We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-Away for that Special Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

It was our first visit to Sooke Harbour House and a special anniversary. We loved our room, the Mermaid Room, with lots of whimsical touches including a delightful lamp with a mermaid and her fishing rod and a dissolute mermaid in a silver bathtub on the mantlepiece...and a real fireplace - with lots of dry wood - and a lovely view south toward the Olympics.

The best part of the stay for us was having breakfast delivered to our room each morning, a tray laden with fresh juice, a carafe of good coffee, the Harbour House's own yoghurt, granola and a delicious compote of stewed berries. There were soft boiled eggs and a basket of flaky croissants, savoury scones and muffins. With the sun streaming in on a cold winter morning in February, a stack of unread New Yorkers and this repast we enjoyed a long leisurely time.

Because the hotel did not serve lunch on Saturdays and because we were reluctant to abandon this cosy nest we took advantage of the offer of a picnic lunch. It was delicious with sandwiches with home made bread, local greens, tasty cookies and fruit. I had brought my binoculars and walked nearby Whiffen Spit twice a day in spite of a freezing wind off the sea and was rewarded with the sight of a flock of 65 common mergansers, white winged scoters, pacific loons, eared grebes and rock turnstones.

Supper was a small disappointment. Not for the dining room where you could sip a glass of wine in front of a huge fireplace or the service which could not have been more attentive but the meal was just not compatible with our tastes. It was beautiful to look at but save for the soup a disappointment. There was a lot on offer on the menu. Another time I would have the fish or the dungeness crab over the lamb or the pasta. And yes, it was pricey for a three or four course meal. But even that we could have forgiven for a delicious meal.

I would love to return in spring time or summer so as to enjoy the gardens and hot tub on our secluded deck. And yes, to try the dining room again with the short days of winter behind us so we can enjoy a view of the ocean from our table in the evening.

Room Tip: If you like whimsey choose the Mermaid Room. We were charmed by it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Sooke Harbour House is a definite place to spend that weekend away you have been looking for. With an absolute spectacular view looking toward Washington State, Sooke Harbour House can take your busy life and slow it down a notch or two. The Wife and I stayed there this past weekend (Jan 24-26, 2014) and it was the best escape. We were upgraded to the Blue Heron room (room 2) and the room was very nice. Very cottage like and well appointed. The restaurant was outstanding. Fresh food, their own herb garden and served to you like and art piece. We will definitely be going back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a nice 2-night stay here. The rooms were unique and pretty, the restaurant tasty. The grounds were well taken care of. However, in no way did anything justify the exorbitant price. I had the feeling that they charge the rates they do because those rates are what a certain clique of travelers expects to pay. Our stay was a gift from a family member so we enjoyed it, but I can't imagine paying for it myself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marblemount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Ever since I saw the movie, Lucky 7, with Patrick Dempsey, I dreamed of staying at Sooke Harbour House! Dreams do come true!!! What a magical place! We stayed in the Mermaid Room..it had a wood burning fireplace and a jacuzzi hot tub just outside the door! You could soothe your soul in the tub looking out at the harbour and listening to the gentle waves splashing along the shore. Sharon was beyond helpful and kind...her attentiveness just added to our stupendous stay!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a Harbour view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irene e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I think the hype is a little overdone. Most disappointing was the fireplace that was designed poorly and let smoke into the room not matter what I tried and try I did. The restaurant has and extensive wine list that was well beyond our sophistication but if that is your thing you will be very pleased indeed. Staff were very pleasant and they have an interesting gift shop and collection of artwork.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burkevillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Glorius. Honeymooned here over the New Year. This place goes beyond the typical sterile feeling hotel room. We also stayed at the Four Seasons on our honeymoon and it was very nice but did not compare to the unique beauty of Sooke Harbour House. We were greeted by the owner our first day. We split our stay between two different rooms, and both were clean and beautiful. At the end of each day we returned to the Harbour House and felt like we were coming back to our home away from home. We are baffled by the negative review, because it was so different from our own experience. The staff were always accommodating and kind. We can't wait to go back, hope it will be soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomasjbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Where to begin? This beautiful west coast location with stunning ocean views and gardens provided the perfect setting for our intimate, harvest themed wedding. Our wedding planner was divine and the food and service exceeded our highest expectations! Our guests commented on how warm, professional and attentive each staff member was. To top it off our room was perfectly romantic with a lovely hot breakfast brought to our door. We have no criticism to offer.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and we followed the recommendation of our wedding planner. We were pleased with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,975 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,379 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,171 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel

Address: 1528 Whiffin Spit Rd | British Columbia, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0T4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range: £91 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel is located on Southern Vancouver Island overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Olympic Mountains, and has direct beach access to Whiffin Spit on the Juan de Fuca Strait. Our unique 28 rooms feature a selection of fine amenities including spa tubs and steam showers. All of the guest rooms have wood-burning fireplaces and ocean views, with the exception of the very spacious family room which overlooks our garden area. The internationally award-winning fine -dining restaurant serves organic, seasonal, Canadian cuisine, specializing in wild seafood, mushrooms, herbs, and flowers from its organic gardens. We offer meeting facilities, spa services, recreational activities and eco-tourism in pristine wilderness. Whale watching can be enjoyed within walking distance, and on occasion the Orcas swim in front of the hotel! The Sooke Harbour House is a perfect destination for weddings, romantic holidays and an 'any season getaway'. In 2016 all 28 guest rooms were sympathetically renovated with new carpets, beds, luxury linens and 40 inch flat screens with cable tv. In September 2016 we opened our wonderful new Copper Room, featuring a large selection of Island produced craft beers, wines and spirits as well as international favourites. The Copper Room is open from 11:00am to 9:00pm year-round daily, serving a more casual menu of wholesome and hearty foods as an alternative to our fine dining. *** Please note: From 18th October until May 31st our fine-dining restaurant is closed every Tuesday and Wednesday. It is open for dinner Thursday to Monday from 5.30pm to 9.00pm. Throughout the high season the fine dining restaurant is open 7 days a week for dinner. The Copper Room is open daily serving food and beverages making Sooke Harbour House a full service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooke Harbour House Hotel Sooke
Sooke Harbour Hotel
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing