We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club - CLOSED

Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club
Price range: US$42 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Chef Marcus worked with my dietary struggles and prepared wonderful meals using organic herbs from his own garden and local foods grown on the island.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Public Relations Manager at Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We're happy that we were able to accommodate your meal preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    9
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love Love Love”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We go to Markus' for dinner about twice a year for anniversaries etc. He never disappoints. The meals and wine are always outstanding. Markus' is absolutely our favourite restaurant. We just ate lunch here for the first time yesterday and it was fantastic, as expected. If you are in the Sooke area I would highly recommend this restaurant. Also don't miss the panna cotta, it is to die for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Westcoast4866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Manager at Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're happy you enjoyed your lunch experience, it's our new venture. And thank you for choosing us to dine with on your special occasions. We know there are many great places to dine at in our area, and we truly appreciate you visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochranville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fresh and Local Gastro Experience”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We felt welcome from the staff even though we brought our 10 year old daughter and some adult diners gave us the eyeball .....we all appreciate culinary excellence and the experience was extraordinary...Chef Marcus brought our main course to the table,the selected Vancouver Island wine was perfect with my meal, Chef also picked ingredients from his garden while we dined, the raspberries were the best we ever had out of this world. A trip to this boutique restaurant is worth the price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McCawfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Manager at Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to our establishment. We truly appreciate your kind words, and very glad you & your daughter enjoyed your dining experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant on Vancouver Island”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We've been going to Markus' every summer for the past few years. This summer they've switched over to a 3-course fixed menu for dinner and have started to offer lunch too. We went for dinner. I was disappointed to see the grilled romaine salad wasn't on the fixed menu on the night we went, but since it was on the lunch menu they very nicely made it for me as part of dinner. With their recent remodel it looks like the number of tables has decreased so its very important to get reservations, we saw at least 6 couples without reservations turned away while we were dining.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank knobchouck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Manager at Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, and for returning to dine with us these past 3 years. We truly appreciate your loyalty. We're very happy we were able to accommodate your request. It's very gratifying knowing guests return for specific menu items that we've created. We wish you safe travels and an enjoyable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The evening meal is a set menu with a few choices for appy, main and dessert. You must have reservations as there are only 4 tables in the main dining room. Lunch appeared to have many more choices and was not a set menu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, Manager at Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment positively about your visit, we greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing