We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hosts, great location, beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed for three nights in the upstairs room. Very roomy, with two chairs perfectly positioned to watch the ocean and wildlife (binoculars included). Lori and Andy were gracious hosts, with recommendations for hikes, restaurants, and activities that worked out very well. The surrounding garden, outside seating, and trail to the beach were an additional plus. The breakfasts were very tasty - the best we had on our vacation - and substantial enough for us to skip lunches in favor of light snacks. Just wish we could have stayed for more than three days!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoPittPanthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2010

top marks for 'INNKEEPERS of the year'! Lovely gardens overlooking private and pristine beach. Tidy spotlessly clean facilities. Great spa bath for warming those cold bones. This is a special place in the world and we highly recommend OCEAN WILDERNESS INN. No television, limited internet access. take a walk, read a book, play a game of chess: a blast from the past.....life in the SLOW lane..ENJOY this treasure of an inn in the scenic coastal wilderness of WEST SOOKE B.C.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

1stly may I ask TRIPADVISOR to please revise the 'Average price' for this listing to reflect the actual REALITY? (it is much lower than the tripadvisor website. The owners have tried in vain to have it corrected.) thank you trip advisor! Faultless rooms, service, property is amazing: private beach, gorgeous gardens, westcoast splendid cheerful service, generous host and hostess, ambassadors for Canadian tourism, helpful and good advice on local hiking, shopping, give this one a double thumbs up! Value for your travel $$$, people... call Lori and Andy at Ocean Wilderness Inn in Sooke BC for a GREAT stay....Simon and Wendy from
HAWKES BAY WINE COUNTRY IN NEW ZEALAND

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We booked one night and the following morning without hesitation an other one. Great room, great view, great garden, beautiful trail and beach and wonderful breakfast and very nice hosts. A place to come back to. Wim and Anja, Belgium

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wimzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

The owners and the location of this lovely inn are its biggest assets. We went on a hike to Mystic Beach followed by a picnic and then arrived at paradise. It is an eclectic architectural mix of log cabin and contemporary additions but the location and the property are the real gems.
I'm not a hot tub person but the inn has one which is Japanese style and overlooks the ocean and a majestic lone fir tree. It is spectacular and a treat for the whole family.
I would suggest that anyone visiting this part of the world would be lucky to have a stay at this lovely inn.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outwest2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We arrived in the evening and received a warm welcome. The location is remote and we had dinner in an excellent restaurant were 11 km away. The common (breakfast) area was generous and offered a spectacular view through the trees to the Sound and the American coast in the distance. The beach is accessible via a steep path down. The delicious breakfast was an original fruity french toast, with all guests sitting together at a big table getting to meet one another. The house seems ideal for workshops and retreats, which the hosts are very well equipped for. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Wow! We wanted a place that was scenic and near the coast, not just another one along a strip of houses or B&B's. Lori and Andy really were awesome -- great setting, great rooms and great food. Had some fun breakfast conversation with the other guests we met there. Nice touches like the all-hours coffee/tea, guidebooks, topo maps on the wall, slickers to borrow, ...

We'd definitely pick Ocean Wilderness Inn for our next stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
6.8 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
6.5 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
21.3 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Salty Towers Oceanfront Cottages
4.1 mi away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
10.5 mi away
Moonlit Cove B&B
Moonlit Cove B&B
#8 of 24 in Sooke
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Wilderness Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Wilderness Inn

Address: 9171 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range: £91 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Wilderness Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean-front Inn located on the Salish Sea (Strait of Juan de Fuca) overlooking the Olympic Mountains. Our unique six suite retreat is perfect for a romantic weekend, hiking adventure, or just a relaxing get a way from it all. Located about 60 minutes from Victoria on the Southwest coast of Vancouver Island. All rooms have refrigerators, as well as coffee and tea. Our lush garden is surrounded by majestic old-growth forest and a lovely stream that runs along our beautiful trail to a very private beach. Book your room overlooking the ocean or the rain forest. Our Inn is within the Pacific Marine Circle Route next to Muir Creek beach. Lots of fun things to do here: hiking, birding, fishing, surfing, seaweed gathering, kayaking, paddle boarding, kite surfing, whale watching, and beach combing to name a few. Looking for lower key? Then soak in the hot tub, and gaze at the spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Wilderness Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Wilderness Inn Sooke, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing