We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in Sooke, BC that stands head and shoulder above other lodgings!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We went to Sooke for charter fishing. The town house configuration works well for friends going together. A two bedroom unit can accommodate six people; couples have bedrooms on separate floors for privacy. Two more people can use the pull-out couch. This makes for economic lodging for large groups who want separate sleeping quarters. The fully equipped kitchen was perfect for preparing our freshly caught salmon, crab, and shrimps for dinner.

The docks at the marina, besides providing mooring, were great for dropping off crab and shrimp traps. The marina has a coded gate to keep out non-guests, making it safe to leave the traps down during the night. The water under the docks are full of Dungeness crabs; each time the trap comes up, it is packed with crabs. Unfortunately, most are big females and under sized males (<6.25"), but not to worry. There are some "keepers" mixed in. An abundance of Coonstripe shrimps hang out by the pilings. They can easily be caught either with a trap or caught with a butterfly net ($1.50 at the Dollar Store) and flashlight at night when they are attracted by the light and come to the surface. The peaceful and quietness of the docks at night is perfect for relaxing after a long day of more rigorous activities.

The resort staff, under the Manager, Nigel Keatley, go above and beyond to provide excellent customer care. No matter who is at the reception desk, service with a smile is the norm.

I would highly recommend this resort for families and friends. If you happen to go, you should meet Mr. Keatley, with his British charm, and tell him I (Hellen) recommended his resort!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

A group of nine of us spent one night in a 4-bedroom condo at Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina. We were on a cycling trip and found the condo to be very luxurious, especially since we spent the previous night in university dorms. We drew straws for bedrooms which ranged from kingsize bedroom with spa bathroom to pull-out couch in the living room.
Although we had ambitious plans about further cycling after our arrival, the large condo deck overlooking the marina proved too inviting and we instead grabbed seats and drinks and relaxed with the view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank 84Traveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We (2 cpls + baby) stayed 2 nights at the 2BR condo and were very impressed by the cleanliness, comfort, and organization. Everything we needed was in place and we didn't have to ask for anything else. Compared to other locations in the area this one was the best value for money without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Idoborns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We just returned from a great stay at Sooke Harbour during spring break. Weather was wonderful and we were able to see and do several activities in the area. Thought we would go into Victoria more than we did, but since we have been there several times, we preferred the more rural setting and staying in the SW Vancouver Island area.
The 2-bedroom condo was clean and had a well-equipped kitchen plus the laundry area was great. No daily housekeeping was okay since we had a washer/ dryer. We used the onsite hot tubs in the evening, walked down to the docks and marina and saw the day's catch as well as wildlife. This condo is located in what I would call suburban Victoria, Sooke has a few restaurants, pubs and at least two grocery stores. We ate at least one meal in our condo daily. Also had some great meals out. Views out all our waterside windows of the harbour and the Olympic mountains in WA were awesome. While we didn't have too much contact with the staff, they were friendly and helpful. Other guests mentioned the great fishing in the area.

Room Tip: The closer to the water you are, the farther from the highway. However, noise at night was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank XtremeSoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We rented two 2-bedroom condos for our family at a very reasonable rate compared to the Best Western next door. We had LOTS of space, full kitchens, washer/dryers, and it felt like we were right at home! Staff was friendly and helpful.
This is a great place to stay if you plan to travel further to Port Renfrew and the Botanical Beach. Great walking at Whiffin Spit nearby with lots of birds and wildlife.

Room Tip: Not wheelchair accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AgassizBCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo which was more than enough room for the 2 of us. Very clean and modern. Staff were very helpful and polite when speaking with them before our stay and during. Great views of the harbour and what a treat to wake up to see the water every morning, living in canmore, alberta is great seeing the mountains everyday but good for the contrast of being by the water. Loved having breakfast looking at the mist above the water slowly disappear. We spent 9 nights at the resort and if time allowed I would have loved to have been there longer. There is plenty to do in the area and if you want to stay on site you can rent kayaks and paddleboards. They also have bikes but we took our own. You can get supplies in town and there are plenty of places to eat if you don't want to make use of the BBQ or full kitchen. We were busy doing something everyday so it was nice to come back and soak in the hot tub afterwards. I would recommend this
resort as I already have to friends and can't wait to go back. And of course the resident seals were always around to watch and they may even follow you on the paddelboards as they did with us.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed for a week with four children and the three bedroom condo had everything we needed. There were all kinds of nice beaches, trails, and attractions nearby to explore and yet it was not too busy like some of the more touristy places. It was very clean and even being on the top row, our master bedroom had a deck with a view of the ocean, and upon waking it was the first thing we saw...beautiful! Staff was very friendly and helpful, we had some problems with phone and internet which they eventually helped to resolve. The only drawback was that in our particular condo the carpets were not in great shape and could have used a steam clean, we were told they do it every six months. Otherwise a lovely stay, would definitely recommend, and would stay again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
0.1 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Salty Towers Oceanfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
69.5 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
34.2 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina

Address: 6971 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Sooke
Price Range: £109 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation. Seclusion. Adventure. Whatever you want your vacation to be, Sooke Harbour Resort & Marina's boutique-style townhome condominiums are the ideal home base. Steps from the resort's private marina and amenities, each beautifully appointed 2, 3, or 4 bedroom unit offers spectacular ocean views, relaxed luxury and everything you need to make your stay a memorable one. Unit Features: Gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, private master bedrooms with ensuites, 2 private outdoor living spaces, outdoor grills, in-suite laundry facilities, covered parking stalls, flat screen televisions and DVD players, and high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooke Harbour Resort And Marina Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing