We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ew”
Review of Otterpoint Bakery and Tea Room - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Otterpoint Bakery and Tea Room
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ew”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We were so eager for baked goods after eating some of the Little Vienna Bakery bread at Stone Pipe Grill. It was closed, unfortunately, so we stopped in at Otter Point which was right next door to Stone Pipe. Immediately upon entering we knew we had made a mistake, but the owner came right up and started trying to really sell us hard on the random few stale looking goods he had in the case. Fortunately for us, he announced he only took cash (visa machine was sitting right there), so we were able to get out quickly. Not really sure what was going on in there, but it didn't look appetizing. Had much better luck with baked goods at the local grocery.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frances1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Disappointed by food quality. Chocolate chip cookies had 2 or 3 chips per cookie. Service was very disappointing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasCrapsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not worth the disappointment. Go to the market.”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I were looking for a light lunch after whale watching and stopped in the first bakery we saw. Nothing had prices on it, very poor looking selection, and just an overall uneasiness over the quality of a bakery it was. We were both hungry so we forged ahead and ordered a piece of carrot cake and a brownie. It came to $8.50!!! We were on vacation and in order to avoid a hassle or complication I bit my lip and took it being a bit over priced. We chose to sit in the car and eat and the food ended up being terrible. My wife's "brownie" was just a terrible mixture of icing, some nuts and some actually brownie squished together and melted. My carrot cake was ok but was definitely not made in the past couple days. We should have avoided the bakery and gone to the Market (where we inevitably ended up) to purchase better snacks and treats. There is also another bakery in the next plaza down that could only be better.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stopped in to pick up family treats. Little selection and the cookies were stale.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CathiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
192 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Stale Bakery”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Facing a road closure on a Sunday morning, we stopped in for a few bakery treats and buns for our lunch; the other bakery in Sooke is closed on Sunday's.
The treats: cinnamon bun, date square, Nanaimo bar, and a chocolate cheesecake like bar that the owner did not know the contents of (he thought the white bits inside were nuts but was not sure!) were ok but not particularly fresh and were quite expensive.
The cheese buns for our lunch were "fresh baked" but tasted 3 days old.
We got samosas too and they were quite good.
Stick with their specialties (samosas) and skip the baked goods, just not worth it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WithFamilyWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otterpoint Bakery and Tea Room also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing