We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible property, great service, relaxed atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ranked #3 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before this and we're unsure of what to expect. I now feel sorry for any that we stay at in the future because this place was amazing. Before our trip they we're great at answering the many question I would email to them and were very helpful in getting a BnB rookie used to the whole thing. We arrived a bit after the scheduled check-in time because we were touring around Victoria during the day and Lori (the innkeeper) was awesome in helping us get settled in and feel welcomed. Right away we took the quick walk to the shore (<5mins). INCREDIBLE! They definitely put in a lot of work to maintain a beautiful path down to the shore that is so close. From the garden you can see the water and it is just beautiful. It is amazing how well kept the garden is and there are a lot of great places to just sit and relax. Our room is very comfortable and is really conducive to helping us just relax and enjoy each other and the time away. Breakfast was great the common kitchen facilities are more then enough for the more picky eaters. Being out of cellphone range was no problem for us because if anything it forced us to let go of the constant texting and Facebook updating that makes our non-vacation lives seem so busy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water have the best of both worlds, an incredible garden and a view of the Juan de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just spent 4 nights at Ocean Wilderness and the website and pictures do not do it justice. An absolutely amazing place to stay. Can't imagine a more romantic setting.The views are wonderful and you are just steps away from a beautiful beach. The rooms are very large and extremely well decorated with very comfortable beds. All the comforts of home w/o a care in the world. The inn keepers, Lori and Andy are very gracious hosts and the breakfasts are 5 star. If you are planning a trip to Vancouver Island you have to stay at Ocean Wilderness.... you won't be sorry

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great .... pick ocean or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights, and the setting was amazing. There is a beach you can walk to in about 2 minutes and the views are just great. We stayed in the upper room facing the water. The quietness of the location, the hospitality of the hosts made this a great trip. Our room was also clean and spacious, and we had a large bathtub sitting outside the bathroom which was a nice way to soak it up and relax.

Sooke itself is a change-of-pace from the Victoria, the town is much smaller and quieter. Highly recommend it and highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hienph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Isolated location in a big beautiful house. Clean and cozy.

If you want a chilled romantic time with your partner at an affordable price this is it.

Unfortunately our experience ended after 15min.

Lori (one of the owners) seemed surprised with my 7 month old baby girl.

Facts:
If you have kids you can only stay in the cheaper rooms that face the garden. (we paid for the room upstairs facing the ocean)
Kids are strongly discouraged from being upstairs (according to the insurance company) because there are stairs and it's a liability plus it disturbs guests downstairs.
The second sentence coming out of our potential hostess was: "I was not adviced that you were bringing a kid, we prefer not to have a kid upstairs."

If you're a parent... How would you feel about this sentence???

She "kindly" agreed to waive the $25 charge for a kid. After we left our two dogs with my sister in law so that we didn't pay $25 per dog I guess waiving that fee removed my baby from the same category than my dogs. However, why would you charge $25 for a baby???

Our potential hostess seems displeased, surprised and generally uncomfortable with my baby's presence. If this was not her intention, it was at least our perception and hence reality.

We left because we simply didn't feel welcomed and we felt, regardless of which room we were going to be put in, we would be a nuisance. It's not what she said it was how she dealt with the situation. She mentioned that kids running and crawling around upstairs was disturbing and coming up and down the outdoor stairs was not really safe with baby stuff. Although valid points... Our baby doesn't even crawl yet, we didn't bring any of her things that would require us to go up and down and there was no one else booked downstairs for the next two dates of our potential stay.

The website we bought this from ethicaldeals.com didn't say anything about kids. Also their refund policy is hard to find.

We left and went to the Sheraton instead. No regrets.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OkamiLori, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

I am sorry that you had this experience, and regret that I was not able to make you feel welcome at our Inn.

If I “seemed surprised by the arrival of your 7 month old baby girl”, it’s because I was surprised. The voucher you purchased was for a two night stay for two persons; the room you chose has a maximum occupancy, as stated on our website, of two persons; and your partner booked for two persons. I was taken aback when you arrived with three persons. I was also caught off-guard when you declined my offer of an equivalent ocean-facing room with no extra charge for your child.

I did not say, nor did I mean to convey, that we would ‘prefer no kids’ at Ocean Wilderness Inn. We welcome families with infants and children at our Inn. For the safety, comfort and convenience of all our guests, we offer two rooms (the Raven and the Carmanah) for such families. As with every room at the Inn, these spacious rooms offer premium beds and bedding, private baths, & private entrances. The Raven and Carmanah are safer & more convenient for families with children. They avoid most stairs and are closer to the common space. Parents can, for example, relax near the fireplace & still hear a young child that needs them. At the same time, these rooms are situated so as to minimize the impact of any noise for our other guests. We realize this may not be a perfect solution but it has been workable for the last 5 years.

Again, I apologize for my part in this experience. I plan to modify our website to more clearly convey which rooms are appropriate for our youngest guests.

Safe travels
Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We had such a lovely time at the Ocean Wilderness. The warmth of the hosts, Lori and Andy, was a true delight, and the inn itself is beautiful. It is NOT a rustic cabin, nor is it a hotel. It hits the perfect "sweet spot" between. We stayed in the Pacific Panorama, which has a fabulous view overlooking the ocean (but through the garden). The bathroom was lovely and had a shower, but the tub (large) was in the bedroom, with fluffy robes and huge towels.

The breakfasts were not only tasty, they were clearly prepared with a lot of caring and desire to make "breaking fast" an actual experience rather than a plonking down of a few dishes and juice and hoping everyone's happy. We also had a mead tasting (mead from Tugwell Farm and delicious) with cheese and some completely yummy granola on our departure. I don't think anything was left out of it. Loved the chocolate bits and, seriously Lori, were those wasabi peas???

There is a guest kitchen too for ambitious souls to make something with the local produce.

During our 4-day stay, we came back one dark and windy night to find Lori and Andy holding storm lanterns and obviously quite concerned for our safety. They escorted us to our room, left the lantern and made sure the candle was lit. Lori came back with a flashlight and water. How very thoughtful...and that's what this place is all about—thoughtfulness.

Loved the pod coffee and tea maker in the hallway/library. We took advantage of this many times over our stay. We also recommend the EdGe for lunch and/or dinner. It's a funky-looking place serving absolutely wonderful food. My husband raved over the pork chop dish (looked more like an elephant chop) and my Arctic char was just brilliantly prepared. The dessert - apple spring roll with black tea jellies - was mouthwatering. The EdGe is in Sooke.

Back to the Ocean Wilderness Inn: Throughout the year, they run workshops and concerts and this is worth checking out on their website. They have a FB page so you can see what's happening. I am so happy we found this place. Had we not received a Living Social email featuring it, weI might never have known about it. And that would have been a very great loss!

Room Tip: Pacific Panorama and The Captains' Quarters are upstairs. We looked at some of the downstairs ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wuzzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Found Ocean Wilderness Inn via a LIvingSocial deal and are glad of it. Stayed 4 nights in their 3 Cedars Suite and enjoyed every bit of it. Rooms are immaculate, beds were firm and comfortable, bathroom is enormous (to allow plenty of room around the jacuzzi tub). The inn is situated just off the main road so, at first, I was concerned about road noise at night. Didn't need to be. It was quiet and peaceful as can be. Hosts Lori and Andy are delightful friendly people who know how to care for their guests. Breakfasts were served family style around a beautiful old (and gigantic) wooden table and were very tasty. Pancakes with berry compote, frittata with bacon, grilled peaches with ricotta. The inn is alittle bit (8 miles?) outside Sooke so yes, you do need to go into town for other meals but there is much to see and do in that area. Excellent kayaking in Sooke Basin or its many coves and bays! Several lovely beaches where you can just sit and watch the waters of Strait of Juan de Fuca. Note: Traffic through Victoria during rush hour is terrible so, if you can time your trip to avoid it, do. Otherwise, know that it's worth it because the inn is well worth the traffic to get to. And, when you leave, Lori & Andy will give you a bag of their custom blend Trail Mix which may be the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedars2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We went to this B&B through a LivingSocial deal, which made it a great value for the money. For full price we might not stay there, though if you can afford it it's really nice. It's out of town, so you may have to do a bunch of driving around depending on outdoor activities planned (and definitely for restaurants). But this also means that right outside your room door there's a tree where bald eagles nest and a stair path to a fossil beach (mind the slugs :)). There's also a pretty little garden with chairs to rest and enjoy the ocean view framed by the lush forest. In the evening we used the binoculars in the room to watch lit-up cruise ships pass by. Hosts friendly, good hosts, entertaining guests for breakfast, which was cooked and served fresh, something different every morning.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the ocean view rooms, it's why you go to a location like this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sosonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
6.8 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
6.5 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
21.3 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Salty Towers Oceanfront Cottages
4.1 mi away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
10.5 mi away
Moonlit Cove B&B
Moonlit Cove B&B
#8 of 24 in Sooke
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Wilderness Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Wilderness Inn

Address: 9171 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range: £90 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Wilderness Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean-front Inn located on the Salish Sea (Strait of Juan de Fuca) overlooking the Olympic Mountains. Our unique six suite retreat is perfect for a romantic weekend, hiking adventure, or just a relaxing get a way from it all. Located about 60 minutes from Victoria on the Southwest coast of Vancouver Island. All rooms have refrigerators, as well as coffee and tea. Our lush garden is surrounded by majestic old-growth forest and a lovely stream that runs along our beautiful trail to a very private beach. Book your room overlooking the ocean or the rain forest. Our Inn is within the Pacific Marine Circle Route next to Muir Creek beach. Lots of fun things to do here: hiking, birding, fishing, surfing, seaweed gathering, kayaking, paddle boarding, kite surfing, whale watching, and beach combing to name a few. Looking for lower key? Then soak in the hot tub, and gaze at the spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Wilderness Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Wilderness Inn Sooke, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing