We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Gardens & Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2006

My partner and I were recently married at the Sooke Harbour House. We could not have asked for a more beautiful setting. The gardens and art work are amazing. The main dining room was the site of our brunch reception and has exceptional views of the water and mountains. The food was incredible and our guests are all craving more of the salmon quiche and herbal spritzer.

The staff opened up a few of the rooms for our guests to see. The rooms were full of light and original art. It is easy to see why this is one of the bests inns in North America.

Kudos to the Sooke Harbour House for being such an incredible venue.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventuregrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2006

I stayed here recently with my grandmother and only wish that we had spent 4 days in this hidden gem (and judging from the guest book, not staying long enough is the only complaint ever uttered against this heavenly place.) The Sooke Harbour House website does not do the beauty of the property justice. [-]
We stayed in the Sea Song room (#3), and couldn't believe the spectacularly beautiful views or the incredible rooms--what a serene oasis. We went to bed with all the windows open and fell asleep to the sound of the waves. We were thrilled when we realized that breakfast was delivered to the room so that we could enjoy it on our deck while watching seals and swans in the water below.

Sooke Harbour House is famous for their restaurant. Typically, restaurants with views this pretty don't have good food but Harbour House's Restaurant is one of the top 7 restaurants in North America (a fact my grandmother kept reciting to our relatives!) The food is adventurous--not for picky eaters who prefer good burgers and fries. But it is not fussy. The chef emphasizes local, fresh ingredients and the wine list is dauntingly impressive. As someone who has lived in the foodie capitals of San Francisco and New York, I would still say this is one of the top 3 meals I have ever eaten.

Do not miss this place if you are looking for natural beauty, serenity, local character and are food obsessed. And if you go and like hiking, there are great spots nearby. I was traveling with my grandmother so couldn't do anything terribly long but the East Sooke park 15 minutes away was recommended by a local Victorian and was marvelous.

I'm not always this effusive but this place is out of this world.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eph_alum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2006

Lovely room with fireplace and steam shower. Incredible dinner with unbelieveable wine list. They use produce grown on site...can't be any fresher. Continental Breakfast was super too.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennisphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July 2003.
My only hope is that , by now, thay have replaced the horrible people behind the desk, with some nicer, more professional ones.
we rang the hotel a day in advance to ask for direction from Vancouver and they failed to tell us that the last ferry to the island departed at 5 pm.
On the day we were supposed to arrive, once we realised we had missed the last ferry, we called the hotel to discuss our problem.
They said they "are not a travel agency", that it was our problem and that we would have been charged for the room for that night.
We tried to argue our point, but we were practically told off. We than manged to re book for the following night ( not that we were keen on going there, but we did't want to loose our money altogether) and sure enough, the only room available was 200 $ more expensive that the one we had previously booked.
Finally we got there. The room was indeed lovely. It over looked the lake, it featured an outdoor spa bath and it had a decked verandah ( good if it rains). we even manged to see otters.
The food at the restaurant was avarage and over priced.

The place is beautiful, but the rudness of the people behind the desk is not worth the money you pay.

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
seattle, wa
418
Reviewed 25 March 2006

My husband and I came to visit after my father in law and his wife raved about it. It was an 82nd birthday gift from their children. They where here in October 2005.

When we first drove in, we were disappointed because this place wasn't situated in a more underdeveloped area. Fortunately this didn't last long because it's totally oriented towards its incredible water and mountain views. Although the garden wasn't at its prime time of the year, I can imagine how magnificent it will be by July. The artwork on the premises is also amazing.

Our room, named Underwater Orchard, with its great view was cozy and inviting. The staff at the front desk and in the diningroom were friendly and attentive. Our dinner was delicious, we love the idea that they buy all their ingredients within 100 miles of this place.

There are other places in the area that are situated on beautiful properties, but not that many that are so attentive to all the extras and without the extra charges. We look forward to returning and will definitely give a stay here as a gift to my father in law again - for his 83rd birthday.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2006

We found the desk brutal. They published an internet special for less on the same dates that we were staying there and still tried to charge in excess of agreed upon prices. They refused to let us speak to management. The restaurant serves fine food but charges $20 for a bottle of S. Pellegrino water that you can buy for $2.49 at a grocery store.
Need we say more about the prices. Wine is stupidly priced.
My wife lost some jewellery there and no one made an effort to find it.

See it while you can,

KF

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank fazbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2006

Just wanted to post a review of the Sooke Harbour House after reading some previously negative reviews.

We were married there September 2nd 2005 and our experience was magical and fantastic.

Our experience with the staff,everyone from the special events co-ordinators to their service staff, was excellent. We found they even bent over backwards to aid us in creating our own unique,personal wedding ceremony and reception that was reflective of our personalities.

The grounds are lovely with gardens in full bloom overlooking the ocean with an Olympic Mountain backdrop. As a wedding ceremony spot,it was magical for it's intimacy and beauty. As a getaway "sit spot" it's serene.

As far as the restaurant is concerned, I can only say that our dinner was fabulous. A truely extraordinary experience! Salads are made with edible flowers from their gardens that burst with color and pleasing flavors. The following courses were so artfully presented with stunning creativity and composition, it almost seemed a shame to dig in, but OHHHH, when you did!

The Sooke Harbour House delights the senses visually not only through it's lovely natural surroundings, the entire Inn and it's rooms are adorned with works by local artists, making every room unique. We spent our wedding night in room 5 (if you can call it a room...more like an appartment) and the details in the room are gorgeous. Views from the rooms are stunning!

We had the most wonderful experience there and I would reccomend it to anyone considering the Sooke Harbour House for a wedding, but also for anyone craving a little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank comedywaitress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,976 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,380 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,172 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel

Address: 1528 Whiffin Spit Rd | British Columbia, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0T4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range: £91 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel is located on Southern Vancouver Island overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Olympic Mountains, and has direct beach access to Whiffin Spit on the Juan de Fuca Strait. Our unique 28 rooms feature a selection of fine amenities including spa tubs and steam showers. All of the guest rooms have wood-burning fireplaces and ocean views, with the exception of the very spacious family room which overlooks our garden area. The internationally award-winning fine -dining restaurant serves organic, seasonal, Canadian cuisine, specializing in wild seafood, mushrooms, herbs, and flowers from its organic gardens. We offer meeting facilities, spa services, recreational activities and eco-tourism in pristine wilderness. Whale watching can be enjoyed within walking distance, and on occasion the Orcas swim in front of the hotel! The Sooke Harbour House is a perfect destination for weddings, romantic holidays and an 'any season getaway'. In 2016 all 28 guest rooms were sympathetically renovated with new carpets, beds, luxury linens and 40 inch flat screens with cable tv. In September 2016 we opened our wonderful new Copper Room, featuring a large selection of Island produced craft beers, wines and spirits as well as international favourites. The Copper Room is open from 11:00am to 9:00pm year-round daily, serving a more casual menu of wholesome and hearty foods as an alternative to our fine dining. *** Please note: From 18th October until May 31st our fine-dining restaurant is closed every Tuesday and Wednesday. It is open for dinner Thursday to Monday from 5.30pm to 9.00pm. Throughout the high season the fine dining restaurant is open 7 days a week for dinner. The Copper Room is open daily serving food and beverages making Sooke Harbour House a full service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooke Harbour House Hotel Sooke
Sooke Harbour Hotel
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing