We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Straitview Ridge B&B
Ranked #4 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just spent three days at Straitview B&B and would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to spend time in the Sooke area. We hiked one day on the Juan de Fuca Marine Trail, one day in East Sooke Regional Park and the last day cycling on the Galloping Goose all of which were very accessible. Each day it was wonderful to enjoy the comforts of this "home away from home" after a good day of hiking. Bill and Janine are exceptional hosts who have a wealth of local knowledge that they are more than happy to share with their guests. We stayed in the Sunset Room which was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and thoughtfully furnished with everything we could possibly need. The location allows for a magnificent view over the ocean and we were delighted to see the hummingbirds every morning as we enjoyed one of Bill's delicious breakfasts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Owner at Straitview Ridge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you very much for your kind remarks regarding your stay with us.
It was indeed a pleasure to share our home with you for your 'getaway'.
We were very impressed by the cross section of activities and sights you managed
to experience during your three day stay, with more to spare . And perfect weather an added plus! This is indeed what our wonderful area is all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Straitview Ridge B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Reserved at the last moment. Location is not right at the ocean, but therefore further from the road and more quiet, while there is still a great view of the ocean. Bill & Janine are extremely gracious hosts, very accommodating and helpful, and very friendly. The house (and the rooms) are nicely decorated, the food was great (Bill used to be a chef), and the room was comfortable, with a nice balcony with a great view. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Han S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Owner at Straitview Ridge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We are pleased that you and your family had a very enjoyable stay with us and that our Sunset suite suited your needs.
Thank you for recommending us to other potential travellers and sharing your impressions.
Imagine also fitting in an overnight campout at Sombrio Beach along the Juan de Fuca Marine Trail nearby ! A perfect visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Straitview Ridge B&B in Sooke, B.C. Our hosts, Bill & Janine, welcomed us with open arms and friendly smiles immediately upon our arrival. We had a lovely room, very clean and complete with fully stocked ensuite bath & kitchenette, as well as an expansive balcony where we watched the sunset and the fog gently roll in after an action packed day. In the morning, we were entertained by several cute little hummingbirds and other birds, while the fog rolled out and revealed the sparkling ocean once again. Breakfast was a feast, complete with eggs, hash browns, veggie treats, yogurt, cereals, a wide variety of fresh fruit, coffee, etc. etc. There is an extensive breakfast menu from which you can choose your favourite dishes. Everything is served in a bright cheery dining room with lots of food for everyone. A very comfortable lounge is also available with beautiful well kept plants, and two friendly pups onsite. Bill & Janine have thought of everything - thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Owner at Straitview Ridge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your kind and informative review of our B&B here in the Sooke area.
It is always nice to know that our guests relax and make the most of their accommodation, and have especially enjoyed our many breakfast choices.
We make every effort to meet our guests' diverse needs, so we are pleased that you left
with an excellent impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We took advantage of the few surprisingly beautiful balmy days in May with a visit to Vancouver Island. We ended up staying in Straitview Ridge B&B which is about 8 minutes from the town center of Sooke. The B&B is on a slope with a long driveway leading to an unpaved parking area. Because of the altitude, it’s got a spectacular view. After a long day of sightseeing, nothing feels better than coming back to a relaxing room and enjoying the therapeutic view of the serene sea. We watched and took some pictures of the beautiful sunset in the wooden deck. The shower in the ensuite was very nice with a powerful massager. The hosts were very friendly, not to say the least of the delightful breakfast which includes pastries, eggs, bacon and a colorful array of fruits on a platter.
Other than the minor negative of the unpaved parking lot, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inewbie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Beautiful room, gorgeous view, sumptuous breakfast, friendly hosts with three gentle dogs - what more can you ask for? We had a great time exploring the nearby beaches and trails, then came home to a relaxing time in their clean and tastefully decorated room, and enjoyed the beautiful sunset in the balcony. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkieTalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Endroit très calme
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank corinnel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Owner at Straitview Ridge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: De sunsetroom heeft een geweldig uitzicht!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tineke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Owner at Straitview Ridge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
4.5 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
4.8 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#2 of 24 in Sooke
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
29.9 mi away
Trailhead Resort
Trailhead Resort
#2 of 5 in Port Renfrew
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gordon's Beach Farmstay B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straitview Ridge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straitview Ridge B&B

Address: 4532 Otter Point Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0K4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range: £55 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Straitview Ridge B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience year-round splendour of the south West Coast of Vancouver Island, with miles of unspoiled beaches and world class hiking trails. Overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca ,11 km west of the town of Sooke, our 7 acre B&B offers breathtaking panoramic ocean/mountain views.Each of our 3 well-appointed rooms provides comfort and restful accommodation. Enjoy our full country breakfasts before an active day of marine activities(whale watching, fishing, beaching...), hiking, birding, ziplining, cycling--your choices are endless! And (rentable or your own) canoes/kayaks are a must for a day on the ocean or lake. Our patio BBQ facilities, cozy fireplace, and/or deck relaxation are a perfect finish to a perfect day, along with a fine selection of restaurants nearby. We look forward to sharing all of this and more with you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Straitview Ridge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straitview Ridge B&B Sooke, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing