We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!”
Review of Stone Pipe Grill

Stone Pipe Grill
Ranked #14 of 50 Restaurants in Sooke
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am happy to recommend this restaurant in Sooke.Our cycling group of 13 headed over to the Stone Pipe Grill for dinner after a long day on the road. Service was good - food was excellent - and everyone was very impressed! Well done Stone Pipe Grill!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larsonc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    100
    29
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We'll see how it is next time...”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

At the beginning of August every year, Sooke hosts the largest juried art show in western Canada. Sooke Fine Arts means at least three trips out from Victoria, about a 1 hour drive each way, as there are a number of events to attend. My friends an I usually have dinner in Sooke as part of the outing. This time we chose Stone Pipe Grill. The restaurant was well reviewed on this very site and recommended by friends from the area.
Our feelings are decidedly mixed! The greeting was friendly and we were shown to a corner table under a window, much appreciated as there was no AC and it was a very warm evening. Water was served and then we waited long enough to comment before our server came by. We ordered and again waited just a little too long for our meals. Our busboy had clearly been pressed into emergency service and spilled water all over table and floor before retreating flustered after only filling one glass! One friend ordered off the special sheet and liked her entrée. I had the Pad Thai, which I quite enjoyed. My other friend ordered fish and chips and noted that it was overdone, though the fries were excellent... We were tempted by the desert menu, but decided against ordering as the meal had already taken longer than we had allotted and we had Art to pick up and work the next morning. It also took a long time to pay, so our decision was probably the right one!
On the mitigating side, they were busy and clearly having staff issues, so, since the food (or at least, two out of three) was very nice, we will try Stone Pipe again. Average for now, but I think it might be better next time!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family Fare”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hidden away on the corner of Sooke Rd and Otter Point Rd this restaurant is a gem. Superb service, luscious food, reasonably priced. We were a party of 14 and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Try the curry!

On another occasion Sooke Rd was closed due to a fire and people streamed into The Stone Pipe Grill. The hostess, waitresses and chefs were totally unfazed and coped with the influx most professionally.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochranville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place for anyone”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We ate at Stone pipe Grill 3 times while staying in the area, the service was upbeat and welcoming the food was very good at every meal and my husband enjoyed the featured local brews.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McCawfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
196 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Incredible food!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

While driving through the Sooke area on a recent trip to BC, we happened upon this restaurant. And what surprise -- the best food we had on our trip. The meat was tender and tasty, the salads crisp and fresh. A definite must, and a s short drive from Victoria.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stone Pipe Grill also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Stone Pipe Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing