We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying to be a Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Saint-Germain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint-Germain
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rimouski
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Trying to be a Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

After you find this hotel and realize that it is sandwiched between parking lots and unattractive buildings (although steps away from downtown), you arrive in the "lobby" (really just a tiny area with a desk and a phone that we had to use to call someone to check in) and then you aren't actually certain you're in the right place. After receiving instructions, from the friendly young man who checked us in, on how to use the magnet to allow access to their parking lot (yes, it is unpaved--and you get there through a plastic sheeting at the door that makes one wonder if it truly is a valid entrance/exit), we rode the small elevator up to our room. Once we were inside, we were impressed. It was huge. Wish we had brought food to cook in the lovely kitchenette (well stocked). Loved the Keurig coffee maker. The elevated glass table with 4 tall chairs gave the room a funky look. There was a large screen TV mounted on the wall by the table. Although small, the bathroom with its classy glass sink and modern faucets added to the boutique feel. The beds were deliciously comfortable--all except the black wooden edging that my daughter banged her foot against getting into bed--not really sure why it's there. I would be remiss if I did not mention the view of the St Lawrence across the street. We took the opportunity to walk along the boardwalk to get a closer look, then wandered around in the small town. Very pleasant. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MomDtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    66
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
84
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Others have said it....the room is worth it once you get to it. Thank goodness, I had read the reviews about people being "put off" by the entrance, lobby, and parking lot. Still my heart sank when we drove up. However, the staff member was very courteous as he checked us in and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. Once we got to our room and saw how large and clean it was, we were okay. It even had a kitchen and a dining area for the breakfast they delivered to our room. All of the furnishings were very modern.
With so little effort, they could make this a wonderful place. Pave the parking lot (really? A dirt parking lot for a hotel in a small city?). Then, remove all the plastic around the entrance into the building from the parking lot. Lighten and brighten the lobby and the hallways. Wash the windows (we had a great view of the bay...through a filthy window across another parking lot).
Just a comment...if you like a very firm bed with thick but very firm pillows, then you will happy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

As others have said the building will not win any architectural beauty prizes. We also struggled to actually find it, the surrounding side streets and car parks are a bit confusing. A bigger sign outside the hotel door might have helped. However once inside, the gentleman on reception could not have been more helpful. He explained how to get into their private parking area and the key arrangements after hours. It appears that hotel rooms only comprise a few floors of this apartment building. There is a lift. Once inside we found our very spacious room, with a view of the shore and the church ( and the adjoining building roof). The room was huge, and well equipped - fridge, coffee machine, desk, dining table, crockery & cutlery etc. The bathroom was slightly odd (only a shower, no tub) and a window from the shower facing into the room ! There was a venetian blind to give privacy when sharing. Breakfast in the basket was actually fine, muffin, croissant, juice, tin of fruit, yoghurt, cheese and jam. Overall very pleasant & very good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samcat392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were put onto the highest floor so we could have the view of the river we had been promised, but that part of the hotel hadn't been completed we were sort on suspended in time and place. The façade of the hotel is totally unprepossessing--ugly, if I may say so, and it is adjacent to several parking lots and a building that hides the hotels views of the river from the lower floors, although we did have the promised view of the boardwalk and rive because we were on the 6th floor. The room was large and felt sterile. I don't know how I will be when it's finished but somehow they have to warm up the cold atmosphere and get ride of the strange smell. Breakfast was a riot--2 large baskets were left on a plank outside the room at the time we had requested. Within them were a whole bunch of things we would never eat--sweetened jam-filled yogurt, colored muffins (one red and one blue-ish) from a fast food joint across the street, a croissant shaped sweet bun, packaged cheese that says cheddar on the label but that is processed. . The whole thing was very pretty but aside from the orange juice in a box, basically inedible. (There's excellent coffee and a good coffee maker in the room's kitchen which was a blessing!) Too bad because about a block away is a wonderful food court with excellent offerings, from artisanal cheeses to wonderful home made breads that are so prevalent in Quebec these days. Staff tried to be helpful, and parking was free, which is a nice touch.

Room Tip: The higher the better if you want a view of anything other than parking lots and other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FSH_203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I know it doesn't look great from the exterior and there is practically no lobby, but this place is a gem. The rooms are large, very comfortable and immaculately clean.Add to this that the place could not be more central and the staff is always pleasant and you have what every traveller wants: a nice hotel at a very good price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The room is large, cute quiet and has a full kitchen. There are wood floor but there was a very strong unpleasant smell like a room with old carpet. It was impossible to open the window because it was the place of the A/C. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Overnight stay en route to the PEI. As others have said, what is lacking in curb appeal this hotel makes up for once you settle in. Very spacious, wonderful amenities, comfortable bed. plus PERFECT location to stretch your legs after a long day in the car. Lots of fun patios and friendly locals. Would definitely stay again if ever back through Rimouski.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shari c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rimouski hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rimouski
Hotel Rimouski
#1 of 15 in Rimouski
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotels Gouverneur Rimouski
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Navigateur
Hotel Le Navigateur
#4 of 15 in Rimouski
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rimouski
Comfort Inn Rimouski
#9 of 15 in Rimouski
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel l'Empress
Hotel l'Empress
#8 of 15 in Rimouski
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
10.1 mi away
Auberge des Iles du Bic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-Germain

Property: Hotel Le Saint-Germain
Address: 126, rue de Vimy | 126, rue de Vimy, Rimouski, Quebec G5L 3J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Rimouski
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rimouski
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Saint-Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Germain is a contemporary style, comfort, cozy, sophisticated atmosphere and personalized exclusive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Saint-Germain Rimouski, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing