We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hosts, lovely time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hosts, lovely time”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed here last minute after a strip to Seattle was cancelled due to high winds. The hosts were very flexible and generous. In the end, we had a perfect friend reunion weekend after-all. The inn is a great balance between affordability with small touches that make it feel luxurious. The rooms are simple, spacious, and lovely. The beds are comfortable with nice sheets! We loved the robes, striped towels, and sitting cozy in the hot tub during a crazy storm. We also enjoyed the log-cabin atmosphere and the hand-made stone fireplace! Breakfast was delicious and we appreciated the effort made to accommodate our various dietary needs (gluten free/dairy free). After, we had a lovely walk down to the pebbled beach on the property. Although we are familiar with travel resources in the sooke area, we thought that people would really appreciate all of the menus, trip ideas, and maps that the owners have collected together. It would be a great pick for a group retreat or for out-of-country guests looking for a nice vacation that doesn't break the bank or feel too swanky. The Ocean Wilderness is simple-its not big city over-the-top style. But, we liked it that way and will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    16
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
60
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I didn't feel very welcome although the owner/operator did let me check in early. The room was fine with a nice garden view but the noise from the guests over my suite this morning was disturbing and there was a lack of amenities in the bathroom. The continental breakfast was not very exciting but acceptable. Overall, it served my purposes but I would not chose it again as a getaway destination.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJP12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Thank you for providing me with feedback about your stay. We welcome the opportunity to improve.

I was frazzled last Saturday. We had a full house of guests (15 people) attending a wedding next door. Everyone arriving on Saturday had requested early check-in. Also, the bride made a last minute request for space for 2 additional guests (so they did not have to drive after the planned late night celebrations) which meant setting up our overflow room also. I apologize that I was not at my serene, welcoming best.

If you had let me know what you wanted by way of amenities I may have been able to assist you. Amenities in all our private, ensuite bathrooms include a hairdryer, towels, soft soap at the sink, bar soap and conditioning shampoo. There are also robes, and additional towels for the hot tub. We have a basket of additional amenities including shaving cream, razors, combs, brushes, toothbrush, toothpaste, cotton balls, facial cleanser, makeup removing pads, conditioner, tweezers, nail trimmer, emery boards, contact lens case and solution, slippers, a mending kit, and feminine products. We are often able to save guests a trip to town.

The majority of the time we serve a full breakfast. We chose to serve buffet style to our guests last Sunday morning. Our previous experience has led us to understand that our guests (on the morning after a late night) appreciate more flexibility for time and more choice than a plated meal would have done. For the buffet we set out: Yogurt and house-made cranberry pumpkin granola (gluten free); Grapefruit halves; Bleu cheese filled dates; Smoked salmon with cream cheese, capers and onions; Toasted bagels; Gluten-free bread; Ham, Swiss cheese and cottage cheese; Hard – boiled eggs; Fresh baked banana chocolate chip muffins; Orange juice and Coffee/Tea.

I regret that the stay was not everything you had wanted and hope that you will return to give us a second try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had three lovely nights at the Ocean Wilderness Inn. The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners was outstanding. We had to leave early on our last morning to catch a ferry - not only were we given a lot of help planning our drive around a marathon, but were given a delicious take away breakfast to eat while we were in the ferry queue. The rooms were lovely and clean, and contained all we needed. The breakfasts were delicious. The only downsides were the lack of a fan in the bathroom, and that we could hear too much of the guests in the upstairs room. The views from our room and the common room of the strait and Olympic Peninsula were beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We loved our stay at the Ocean Wilderness Inn. The location is so peaceful you feel relaxed as soon as you arrive.Hosts Lori and And Andy made us feel very welcome and are knowledgable about everything there is to experience in the Sooke area. The room was lovely and spacious with beautiful fir floors and we slept well in the really comfortable bed. It was such a treat to wake to the sound of birds and wonderful aroma of our delicious breakfast being prepared. The long pebble beach beach is magnificent with petroglyphs at the far end. We watched the otters playing in the ocean and observed the Eagles rooke on the property. It was a getaway that we loved and won't forget. We will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I am shocked at the rave reviews for this place as our experience was lacklustre in the extreme. Except for the loghouse reception/dining room, the place is a dump. I don't know how they justify their prices. The room decors are done by theme and would benefit from some serious interior design upgrades. The "theme" elements are just tacky.

Our room was quite bare bones with uncomfortable seating, but the bed was decent. The bathroom was Motel 6 quality. There is an ocean glimpse, but no views to write home about. The garden doesn't look like it has been tended to in ages and is messy/overgrown. Their wifi is totally hit and miss. The breakfasts provided no choice and were virtually inedible.

But the worst part is that the innkeepers make you feel like you are an imposition. We also felt eavesdropped on by the proprietress. They are in the wrong business, and apparently know it, as the place is for sale.

This place is NOT a hit, it is a total miss, and we recommend you give it a miss.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bucerias_Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We welcome all feedback on how to improve.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. While we strive to provide a welcoming, comfortable and delicious experience for all our guests we obviously did not succeed in your case. I only wish you had made us aware of your disappointment during your stay so that we might have at least addressed resetting the wifi and the providing breakfast alternatives for you.

Again, my apologies that we fell short of your expectations.

Best wishes for future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have visited this B&B in August 2012. I wish we had more time to spend there.
The location is magnificent, the owners are very helpful and very nice, the rooms beyond our expectations, the cleanliness is unbelievable for me, and the breakfast is one of the best I ever had.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poisik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Ocean Wilderness in for 2 nights in early August. Our main reasons for visiting Vancouver island was to relax near the ocean and go whale-watching.
The Ocean Wilderness was in a perfect location - just outside of Sooke, it was peaceful and relaxing.
We stayed in the Pacific Panorama room, which was very spacious, clean, and had a beautiful view of the ocean. The bed was really comfortable, and there was a mini-fridge in the room which was helpful for storing our bottles of local wine!
The 2 highlights for us were definitely the direct access to the ocean, and the hottub!
There is a path that leads from the garden down a winding path to the ocean - it's about a 2 minute walk, but it's well-maintained (I wore flip-flops and I was fine!). The beach itself is made of rocks, so make sure you bring something to sit on if you want to relax by the ocean for awhile. We spent about an hour on the beach during our first night, and had a wonderful time. It was so quiet - only one other couple that we could see in the distance.
We definitely took advantage of the hottub. It has amazing ocean views, and was the perfect way to end a day of whale-watching out on the Pacific! We were even able to sip some wine in the hottub, using the plastic wine glasses provided by the Inn.
Each morning we had breakfast at a big table in the main room. It was nice chatting with the other guests, and speaking with Andy & Lori about different attractions in the area. The food was good - hearty, but sometimes a little dry. Nevertheless we were delighted to have a hot, comforting meal to get us on our way for the day!
Some other great features of the Inn - free internet access, Keurig coffee & tea available 24/7, and the wide selection of books and magazines available about the region.
Overall, I would highly recommend the Ocean Wilderness Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing ocean-front getaway in a perfect location!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissionToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sooke hotels
6.5 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
6.8 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
0.8 mi away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Straitview Ridge B&B
Straitview Ridge B&B
#7 of 24 in Sooke
27 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gordon's Beach Farmstay B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Wilderness Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Wilderness Inn

Property: Ocean Wilderness Inn
Address: 9171 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Wilderness Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront B and B. Perched above the Salish Sea (Strait of Juan de Fuca) overlooking the Olympic Mountains, between Sooke and Jordan River, this serene, comfortable, seven suite ocean-front bed and breakfast retreat is perfect for your holiday get-away. Located about 60 minutes from Victoria on the Southern coast of Vancouver Island. All rooms have refrigerators, as well as coffee and tea. Our English cottage garden is surrounded by majestic old-growth forest and a lovely brook that runs along our beautiful trail to the beach. Book your room overlooking the ocean or the rain forest. Our Inn is within the Pacific Marine Circle Route next to Muir Creek beach. Lots of fun things to do here, geocaching, hiking, birding, fishing, biking, surfing, seaweed gathering, kayaking, paddle boarding, kite surfing, whale watching, beach combing. Looking for lower key? Then soak in the hot tub, read, gaze at the waves. Or for something completely different do nothing just sit and gaze at the spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Wilderness Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Wilderness Inn Sooke, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing