We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab and friendly”
Review of Shirley Delicious

Shirley Delicious
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fab and friendly”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Fantastic place for breakfast. Went on second day of our vacation and went back twice more. Veggie hash is fresh and tasty, brekkie bun is delicious too. Muffins were the fruitiest and moistest we've had — and gluten-free too. Don't go in with a hangover though, both Sheena and Peter are LOUD.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timskitour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    111
    16
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow! Philip is a dynamo!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Such an amazing little place with amazing treats.
We shared a piece of lemon blueberry pie and it was amazing. It was a huge slice, but the filling is so light and fluffy it was easy to eat. The great lemon flavour helped as did the fresh blueberries on top.
Have a cold brew coffee on a hot day or any day. You'll love it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1969DCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Visited with the family on a recommendation and we were not disappointed! Lovely welcome from the staff and great food. All baked on the premises and served with a friendly word! We had the Moroccan soup which was fantastic and very hearty! One might have done two adult with the delicious focaccia! Our boys both loved their cheese and pesto twist and the fantastic desserts! Cappuccino the best I have had in Canada! We are only here for a few more days but I bet we will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank CraigwsEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed down the road and ate here every morning for Breakfast! The staff is extremely friendly and the drinks and food were fantastic. Also, the outside seating area and free wifi is great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great day for a drive to Shirley”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

First it must be made clear that the restaurant is in Shirley, not Sooke. Shirley is about a 20 minute drive past Sooke.
We took advantage of a beautiful, sunny Sunday for the scenic drive to Shirley where we discovered this not so secret jewel in the middle of practically nowhere. Now we know where everyone is heading for on the weekends. Very good cold brewed coffee from one of my favourite coffee roasteries (Fernwood Coffee), absolutely superb South African flavours sausage roll - chicken, apricot, curry and perhaps raisins. Added to that was a superb banana loaf hyped up with blackberries, chocolate and spelt - far too filling for one person; all wrapped up in an relaxed, west coast atmosphere.
This place is rocking busy which means patience gets you a delicious meal, great banter and a personal touch unlike the fast paced city. If you have made this far do not be deterred by the wait. A great way to spend a lazy afternoon. Just watch out for broken chairs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sigehaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shirley Delicious also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Shirley Delicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing