We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi On The Sea is Sooke's most unique sea-level dining experience!”
Review of Sushi On The Sea - CLOSED

Sushi On The Sea
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sushi On The Sea is Sooke's most unique sea-level dining experience!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Sushi specialist Kari Osselton creates hand-crafted miso soup and special combination rolls with yummy ingredients while veteran ships-Captain and wharfinger Ralph Hull hosts a mix of guests from far away places like Calgaria and Wet Vancouver in the communal dining cabin aboard the antique motor-sailing vessel 'Rolano'.

We give it a 'Let's Go' rating for the Sushi with kudos for an absolutely unique dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoLetsNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Awesome!!!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Over 3 visits to visit with Kari and Ralph with family and friends, we couldn't get enough of Kari's sushi and Ralph's personality (ie Old English)!

We couldn't have had more fun on ROLANO and can't wait for our next visit. Visiting family all agreed that it was "the highlight of their trip".

An excellent value in addition to incredible service and impossible to beat ambiance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An experience like no other...”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Being from Vancouver, we've had our fill of sushi places but after trying this place a few days ago we just can't stop talking about it. Highly recommend it for anyone travelling in or near Sooke. Capt. Ralph was absolutely adorable and many kudos to the sushi Chef, Kari. The candied salmon and yam roll is now one of my top favorite rolls of all time :) Thank you for a great time!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mekye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
“The Best Sushi Ever!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Amazing! Melt in your mouth fresh and is the best sushi we have ever had. Cozy seating and the service was excellent! Captain Ralph is a true host! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing experience all the way around!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We came for the sushi and left planning our next visit. This is by far the best sushi we've ever had!! The unique setting coupled with unbelievable value & wonderful hosts Captain Ralph & Kari made this a wonderful night out for our families. Thank you Captain Ralph & Kari...looking forward to our next visit with you.

Ball & McPherson families.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi On The Sea also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing