We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful refreshment”

Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A meeting place, cafe, bistro, and so much more. Little Vienna Bakery is owned and operated by Susan & Michael Nyikes. Their vision has been to create an authentically European bakery in Sooke that provides artisan breads, pastries and cakes using only the very best ingredients and old-world techniques. Having established a strong reputation for fresh, all-natural products and a loyal following of customers over the past 10 years, the Nyikes’ draw upon their own European backgrounds and travels throughout the world to continue the evolution of Little Vienna Bakery. Having professionally trained and dedicated staff members in place, maintaining a very high level of quality ingredients and baking techniques, and providing consistent quality products has continued the success of the business. Little Vienna Bakery offers beautiful hand-formed artisan breads, buns and baguettes, as well as lovingly prepared decadent pastries, pies and cakes…..and yes, everything is made “fresh-from-scratch” using only the finest ingredients; the majority of which are locally sourced and organic.More than just baked goods, the bakery also offers a unique selection of fine cheeses, market & deli items, an expansive breakfast & lunch menu, specialty coffees & teas.It’s important to note that the bakery also caters to those with special dietary needs and also produce vegetarian, gluten, dairy, sodium and sugar free items. Susan & Michael have completely renovated the interior of Little Vienna Bakery to be authentically European; complete with new full-length Baroque-style mirrors, gold chandeliers, ornate crown mouldings, period-correct furniture, and a collection of hand-painted Austrian murals by world-renowned French artist Philippe Metaireau who was specially commissioned for the bakery. To help bring the inside ambiance to the outdoors, the owners have also developed a stunning 600 square foot paving-stone courtyard complete with a beautifully ornate 3 tiered Italianate fountain, all set within the expansive raised flower gardens on the bakery grounds. Whether it’s crepes for breakfast with a loved one, lunch with a group of friends, or a coffee and dessert with a good book, everyone is welcome to enjoy the beautiful spaces that have been created at Little Vienna Bakery. Please come by and have an incredible experience where all your senses will be stimulated!
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Delightful refreshment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My friend and I were just out exploring our own backyard (we live in Victoria), and decided to stop for a little refreshment. We were met by a very friendly owner, who helped us decide what we wanted. I had the amazing broccoli salad, and then one of the equally amazing Schnecke with a very good cup of coffee made especially for me (I am a coffee snob) with the Umbria coffee. We sat outside on the patio, in the sunshine, surrounded by beautiful flowers and a great atmosphere. I would most definitely stop by again, and would recommend you go out of your way to do the same.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SisterhoodMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I am glad you found us and am thrilled you enjoyed the Umbria brand coffee. For the first ten years we carried the Oughtred brand coffee and developed a very strong following. We are pleased to continue offering Oughtred, and in the past few months also began offering Umbria to Little Vienna Bakery's customers.
Like you, I too am a "coffee snob" and so am excited to grow our local marketshare with the Umbria brand.
Hope to see you exploring your "own backyard" again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    47
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic STop for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Gorgeous little cafe right in town. Decorated like a cafe in Europe. The coffee was fantastic, the croissant breakfast sandwich delicious. The service and conversation with the owner was excellent. The outdoor patio was gorgeous with flowers in bloom and hidden from the road. Highly recommend this place!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meldebunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for your kind review. Our outdoor courtyard set amidst our beautiful flower gardens is a huge draw for people, and with our three tiered fountain bubbling away and a latte in hand, many feel transported to far away places!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy for my tummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Saw it off to the side of the road. Don't pass it by. Excellent home made deliciousness. They know how to make a great cup of java. Wonderful pastries. We ended up ordering extra strudel with whipped cream and we had already had a cinnamon roll. Customer service was friendly and on top of it. Wish I had one back home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Yummy indeed! Your timing was excellent as we just had our new espresso machine installed, which really does help in creating the perfect cup every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So Delicious & Accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

As a travelling couple we are dietary challenges to a lot of cafes we go to being a vegetarian + vegan couple. The staff at Little Vienna were so accommodating we had one of the most memorable meals of our week long trip here. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank iLOVEtoEXPLORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We so very much appreciate our customers with dietary restrictions because it helps us "raise our bar" in regards to offering a greater variety of specialty products to a wider demographic. Thanks for visiting Little Vienna Bakery and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tempting goodies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Fantastic place for breakfast, brunch or lunch, if if your on the run, grab it to go. Snacks and cakes are absolutely fantastic...one of my favourite eateries in Sooke. Happy friendly staff make the place a must if you find yourself in Sooke.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Subsea_Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the gracious review!
As a regular customer I know you are witness to the great efforts put in on a daily basis by us as "hands-on" owners as well as by our wonderful staff. A high level of customer service, the best possible products, and the creation of a welcoming atmosphere are a few of the main philosophies we strive towards each day, as we want to make sure everyone's experience at Little Vienna Bakery is excellent.
We are very proud of the fact that our efforts do seem to be appreciated by customers such as yourself, as we were recently a finalist for the Sooke Region Chamber of Commerce "Business of the Year" category as nominated by the residents of Sooke. This is a huge honour for us, in particular because we won "Business of the Year" last year and are pleased to again be placed amongst the best in Sooke!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing