We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from a Horrible stay at Sooke River Campground”

Sooke River Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sooke River Campground
Ranked #7 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Sooke
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have never shared on here before about any of my experiences as they have all been good experiences up until now! We stayed for 2 nights this weekend and let me tell you this was the WORST campsite I have ever stayed at. The location itself was beautiful, but be warned upon arrival you will be handed a booklet of rules and regulations that you must abide by. It was run more like a corrections facility, minus barbed wire fences. The bathrooms were on lockdown and you needed a password to get in (FYI its 1155) really like who the heck is gonna steal the TP ridonkulous!!! There was a provincial camp fire ban, which was not a problem. However you were allowed to have a fire between 5-9pm but it was a cooking fire and as long as we placed a stick by it we were fine. The first night a police officer came by patrolling the site and told us we needed to have it put out because of the ban, but once we showed him our rule book he went to speak to the campsite corrections officer and never came back. The second night we had friends and family visit us as we were all in Sooke for my aunts wake. They charged each person $2 to come in, as part of the rule book quiet time is 10pm. We had another fire and when we went to buy wood we were advised that either we put it out by 9 or they will come by with a bucket of water and charge us $10. We were abiding by the rules and our 1st car load of guest left at 930 while waiting for the car to return to get 2nd load of guests the corrections officer followed by a police officer come towards us and advises us that we have to shut it down as they were getting complaints, WTH are you serious. We were quite contained not rowdy, just talking and reminiscing and sharing memories of the times we all shared. I asked the officer why she didn't approach earlier to keep the noise level down to which she advised us that she did that once and nearly got choked out. Well perhaps this isn't the right gig for her or maybe she should check her attitude. We told her we were abiding by the rules and quiet time is 10pm it was 945pm and the second car was on its way. She then abruptly tells us this is private property and I can shut it down. WOW!!! Needless to say they all walked up to main exit and waited for their ride. We will definetly NOT be returning to this site, the operators are rude and unwelcoming.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank jbn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Sooke River Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We found the staff to be very snotty and rude. The bathrooms were dirty and needed a code to enter. Not very clean either. Had geese and dog poop all over. Would NOT recommend this place to anyone. Would never stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Grassy treed sites adjacent to the river inlet. Good layout of the campground; free Sani-dump. Clean!! Friendly helpful staff. Playground, swimming, pet friendly. We have stayed here before & will definitely be back again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunriseridgefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The camp ground itself is ok, gets pretty windy in the open area and there is limited sites in the trees. This site use to be great to camp at but after last night, things have obviously changed. All children must be supervised at all times, which means that if you are a single parent with two or three kids camping with you...everyone must go to the washroom at the same time even if they don't want to. I had a 16 year old with me that took the two boys (age 8/9) to the park and was told this was unacceptable. Must be an adult. You can not have visitors with you past 10 pm so during the summer when its to warm to light a fire until 8:30/9pm you only get an hour to roast your hot dogs and smores before they MUST leave. This camp ground was almost empty last night and there was no wavering on allowing them to stay just a bit longer, their vehicle was going to be towed regardless of it being parked across the street and off their property. The sun hadn't even gone down yet when we realized the small amount of firewood my husband had bought before leaving for the night wasn't enough but we couldn't buy more because the store was closed but the operators were there but still refused service. I understand having rules and I understand if you give people an inch many will take a mile but just sitting around a camp fire quietly having smores and hot dogs with a few kids is what camping is all about and their rules seem to be extreme. Camping belongs in the hospitality industry and a great campground provides great hospitality especially if you are trying to promote the area. Unfortunately, they have lost sight of this. We won't be staying here again, nor will we recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LAXMOM1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stay here all the time and love it. This campground had a reputation for rowdies but ever since the new caretakers took over a couple of years ago they have done very well returning it to a respectable family site. Rules are no different than any other place. People that don't like rules tend to be the ones that complain about them. If you're not a drunkin idiot the caretakers go out of their way to make your visit a good one. Campers acting badly are quickly read the riot act. Now the campground is quiet and enjoyable.

The river is beautiful but can get low during the summer. There is a local museum and a rec center about a two minute walk away. Bears are often seen across the river feeding on the salmon. Washrooms and showers are clean and very functional. Many places charge $55 a night and these guys charge $35. Prices are great.

I recommend this place anytime. Try it. Other than the caretakers, this campground is run by the volunteers within the community of Sooke. It's not a private enterprise. The caretakers can easily work a 16 hour day during the busy times. Consequently getting up hours earlier to open the gates is not an option for these tired people. Provincial campgrounds lock their gates too. No exceptions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordHumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a lovely spot along the creek and enjoyed wildlife viewing right from our campsite. Toilets & showers were nothing fancy, but were fine. Noise from the road & highway was disturbing sleep at times. Hosts were helpful and mostly friendly, but could be very blunt bordering on rude at times (though I am sure it is easier for them that way when dealing with so many people all summer). Over all it was a great experience, but some sites are very open with no shade, so be aware of that.

Room Tip: treed sites along creek were our favourites, unless you like full sun.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinCatapults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Staff was great. Zero tolerance for rowdies. Lots to do in the area. Right on the river. Good prices and good clean amenities. A small store allows you to buy small needed supplies but there is a complete town just up the road.

Room Tip: The campground is run by the Sooke community association. Being community run they take pride in ens...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sooke hotels
2.0 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Straitview Ridge B&B
Straitview Ridge B&B
#4 of 24 in Sooke
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina
3.9 mi away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Seascape Inn
Seascape Inn
#6 of 24 in Sooke
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sooke River Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooke River Campground

Address: 2259 Phillips Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Sooke
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Sooke River Campground Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing