We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooke with soul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sooke with soul”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My aunt and I planned a virtually last-minute trip to the Victoria area. I am a food snob and did not want to stay someplace with only adequate eggs or a bit of peanut butter smeared on lifeless bread. Enter Ocean Wilderness Inn. The comprehensive, delightful breakfasts warmed and filled us for our days of walking and travel. The property is idyllic, perched above the Strait of Juan de Fuca, with views of the snow-capped Olympic Mountains and the marine traffic in the strait. We sank into the hot tub every chance we could, surrounded by the lovely gardens and huge trees. I visited the cobbled beach every day, reveling in the art of stones and wood. I long to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastTraveler500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    16
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
60
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Three wonderful nights at this B&B - so close to the ocean and a great base for the daytime outings to the beaches, forest trails and West Coast beauty. The hosts had a great knowledge of the area which they shared readily. We enjoyed the hot tub and the relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J0lyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great view from the room/hot tub. Lori was very friendly and provided useful info on everything from hiking to dining.

Room Tip: Captain's Quarters seems to be the choice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at the inn for two nights and the time we had there was truly amazing. The scenery was beautiful and walking along the quiet and peaceful private beach in the early morning and night was quite an experience. The owners were great people and the breakfast was delicious as well.

このインにて2泊しましたが、その時間は本当に素晴らしいものでした。美しい景色、そして早朝や夜に静かなプライベートビーチを散歩するのは忘れられない体験となりました。オーナーの二人はとても良い人たちで、また朝食もおいしかったです。

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaku T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before this and we're unsure of what to expect. I now feel sorry for any that we stay at in the future because this place was amazing. Before our trip they we're great at answering the many question I would email to them and were very helpful in getting a BnB rookie used to the whole thing. We arrived a bit after the scheduled check-in time because we were touring around Victoria during the day and Lori (the innkeeper) was awesome in helping us get settled in and feel welcomed. Right away we took the quick walk to the shore (<5mins). INCREDIBLE! They definitely put in a lot of work to maintain a beautiful path down to the shore that is so close. From the garden you can see the water and it is just beautiful. It is amazing how well kept the garden is and there are a lot of great places to just sit and relax. Our room is very comfortable and is really conducive to helping us just relax and enjoy each other and the time away. Breakfast was great the common kitchen facilities are more then enough for the more picky eaters. Being out of cellphone range was no problem for us because if anything it forced us to let go of the constant texting and Facebook updating that makes our non-vacation lives seem so busy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water have the best of both worlds, an incredible garden and a view of the Juan de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,Tx
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just spent 4 nights at Ocean Wilderness and the website and pictures do not do it justice. An absolutely amazing place to stay. Can't imagine a more romantic setting.The views are wonderful and you are just steps away from a beautiful beach. The rooms are very large and extremely well decorated with very comfortable beds. All the comforts of home w/o a care in the world. The inn keepers, Lori and Andy are very gracious hosts and the breakfasts are 5 star. If you are planning a trip to Vancouver Island you have to stay at Ocean Wilderness.... you won't be sorry

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great .... pick ocean or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights, and the setting was amazing. There is a beach you can walk to in about 2 minutes and the views are just great. We stayed in the upper room facing the water. The quietness of the location, the hospitality of the hosts made this a great trip. Our room was also clean and spacious, and we had a large bathtub sitting outside the bathroom which was a nice way to soak it up and relax.

Sooke itself is a change-of-pace from the Victoria, the town is much smaller and quieter. Highly recommend it and highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hienph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sooke hotels
6.5 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
6.8 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Straitview Ridge B&B
Straitview Ridge B&B
#5 of 24 in Sooke
27 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gordon's Beach Farmstay B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Wilderness Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Wilderness Inn

Property: Ocean Wilderness Inn
Address: 9171 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Wilderness Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront B and B. Perched above the Salish Sea (Strait of Juan de Fuca) overlooking the Olympic Mountains, between Sooke and Jordan River, this serene, comfortable, seven suite ocean-front bed and breakfast retreat is perfect for your holiday get-away. Located about 60 minutes from Victoria on the Southern coast of Vancouver Island. All rooms have refrigerators, as well as coffee and tea. Our English cottage garden is surrounded by majestic old-growth forest and a lovely brook that runs along our beautiful trail to the beach. Book your room overlooking the ocean or the rain forest. Our Inn is within the Pacific Marine Circle Route next to Muir Creek beach. Lots of fun things to do here, geocaching, hiking, birding, fishing, biking, surfing, seaweed gathering, kayaking, paddle boarding, kite surfing, whale watching, beach combing. Looking for lower key? Then soak in the hot tub, read, gaze at the waves. Or for something completely different do nothing just sit and gaze at the spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Wilderness Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Wilderness Inn Sooke, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing