We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't hesitate to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This mini getaway to Sooke, BC far exceeded all my expectations. Lori & Andy were the most gracious hosts - delicious breakfasts, pleasant conversations, and many appropriate recommendations for activities and places to eat dinner. King sized beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in, ocean view rooms complete with a double soaker tub - what more could you ask for?

We recommend Ocean Adventures for some kayaking (hobie kayaks are fun & easy!) and the Stone Pipe Grill for the most delicious burger you'll ever have.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

This B & B is located about a 10 min. drive outside of Sooke and is well worth the trip. Lori and Andy are friendly hosts and provide the perfect setting for a get-away or a longer stay. The breakfast was delicious and Lori accomodated my diabetic husband's request for whole grains and fresh fruit. We would certainly come back to this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_BCTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

My wife and celebrated our anniversary at the Ocean Wilderness Inn. It was everything that we had wanted. It was just us and the eagles, the surf, and the view of the Olympic Mountains across the straight of Juan de Fuca. Since it was the 'off-season', there were no other guests staying that day and Andy was running the place by himself. He was available when we needed him with excellent information about hiking in the area (magnificent) and recommendations for dinner in the Sooke area. We ended up choosing Point No Point, a gourmet's delight, overlooking the Strait. We stayed in the recommended Captain's Quarters and used the binoculars provided by the Inn to keep current on the wildlife - including the very large eagles nest just above the Inn. Our thanks to Andy for making our stay such a pleasure. -Craig Vroom, Colorado Springs

Room Tip: Ask for the Captain's Quarters - the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luv2Travel204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I have had two stays two years apart here with both of my sons.. I love staying at Ocean Wildnerness...the kind and gracious hosts Andy and Lori provide a quiet, restful oasis that is truly quieting for the soul...a great place to get away from the stresses of city life. The rooms are all beautifully appointed and unique.The breakfasts are superb, it is close to many scenic sites( beaches, fishing, wildlife and beautiful lush rainforests are all close by) or you can simply park yourself in the lovely garden for a few days and read a book or paint with an awesome ocean view with a private beach to enjoy surrounded by forest, flowers and hummingbirds zipping by.... A beautiful log dining and lounging area with a real wood burning fireplace is a great place to enjoy the hours after dark or in bad weather. I for one will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brent043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

This place has it all - privacy, grounds to die for, and a private beach with a view that surpasses anything on Vancouver Island. We are ruined; we've stayed there twice within the past few years, and nothing else will do. Certainly, the Empress in Victoria and the Magnolia (in Victoria) are pleasant enough. But the magic is at the Ocean Wilderness Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpyjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This is a very nice bed and breakfast. The bed was comfortable. My ground floor room had a sitting area looking out to the ocean, and I followed the path down to a beautiful beach - can't remember if it was sandy or pebbly. The innkeeper was friendly and helpful about local activities. The breakfast was healthy and flavourful. I also give both thumbs up to the outdoor (enclosed) hot tub. Ear plugs were handy to keep out late night conversation noise from a neighbouring room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This very comfortable Inn was a perfect place to stay on thie spectacular coastline around Sooke. Rooms are spacious with high quality everything, and innumerable thoughtful touches - even binoculars! The views and grounds are an invitation to tranquillity, and the access to the wild beach is at the doorstep. Lori is a very thoughtful host, and provides a very tasty breakfast - home scones - the real thing!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vembree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
6.5 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
6.8 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
21.3 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Salty Towers Oceanfront Cottages
28 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
109 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gordon's Beach Farmstay B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Wilderness Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Wilderness Inn

Address: 9171 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range: £87 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Wilderness Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean-front Inn located on the Salish Sea (Strait of Juan de Fuca) overlooking the Olympic Mountains. Our unique six suite retreat is perfect for a romantic weekend, hiking adventure, or just a relaxing get a way from it all. Located about 60 minutes from Victoria on the Southwest coast of Vancouver Island. All rooms have refrigerators, as well as coffee and tea. Our lush garden is surrounded by majestic old-growth forest and a lovely stream that runs along our beautiful trail to a very private beach. Book your room overlooking the ocean or the rain forest. Our Inn is within the Pacific Marine Circle Route next to Muir Creek beach. Lots of fun things to do here: hiking, birding, fishing, surfing, seaweed gathering, kayaking, paddle boarding, kite surfing, whale watching, and beach combing to name a few. Looking for lower key? Then soak in the hot tub, and gaze at the spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Wilderness Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Wilderness Inn Sooke, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing