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedonohues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We just had the best 5 day stay in the First Mates Quarters. Very well appointed, felt like we were staying in someone's home. Breakfast fixings were a very nice touch. Ron and June have a wonderful property and it shows how much work they put into maintaining it. Our 9 year old daughter could not wait to come "home" everyday from our day trips to play badmitton and jump in the hot tub. Many day trip options available from this locaton. Everything in the house was in good repair, the kitchen was very well stocked. BBQ on the deck was great. Waking up and sitting on the deck looking over the water and enjoying my coffee was bliss. Thanks we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webby1640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
8.9 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
9.3 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
3.1 mi away
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#2 of 24 in Sooke
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
70.4 mi away
Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
Cedar Grove RV Park & Campground
#2 of 7 in Qualicum Beach
102 reviews
44.7 mi away
Mountainaire Campground and RV Park
3.7 mi away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orveas Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orveas Bay Resort

Property: Orveas Bay Resort
Address: 2577 Sunnybrae Rd | Bc, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1G4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Sooke
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Orveas Bay Resort Sooke, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing