We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First leg of our honeymoon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites
Ranked #5 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at Eagle Cove for a total of 9 nights in August 2012 before flying from Victoria to Seattle for our Alaskan Cruise. This place will always have a very special place in our hearts. We shook off our jet lag in the Snug for a few nights before Blythe moved us up to Aerie a night early for no extra charge as it was vacant. Words can't do the serenity of this setting justice, you'll have to judge by the photos or go there yourself. The Snug is cosy and very comfortable with a lovely balcony on both properties adding to the spaces of both properties. Close enough to town to get our waffles in the morning and more than just a few good places to go our for supper if need be. We were recharged by the sights and sounds of nature 24/7 and also took a whale watching tour with Sooke Coastal Explorations; a magical time on China beach which was deserted for us before we headed on to Avatar Grove, but most of our time was spent chilling at the cove as it was so perfect. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Blythe or Des who were just so lovely and welcoming in every way. We are looking at returning once our daughter is old enough to travel that far, because this place has a magic about it and its owners are truly special people. Thank you :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baskingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We could not believe our luck when we arrived at Eagle Cove. The welcome from Blythe was very friendly, the fridge well stocked and most of all the view was amazing! It is even better than it looks on the website! The apartment was really spacious and our 16 year old appreciated having his own area with sofa bed. It was lovely sitting on the deck listening to the sea lapping on the beach below. Great to have a decent washing machine. We are really looking forward to coming back some day.

Room Tip: The Aerie suite (the top suite) is easily big enough for a family of 4 and would also have room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank travelyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlytheBarlow, Owner at Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Because we love this region, we naturally feel very "lucky" to live where we do. And I think we are the luckiest people to have such wonderful guests visit our guesthouse. Thanks for sharing the delicious salmon your 16-year-old son caught! We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Aerie suite was clean, comfortable, well-equipped, and offered a spectacular view from the living room and the balcony. The beach is a short walk down the steps and at low-tide, we found all sorts of interesting invertebrates. The hosts were gracious and accommodating. I recommend Eagle Cove highly. The only negative was a lack of easy parking, but I'd put up with that again for the outstanding view and accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Marilynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We loved Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest House. It was our transition between an Alaskan Cruise and returning home. We departed from the Canada Place dock in Vancouver and 6 1/2 hours later were welcomed by our friendly host Blythe and her just as friendly dog. The ferry ride was most enjoyable and we stopped at Costco outside of Victoria to pick up supplies (our one and only stop for supplies). Eagle Cove exceeded our expectations from the descriptions we had read on their website. Our group consisted of six - grandparents along with our son, his wife and two teenage children. We were in the Snug Suite and our son and his family in the Aerie Suite. The views were spectacular as we watched birds, sea lions, cruise ships and cargo ships in the Strait of Juan de Fuca (great with the help of the supplied binoculars) and of course, the beautiful sunsets. Although we had planned on going to other beaches for strolling and hiking during the three days and two nights we were there, there was no need to. We hiked along the beach in front of the property and, at another time, over to the next beach to the left. On that hike it was easier coming back due to the low tide. The supplied breakfast items including eggs, milk, juice, fruit and other items were more than sufficient for both days. The Aerie Suite was the focal point for meals and games. We enjoyed a day trip to Victoria and Butchart Gardens. Would we return to the same spot - most definitely. There is lots to explore from this central location on this part of the island. June 2013 Ontario and Utah Warner’s

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cecil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This place ist just beautiful. Such a lovely apartment with everything you need with a fantastic terasse over the ocean. For us it was just paradise to stay there 5 nights. Thanks to the hosts for nice talks and interesting recommendations. We would love to go there each year but it is to far from Germany.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kerstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlytheBarlow, Owner at Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you Kerstin for you kind words. I really enjoyed meeting you and our conversations and will look forward to receiving a picture of your soon to be born baby girl. I'm so pleased that your family had such a great time in Canada, not just here on the Island, but also when you went on to Vancouver and saw the Celebration of Light. I hope we meet again some day ... Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

we were staying for 3 nights in the Aerie Suite at Eagle Cove. We found the webpage via "Sooke Accomodations" because we were looking for a place for the last couple of days of our honeymoon. The location is just beautiful, nicely tucked away from the road. There is plenty of parking on the road, if the driveway should be invonvenient to anybody.
The "Aerie Suite" was the perfect place! It was like having our own apartment and much more personal than a hotel accomodation, just lovely!
Blythe is a fantastic host and Zeus, the friendly Golden Retriever made us feel like we were at home with our Golden Retriever.
The suite has a private entrance and a private spacious deck and is surrounded from flowers; the grounds are very well kept.
The suite is very spacious and thoughtful furnished and the huge window in the living room made us feel like being outside. At night you could hear the ocean waves below and the moon was shining brightly over the ocean into our bedroom. It was so romantic!
We found a very well stocked kitchen with all appliances you could possibly need and since the fridge was so thoughtful supplied we didn't need to go out for breakfast but could enjoy a peaceful breakfast along with a fantastic view.
It's an easy drive into Sooke with lots of possibilities to shop and eat out. Blythe was very helpful with recommendations on places to go.
With all the small but thoughtful details we felt like home. We highly recommend Eagle Cove and can't wait to return for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hannelore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlytheBarlow, Owner at Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Hello Hannelore and Michael ... One of the greatest joys of operating a B&B is to have people arrive as guests and leave as friends. What can be more rewarding? What a wonderful world it is, with us having our loving golden retrievers, and I often wonder what it would be like if Zeus met Finn, and they swam together in that cold fast running river, and Finn dove deep down to the bottom? Well, Zeus wouldn't do it, but we'd still have a lot of fun with our wet dogs. Thank you for your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary ... warmest regards from Blythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I found the AERIE suite at Eagle Cove to be simply fantastic. Fantastic setting on the rocks above a pocket beach, and heavenly to have the bedroom windows open savoring the gentle lapping of wavelets below. Also nice to be tucked out of the wind behind a point, thus out of cool breezes and fog. Waking the fisherman are right offshore but even that was quiet. When I first drove the road I was concerned about road noise as the road is right there, but Eagle Cove is tucked down the hill. I found plenty of parking on the road if one did not want to use the driveway. Zeus the dog is infinitely huggable. Nice to be only 8k west to Sooke, which feels very remote but at the same time still has cell service and it's easy to pop into Marcus's for dinner (a meal so fine I repeated the next night). It is just above the other suite in the same building, so I felt fortunate no other guests were below and I could see booking both suites would be wise to have the entire building.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravelingCouple77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sooke hotels
3.5 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
2.5 mi away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#3 of 24 in Sooke
106 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina
1.1 mi away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites

Address: 8061 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1C9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range: £88 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Cove Beachfront B&B offers Two Self-Contained Suites with sweeping ocean views just steps above our walk-on beach. Enjoy large sundecks. Birdwatch, beachcomb or barbecue outdoors. Refresh your senses in our beautiful garden setting. The lofty one-bedroom Aerie can accommodate up to four guests. The sea level one-bedroom Snug is a charming suite for two guests. Watch whales, soaring eagles! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites Sooke, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing