We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were in Sooke at a restaurant for a special birthday celebration and thought it would be a nice little get away to spend the night. Because it isn't that far from home, we had driven by many times but had never even driven up to take a look. So when we decided to stay, we were pleasantly surprised by what we found. I particularly loved the lobby! The decor is very inviting and almost had the feel of colonial India or other tropical local. The reception staff were very courteous and helpful.

The room was comfortable.

The property is very nice, with views of the water and a nice big pool and hot tub room that looks out on to the water and looks like opens up in summer.

The workout room was very impressive with lots of brand new looking machines and very clean and also looks out over the water so you can enjoy the view while on the treadmill.

We didn't get to enjoy the spa, but it seemed very popular. Neither did we get to try the restaurant because we were celebratating elsewhere and then the restaurant wasn't open for breakfast. There is a small cafe in the lobby but we were looking for a more substancial breakfast.

All in all we had a very pleasant experience and would go again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your review! I am glad that we had the opportunity to surprise you with our hospitality and services. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next get away! - Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I came for our second stay at the Best Western Premier Prestige in Sooke, Feb 7-9th. Our first stay—last August—wasn’t the best, but this time around it was a whole other story. It was amazing!

The hotel is about 2 minutes past “down town” Sooke and sits on a beautiful piece of ocean front property. The hotel itself it quite new and the finishings around the interior are top notch. The rooms are really lovely, too.

ROOMS: We had a big oceanfront room with a large patio. Even though it’s winter and chilly, it was so nice to have a patio…with a hot tea or coffee it was just right. The view from the patio (or from in the room) was incredible! Literally 180 degree views, you don’t even need a TV with this view.

AMENITIES: The pool was nice. They keep it open until 11pm and it was really quiet, so we had the hot tub to ourselves.
The spa was also great. It’s a small spa but the staff here were also very good and the services awesome and quite reasonably priced.


FOOD: The food was exceptional. Since our last stay, they have added a raw bar where they serve sushi from. If it’s not too busy at Ric’s you can order sushi at Ric’s…we did this twice. The sushi creations were different that traditional, but nothing short of amazingly delicious. Fresh fish and fresh ingredients were obviously used. My husband went for the filet mignon both nights and was not disappointed at all. The service at Ric’s was also really, really good. The restaurant was pretty busy both nights, and clearly a lot of locals come to eat here, which is a good sign.

SERVICE: The front desk staff were very helpful and polite. During our previous stay we had a few issues with the hotel staff being rude and dismissive, this time they were exceptional and accommodating. The hotel manager (Jacob) offered us a spa and restaurant voucher and we utilized both, he was very helpful during our booking and ensured we would enjoy ourselves.


We live in Victoria, so it was a short trip for a weekend away and it was so worth it. It’s far enough away to feel like you’re on vacation. There are a lot of outdoors activities near by as well. Lots of fishing (and tons of winter fishing biting!), and great hikes within 30 minutes. We’ll definitely come back to this property again for the views, food, location, and service.

Room Tip: pick ocean view and a balcony if you can--you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, General Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for returning for a second visit! I am glad that you could stay with us again so that we would have the opportunity to show you our true spirit of hospitality. Your review was wonderful to read and I know our team will appreciate your lovely comments. I will pass on your compliments to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay! - Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Irony is so funny. Only a month or so we were driving through Sooke and I was shocked (horrified) to see this monstrosity of a building right on the water. It was so out of place in the small coastal community. It was almost surreal actually. What was the architect thinking?!

Anyway, fast forward a couple of weeks and I bought a groupon for a two night stay in a hotel in Sooke. Always on the look out for a good deal, I snapped it up without really looking that closely at the details. I must have bought it when I was half asleep.

Well, guess where we wound up?! I was mortified!! The whole white pillars and Las Vegas feel is so contrary to my taste and values. But here we are. Grin and bear it.

Bottom line: it was a nice hotel. Friendly, accommodating staff. Clean. Nice views (although our balcony looked right into the restaurant which was not exactly private). I still think it is a distasteful display of "too much" and doesn't suit its surroundings at all. Oh, and the pillows were ridiculously big and uncomfortable. We both had sore necks in the morning. Also, no extra blankets in the room.

If you want to experience the beautiful atmosphere of a small coastal community, I would not recommend this hotel. But if big, modern, and clean is what you're looking for, you will find it here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lepetitfaucon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your honest, amusing and lovely review! You are most certainly right that the resort is big and opulent. Situated on the waterfront it offers beautiful views and the best place to watch the early morning mist roll away to reveal the beauty of the harbour. We fell head over heals for this view a few years ago and have been fortunate to have the support of the local community in welcoming guests to share it from all over the world. I am glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy our friendly service and resort, even though we were not your first choice in type of accommodation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Sooke. - Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My fiancée and myself decided to do a "local weekend getaway" and picked the Best Western Premier Prestige Oceanfront Resort as neither one of us had been there. WOW is all I can say. Service was outstanding, food was unbelievable & we had a room right on the water. Stunning view and the hotel was absolutely amazing, we will definitely go back there again. And it would be a stunner for a wedding or a honeymoon.
P.Lee/Parksville Visitor Centre Manager

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATRICIA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for choosing us for your Stay-Cation! It is nice to get away every now and then for a mini break and I am glad that you had a chance to indulge at the resort with your special someone. I will pass your compliments on to our team and hope that we can welcome you back in the future for another romantic getaway! - Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay here but it was remote and a long drive from Victoria. The hotel, in all its grandeur, looks out of place in Sooke. Would be better suited in the southern states or Vegas. Definitely, not the typical Best Western we are used to (and no complimentary breakfasts here!). The views of the water are very nice and the gardens are well maintained.

Our room was very spacious and clean with a luxurious feel to it. The disadvantage was that we overlooked the parking lot. No big deal as we arrived late and were leaving the next morning. Yes, there was another TV hooked up on the wall in the bathroom!? The shower was very nice!

We ate at Ric's Grill and the food was very good. We asked to change tables because there was a table of people drinking and being excessively loud to the point where we could not hear ourselves or what the server was saying. They moved us no problem and we enjoyed the rest of our dinner.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with information about hikes in the area.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seetheworld2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for your great review! I am glad that you had a wonderful stay and found our team to be so welcoming. The food is dynamite at the restaurant. On my last visit, my kid would only eat meatballs from Rics for the entire stay and I have to admit I stole a few bites since they were so delicious. I will pass your feedback on to our team and hope we can welcome you back to Sooke in the near future. - Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great place, comfortable beds, pillows, tv in room and bathroom(that was a surprise) toilet separate from bath and sink. Morning coffee supplied, wine glasses in room which was great. This hotel has a spa, sushi restaurant, bar, dining room , internet stations, pool, jacuzzi, coffee shop. I would stay here again for sure!, only one thing, I thought they had not cleaned the bathroom counters, but then after trying to wipe myself, the granite countertops are just stained from water glasses etc, and you will never get them out of the granite. It's too bad they used that type of inferior product. Otherwise everything was really good.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ria3896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! I am glad that you enjoyed all the amenities and features of the resort. During development it just made sense to complement an extra large bath with a flat screen tv in the bathroom so guests could enjoy a leisurely soak. I have passed your comments on to our maintenance team at the resort for a further review and resolution. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sooke. - Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is not your typical Best Western. It has been fashioned as something you would expect more in Florida or Scarlett O'Hara and is semi-luxury in a very remote location. There is a Ric's Grill downstairs that services good food and a Japanese restaurant is also open on weekends. All of this seems like a bizarre find in the remote-ish community of Sooke. People now commute from here to Victoria but the community still has a small town feel.

Room Tip: If you wanted to explore the south part of Vancouver Island in a smaller community and in semi-luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnniversaryGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad that you found Sooke to still feel like a remote and beautiful "small town" community. That is what we love best about our destination - we can offer an upscale experience and guests can venture out to still experience the West Coast feel of Sooke. We hope to welcome you back soon! - Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
0.8 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
16.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,149 reviews
135.8 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
102.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
92.2 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection

Address: 6929 West Coast Rd | Bc, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0V1, Canada (Formerly Prestige Oceanfront Resort, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range: £67 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prestige Oceanfront Resort is your ideal haven for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our full service resort features luxurious guest rooms, exceptional dining experiences, and extraordinary hospitality. Rising above the Pacific Ocean, our waterfront resort offers breath-taking views of Sooke Harbour, Sooke Basin, Juan de Fuca Strait and the Olympic Mountains. Conveniently located near unique local attractions and recreational facilities, we invite you to indulge in a truly West Coast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection Sooke, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing