We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfort in a Rustic Setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with great wood burning fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with great wood burning fireplace
Handsome Dan's at Otter Point Living room with great wood burning fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Living room with great wood burning fireplace
Handsome Dan's at Otter Point
Living room with great wood burning fireplace
Cozy night around the fire
Nothing better than a wood burring fireplace
Looking toward the kitchen
Cozy Cottage
Cozy Cottage
Wild coast living
View from the stairs
Kitchen area, fully equipped and gas stove
Great family dinner are cook in this kitchen
Kitchen with gas stove
Kitchen
The dinning area, where all the good meals and great family time happen
Dining room looking into the sunroom
Sunroom
Sunroom
From the sunroom looking into the dining room
From the sunroom looking into the dining room
This is the only bedroom downstairs, off the dining area with 1 single bed
This is the only bedroom downstairs, off the dining area with 1 single bed
Huge Bathroom
Huge Bathroom with Bath, Shower, washer & dryer
Spiral log staircase to the upper level
Loft area with a double size futon and an ottoman that open as a single bed
Loft with a double futon and an Ottoman that open as a single bed
Loft area
Ottoman open as a single bed
Ottoman open as a single bed
Loft upstairs
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Murphy bed in the 2nd bedroom
Murphy bed open in the 2nd bedroom
Deck and hot tub area
Deck and hot tub area
Deck and hot tub area
Deck and hot tub area
Back yard on the second level with some view of the ocean and a green house
Back yard on the second level with some view of the ocean
Main entrance
Log home in Sooke
Our street address
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ben D
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfort in a Rustic Setting”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The large three bedroom log cabin is beautifully designed and furnished with all the modern comforts that one could expect. France's artistic touch is evident on both floors of this beautiful place. Four of us had ample room to relax and enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tasteful and comfortable "rustic" architecture and furnishings.
Liked least: The water tastes a bit musty. Bring bottled water.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat F
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
“A welcoming cabin with beautiful views”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family rented Fish Tales cabin for two nights. We had a wonderful time there. The cabin was warm and inviting with gorgeous views of the water. The marina was just a short walk away where we could watch the days catches come in . We loved Botanical Beach and would definitely come back again ! Thank you for a relaxing getaway:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and comfort
Liked least: paving going on during our stay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123it
1 review
“Very convenient,and efficient”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were going to haul all our trailers and boats out to port renfrew for the 2014 coho derby.but when we started to think about all the work and set up,when we were going to be fishing all day. It just didn't make sense. So we checked in to the cabin idea. What we thought was going to be an expensive and hard to do idea for last min. But with handsome dans cabins it was very easy.and about the same price as hauling trailers and camping expense.It really was just show up relax and fish. Excellent.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmmkwong
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Cozy, very well organized, and with a wonderful kitchen”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cabin was the highlight of our trip. It is beautiful and rustic and full of character, like a giant tree house. I was very impressed that things are very well thought out and organized, and we just followed the labels to find things. One thing that caught me off guard is that there is no blowdryer (or maybe I was just expecting the wrong thing), so remember to bring your own. All in all it is a wonderful experience!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Hi Mary, thanks for your comment, It is sincerely appreciated. Just when you think you thought of everything... I forgot a blow dryer! Thanks, I will be sure to add one to the log home.
Thanks for your stay Mary.
France
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandiggi...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Handsome Dan's in Sooke, B.C. for 4 days from July 12-15, and we loved it. It's a beautiful cabin with all you need to have a wonderful time, it's a home away from home.

France aka The French Girl was very helpful and would return my emails asap. We met her and Handsome Dan when we arrived and they went over the cabin with us, which was very nice!

The kitchen had everything you need to make your food and also has a BBQ. We really enjoyed the hot tub and the scenery was awesome! There were 6 adults and one child and we found it was comfortable. My 8-year-old niece didn't want to leave, so it's definitely a place children would love as well. We didn't want to leave either!

I would recommend staying at Handsome Dan's if you are planning a trip to Sooke! There's a lot of restaurants and things to do around Sooke and Victoria is about a 45 minute drive from there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole property.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
Hi Brandy, thank you for taking the time to write a review. It always melt my heart when I look in the guest book after each departures and see how people enjoyed themselves and created memories they will remember. Thanks for sharing your experience with others.
France (aka The French Girl)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New1993
Baraboo, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could ask for”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Otter Point Cabin while hiking the parks in and around Sooke. It was rustic and charming with all the amenities one could ask for. The Cabin was exceptionally clean including the hot tub. It was more then comfortable and spacious for 5 adults. The French girl met us at the Cabin for a quick tour and even had a fire started in the beautiful stone fireplace. I would recommend this Cabin to anyone and would not hesitate to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2014
Thank you Mary for your kind words. It is sincerely appreciated.
France (AKA The French Girl) :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing