We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmingly unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Charmingly unforgettable”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I stayed in this lovely hotel a couple of weeks ago with the aim of finding some peace of mind and as a little treat for my birthday; and I must confess I couldn't have chosen a better place to do it! Sooke itself is lovely, but this romantic hotel is indeed far beyond loveliness. Not only are the location and the house beautiful, but the gardens, the views, and the service are amazing and all the little details are perfectly taken care of so that you are ensured an unforgettable experience. All of this makes it a must place to stay!

The whole house is beautifully decorated with local art work, which you can purchase if interested. Every single room has a different theme, which is nicely set out, and the fact that you can take a bath, go to sleep and wake up to the sound of waves makes it even more irresistibly charming. Not to mention the perfectly located benches all around the house upon which you can write, read or just sit down and enjoy a relaxing moment.

If you are looking for a closer encounter with nature, you can also walk around the thin end and look at the navy blue ocean or choose the rocky shore. While hopping from one rock to another you can see the birds, seals and otters that surround the area, and; if you are lucky enough, you may find a friendly one who has come for a refreshing drink at one of the fountains near the restaurant while you are having dinner!

As if there weren't enough reasons to check this place out already, the restaurant is another totally unforgettable experience. Besides boasting a wonderful view, all the ingredients are locally produced which means good karma for everyone and ensures that the food quality is at its best. I got to try many delightful foods from freshly cut garden flowers to cheese, meat and even a lavender sherbet! Wine and service exceed expectation.. amazing! The entire staff, not only the restaurant staff who happened to greet me and even have a conversation in Spanish (my native tongue); are incredibly nice; they all make sure you are comfortable and make you feel at home, without being the least bit intrusive.

Finally, my room (The bird's watcher) was equipped with two bath tubs, one inside and the other outside. Complimentary lavender bath salts, good music, cookies and port were provided; as were a couple of nice and fun to read books including a visitor's one which was really nice to read by my just lit fireplace! One of the beds faced the ocean so you can fall asleep looking at its splendour and wake up to have your freshly made breakfast in your very own room!

Definitely worth experiencing it! It doesn't matter what kind of getaway you are looking for: romantic, family, relaxing, solo; you won't regret indulging yourself in this charming experience; I cannot wait to go back again one day!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denivf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    86
    51
    44
    30
See reviews for
55
338
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
alaska
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Great one of a kind place to stay. Restaurant setting great, food ok. Slow check-in process. One person who seems to have to do it all. All in all, would go back for the setting and the location. Truy special place. The whole hotel is an art gallery, it never feels like a hotel, more like someone's big private mansion you stay in. Rooms have incredible view. Some have outdoor hottubs, on lower level. Wonderful garden. Food was good but if you are used to fancy restaurants the food is ok in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaAlyeska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, OR
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Sooke Harbour House (with the English spelling of "harbour") is one of those jewels that sometimes come to you in your life. The rooms and view are wonderful, the gardens fantastic, and the food beyond describing. Then there are the wines! The owners and staff are friendly without being obtrusive, and you could want for nothing.

You will promise yourself to return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardener101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Just got back from getting married at the Sooke Harbour House and it had to be the best place we every stayed at. We decided to book what is considered the best room, the Blue Heron (#2). The view each morning was breathtaking. The service was superb, everyone was so kind made us feel pampered. Maria, the wedding coordinator at the Inn, made sure everything was taken care of. She recently replaced the previous coordinator who was also good in responding to questions and gave us great referrals for the photographer and wedding commissioner.

The food was excellent and quite an experience. Having breakfast brought up to your room each morning was a treat and delicious. We had dinner at the Inn both nights we were there and it was definitely a culinary experience. The menu changes each day and was delicious!

We'll definitely have to find our way back to the Sooke Harbour House some day.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterlc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

The best thing about this place is the view. We had room #2 (Blue Heron) which had a fabulous deck, cornered on the lot, with the best view at this place. This is also one of the original (older) rooms so it is a bit run down. The carpet and couch are stained. The bathroom sink faucet leaks. The bathroom has a slight odor that isn't pleasant. That being said, the bed was quite comfortable and the sound of the ocean (slept with open windows) was soothing for falling to sleep. However, the cost of this room seemed a bit high for what you got. We had visited another Inn on the Oregon coast two weeks earlier (Stephanie Inn). The prices of the two places were absolutely comparable, as was the "quaintness" of the Inn. However, that is where the similarities ended. Stephanie Inn offered wonderful "touches" such as free homemade cookies, fresh coffee (brewed) and a great selection of teas in the reception area. They also stocked free bottles of water in each room, had a free bedtime turn-down (including mints on the pillow), and a free Friday/Saturday night Happy Hour (wine, soda, cheese, crackers, dips, and vegies). Sooke Harbour House (Sooke) offered a Friday night Lounge but all of the food and drinks (including non-alcoholic) were charged to the customer. We had to ask for water at the front desk and on our second night, they had run out of water. There was no bedtime turn-down service offered (not that we needed it but what a nice touch) and no cookies, coffee, or tea offered up front. To it's credit, though, they did provide 2 cookies and a coffee pot to make our own, in our room, as well as a sample of Port. We also requested spa massages at both places. After our massage at Stephanie Inn, the therapists gave us a little gift, offered us truffles and nut mixes, as well as tea and water bottles and didn't charge us any extra for an essential oil massage. Sooke massage therapists did come to our room (which was fabulous) but charged us $15 for the essential oil massage and instead of leaving us with a little gift that we could enjoy, the therapists left us a water-mess all over our bathroom sink counter (remember, the faucet leaks). I would have thought that they would have wiped down the place after washing their hands thoroughly instead of leaving the mess for us to clean. I also rated the restaurant at Sooke Harbour House in a separate review. Anyway, I gave this place a moderate rating (instead of a poor rating) simply because the view from our room couldn't be beat. Not only did we have the harbour view but we also had the Olympic mountains, otters, and bald eagles right in our sight, from our livingroom couch. For a full experience of beautiful views (Haystack Rock & ocean), great service, clean rooms (also with fireplaces), and wonderful food, skip Sooke and try Stephanie Inn instead.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooter17OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

In May 2009, my husband and I eloped in Tofino on then orth west coast of Vancouver Island. After our wedding, we visited with family in Sooke and decided to stay at the Harbour House for three nights as an extended honeymoon. As the Habour House offers wedding packages, we at one time considered getting married here, I am sure glad that we did not as our experience here was… shockingly disappointing.

The service was overly pretentious and they tried way too hard to be something that they weren’t. I can understand being called madam and monsieur in Quebec, but not in Sooke of all places.

Our room looked like it had not been up dated since the Harbour House opened, and the bed felt the same – old, sacked out, and lumpy. It DID NOT, IN NO WAY depict the photos that were on the website. It was shabby, and worn down from years of use with no updating. The room was cluttered with trinkets that looked as though they were picked up at the Flea Market.

The only nice thing about the room was the wood burning fireplace.

One extremely shocking feature to the room was a small bar fridge that was located in the bathroom, under the vanity, about a foot away from the toilet. The room also supplied dishes and cutlery that were stored on the fridge by the toilet, and under the bathroom sink. I’m not sure if this would even pass a health inspection – quite scary and needless to say we didn’t use any of this.

Our accommodations also included a private outdoor jetted tub that wasn’t very private, as the room beside us also had a jetted tub and they were probably no more than 10 feet away, with only a fence panel separating the two. There was also a (lavender?) bush just beside the tub that was full of bees, not a good combination in my opinion.

Our room was supposed to come with a complimentary breakfast that we had to order the night before by using order cards that were placed on hook on your room door that were to be picked up by staff the night before. The first night we passed on this. The second night our card was not picked up and we did not receive our breakfast. The third night we handed in our card to the front desk and we did still not received our breakfast.
Upon check out, we noted this and we were given a bag with pastries in lieu of the hot breakfast, along with the other two couples that did not receive their breakfast that day.

Definitely not worth the $1000 we paid. If we could do it again, we would have taken the $1000 and spent an extra two nights at the Wickaninnish Inn. (A pricy place but by far exceeds this place.)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb0477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2010

I can only describe our visit to the Sooke Harbour House as magical. Each room has a lovely theme. We chose the Forager Room which is half wooden paneling and half solarium facing onto a forest. It was so private and so enchanting. On our second morning, we were greeted by a family of four deer -- two little ones -- nibbling on foliage five feet from our private patio. No wonder it's called the Forager Room! There are so many lovely added touches. There was a wood burning fireplace, all prepared and ready to light each night, as well as complimentary port and cookies left waiting for us after a busy day of walking the sand spit. There was also a room journal, where previous guests have shared their thoughts and experiences. The hotel is like a living Art Gallery. The halls are lined with local artwork, all available for sale. An adorable library to poke through, and make sure you take the Garden Tour at 10:30 one morning. You'll be amazed at all the edible flowers there are. Did you know the flower of the Arugula tastes just like a peanut? Because of the garden tour, we were able to identify every single item in our exquisite salad at dinner time. You MUST have dinner in this world famous, award winning restaurant! Book early to get a table by the window, so you can perhaps enjoy the dinner entertainment -- a family of otters, frolicking in the water fountain most nights.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorieGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,194 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel

Property: Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Address: 1528 Whiffin Spit Rd | British Columbia, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0T4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel is located on Southern Vancouver Island overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Olympic Mountains, and has direct beach access to Whiffin Spit on the Juan de Fuca Strait. Our unique 28 rooms feature a selection of fine amenities including spa tubs and steam showers. All of the guest rooms have wood-burning fireplaces and ocean views, with the exception of the very spacious family room which overlooks our garden area. The internationally award-winning fine -dining restaurant serves organic, seasonal, Canadian cuisine, specializing in wild seafood, mushrooms, herbs, and flowers from its organic gardens. We offer meeting facilities, spa services, recreational activities and eco-tourism in pristine wilderness. Whale watching can be enjoyed within walking distance, and on occasion the Orcas swim in front of the hotel! The Sooke Harbour House is a perfect destination for weddings, romantic holidays and an 'any season getaway'. In 2016 all 28 guest rooms were sympathetically renovated with new carpets, beds, luxury linens and 40 inch flat screens with cable tv. In September 2016 we opened our wonderful new Copper Room, featuring a large selection of Island produced craft beers, wines and spirits as well as international favourites. The Copper Room is open from 11:00am to 9:00pm year-round daily, serving a more casual menu of wholesome and hearty foods as an alternative to our fine dining. *** Please note: From 18th October until May 31st our fine-dining restaurant is closed every Tuesday and Wednesday. It is open for dinner Thursday to Monday from 5.30pm to 9.00pm. Throughout the high season the fine dining restaurant is open 7 days a week for dinner. The Copper Room is open daily serving food and beverages making Sooke Harbour House a full service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooke Harbour House Hotel Sooke
Sooke Harbour Hotel
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing