We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Lantzville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This year we chose to visit Sooke, B.C. to celebrate our 27th anniversary. After a bit of research, we decided on the Prestige Oceanfront Resort.
Looks nice on the outside, but it was a disappointment for us on the inside.
Our room - Oceanview - top floor - was dark and somewhat depressing. The walls were various shades of grey, the flooring was charcoal, hard laminate and the decor was in greys and blacks. The windows were large, but were unable to bring in enough light in to offset the cold, depressing colour scheme of the room. I think this room was decorated for a magazine photo shoot and not for comfort. The only sofa had high straight back and sides and I mean high - the arm rests were above my shoulders, too high to use. It looked like and felt as comfortable as a church pew. No matter how we tried, the sofa was just not comfortable and we ended up having to sit on the bed.
The other problem we had was in controlling the temperature of the room. The only way to keep it from heating up was to have the noisy air conditioner turned on, (even with the window open and the heat off the room kept heating up) which only took the room from hot to freezing and back to hot. At night the air conditioner kicking in and out made for a restless sleep. (Also if you are a light sleeper, be prepared to be awaken by the eager salmon fishermen that start launching their boats at the public boat ramp below your window - starting at 5:30am. Most seem to tow their boats with loud diesel trucks.)
The first night, upon our arrival and after a two hour drive, we thought a swim and hot tub sounded like a great idea - not!. Upon seeing how cloudy/mirky the water was, in both the hot tub and pool, we reluctantly decided not to risk it and went for a walk instead.

The positives: The staff were friendly. The room was clean. The bathroom was very nice.

We won't be back. For the price, there are much better options in Sooke.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    208
    68
    21
    17
See reviews for
178
336
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, BC, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This Best Western is a Premier, top line property. Very near lots of natural attractions like beaches and world-famous trails. The room and the beds were excellent. Didn't try the restaurant because it was too up-scale for this mini-vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Was offered the "Romance" package and enjoyed our balcony and oceanfront view. Rooms are modern but unspectacular. Enjoyed a very good meal at the new Western Grill. Reasonably priced too! Spa was difficult to book but General Manager was very accomodating and replaced our Spa coupon with added meal coupons. I will definitely go back :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Moiraine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we stayed 2 nights at this hotel which is right on the ocean in Sooke. It is beautiful. We booked a waterfront balcony room which had an amazing view of the harbor. The restaurant is lovely and a little pricey. There are kayak , hobie cat and bike rentals close by and of course the galloping goose trail can be accessed from their location

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 445yvetteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood Bay, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the perfect hotel for weddings and weekend getaways. Beautiful rustic west-coast village setting, lovely views, terrific hiking and boating, surrounded by great restaurants and lots of artists.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great ocean front location in Sooke near fishing and boat launch. Very attractive lobby& nice helpful staff. The Pet Friendly room had two dog bowls and a lovely dog bed. Nice waterfront room with large patio that had great patio furniture. (2 lounges, 2 chairs, 2 tables) Delicious dinner in the dining room. Terrific indoor pool.There were very few people in the hotel but I am sure in the summer it is full.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DONNA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My hubby and I spent a night here as a baby moon before the arrival of our second little one, and it was spectacular. The staff were so kind and truly went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The meals were delicious, the room was decadent and the views were outstanding. I left a library book behind (pregnancy brain!) and when I called to ask if I'd left it behind, two of the staff offered to drop off the book at the library for me - a HUGE favour as the book was not from the Sooke library system. Thank you thank you thank you for such an enjoyable stay and for being so incredible. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#2 of 24 in Sooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Victoria West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection

Property: Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Address: 6929 West Coast Rd | BC, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0V1, Canada (Formerly Prestige Oceanfront Resort, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prestige Oceanfront Resort is your ideal haven for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our full service resort features luxurious guest rooms, exceptional dining experiences, and extraordinary hospitality. Rising above the Pacific Ocean, our waterfront resort offers breath-taking views of Sooke Harbour, Sooke Basin, Juan de Fuca Strait and the Olympic Mountains. Conveniently located near unique local attractions and recreational facilities, we invite you to indulge in a truly West Coast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection Sooke, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing