We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

Our room was fantastic. I loved the fireplace, the hot tub, the view, the bottle of Port in the room. It was very relaxing. We woke up early to low tide and walking down on the rocks looking for sea life was fantastic. This place is a little pricey and I think some items in the rooms could use updating. Our couch was pretty worn. The restaurant WAS AMAZING and that is the reason we stayed there. I am still drooling over my rabit ravioli. The only down side is that Compared to the US Wine and liquor is VERY expensive in Canada. Nothing Sooke Harbor House can do about that. I deffinetly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tareyton98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    84
    46
    44
    28
See reviews for
45
319
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

The view is fantastic as is the semi-remote setting. If however you are from a big city you will find aspects of the decor very dated. Gone too are the days of the complimentary breakfast and boxed lunch to go. The continental breakfast for $11/person seems odd when one has paid over $400 a night. Also it is getting a little run down.....stained furniture and peeling deck rails are but two examples. The attention to detail has also gone. Not that we really cared but the warm cookies that we were told were coming to our room upon check-in never did.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentflyer7489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Very nice, very peaceful. We recommend it for a very quiet, introspective get-away. The fireplace in the spacious room was much appreciated, as was the hot tub with view on the sea, right on our private ground floor patio. Some minor details need attending to (the mattress is showing its age, we had to call in for soap, the decanter for the complimentary port wine had a non-original ill-fitting cork lid making it difficult to remove). Very congenial staff, very well decorated throughout. The place is pricey, and one would expect at least a complimentary continental style breakfast delivered in the morning at that price. Instead, we can order it for $11 per person.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hblenkiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

My first time to the legendary Sooke Harbour House last night for dinner. Instant relaxation. Delectible food from the terrine to the hierloom tomato soup to mouthfulls of bliss with wild salmon and fresh veggies complimented with small pools of I-can't remember-what but the young waitress told me. Then the desserts. All light and perfect with the foamy de-caf that topped it off. I'd like to stay there sometime.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queensdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

My wife and I live in Paris and travel extensively in Europe and North America. We love great food. When we were at the Harbourhouse in August it was sublime. Some apparently find the portions small and the service slow. I would advise those in search of steak houses to go elsewhere. But everyone in our party did at least a few double takes as course after course surprised and seduced us - and above all, delighted everhone. We are talking here are about a restaurant that would triumph in any city in the world - though in an urban center we would lose something of its marvelous relationship with its environment.
I went to this restaurants because of the great reviews it received from food critics over the years. They were right. I will certainly recommend the Sooke Harbour House to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Recent stay was beautiful experience but the Inn seems a bit less attentive to the details that were noted and praised on different stays a few years back. The garden was not as maintained, with less grooming of the garden and dead plants in flower boxes outside a few rooms and cigarette butts in garden. Food was good but not as memorable as in past and overdone main course was however made good and compensated. The breakfast and a boxed lunch box were included in the price in the past and at the inn's prices feel breakfast would be nice to have included. The lack of attention to details seems below the standards the Sooke Harbour House projects and advertises itself and charges. It seems as if to live off of its past reputation and a sense the owners or management might not or don't care as much as they did in earlier times. Overall good but not to my expectations.
Would I go again? Maybe to dine but ?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WRMSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

My wife and I have stayed and dined at the Sooke Harbour House many times over the years, and keep being amazed every time we return. Having traveled a great deal, both for business and pleasure, we've seen our share of beautiful settings and high-comfort luxury in hotels across the globe, but this little gem perched on the edge of the pacific ocean is truly one of a kind. Whether it's the exquisitely decorated rooms (all uniquely themed, and with copious amenities including wood burning fireplaces, jacuzzis or ocean-side hot-tubs); the unparalleled delectable kitchen and dining room experience, with local delicacies fresh from the nearby ocean and the hotel's own organic edible gardens and nearby farm, paired with one of the world's best wine lists (acclaimed by Wine Spectator for many years now); the wonderful and every changing abundance of (local) artwork and crafts that fills the hallways to give you the unique experience staying in a beautiful art gallery or museum (along with a private library!); the always warm, helpful and highly capable staff; the absolutely stunning nature surroundings and breathtaking ocean views with frequent whale sightings; the complimentary gourmet breakfast served in the privacy of your room or its private ocean-view balcony with the Olympic Mountains in the background; the availability of extensive spa treatment options; and too many other wonderful things to list in one single review... Sooke Harbour House is a must-visit venue for all lovers of beauty, art, tranquility, romance, luxury, nature, and fine dining. Trust us, we've been around and seen it all, are highly selective and critical when it comes to the places we stay and dine, and this little white beauty by the ocean still stands strong at the top of our list!
Thank you, Sooke Harbour House, for indulging us with your wonderful hospitality and offering us yet another incredible experience during our stay in June. We can't wait for our next visit! Maybe, if the kids can join us, we'll come back early for your Christmas and New Year's festivities this Winter!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans_Mijnssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel

Property: Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Address: 1528 Whiffin Spit Rd | British Columbia, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0T4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel is located on Southern Vancouver Island overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Olympic Mountains, and has direct beach access to Whiffin Spit on the Juan de Fuca Strait. Our unique 28 rooms feature a selection of fine amenities including spa tubs and steam showers. All of the guest rooms have wood-burning fireplaces and ocean views, with the exception of the very spacious family room which overlooks our garden area. The internationally award-winning fine -dining restaurant serves organic, seasonal, Canadian cuisine, specializing in wild seafood, mushrooms, herbs, and flowers from its organic gardens. We offer meeting facilities, spa services, recreational activities and eco-tourism in pristine wilderness. Whale watching can be enjoyed within walking distance, and on occasion the Orcas swim in front of the hotel! The Sooke Harbour House is a perfect destination for weddings, romantic holidays and an 'any season getaway'. In 2016 all 28 guest rooms were sympatheically renovated with new carpets, beds, luxury linens and 40 inch flat screens with cable tv. In September 2016 we opened our wonderful new Copper Room, featuring a large selection of Island produced craft beers, wines and spirits as well as international favourites. The Copper Room is open from 11:00am to 9:00pm year-round daily, serving a more casual menu of wholesome and hearty foods as an alternative to our fine dining. *** Please note: From 18th October until Spring our fine-dining restaurant is closed every Tuesday and Wednesday. It is open for dinner Thursday to Monday from 5.30pm to 9.00pm. The Copper Room is open daily making Sooke Harbour House a full service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooke Harbour House Hotel Sooke
Sooke Harbour Hotel
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing