We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great public areas, rooms not up to par”
Review of Hotel Rimouski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rimouski
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rimouski
Reviewed 10 April 2014

public areas are nice with lots of natural light thanks to the huge skylight. liked the lobby, mezzanine with meeting rooms and seating and also the pool with spa and waterslide. The staff in reception, restaurant and bar are all very nice. WiFi is also very reliable. I rate it 4 stars.

However the room was just OK (3 stars). Comfortable beds with nice linen and new comforters are the only plus, the rest of the room is outdated with wallpaper, old closet located in a too dark entryway and an awful beige color with paint chipping in some places. Small bathroom but I would not mind if there were no mildew because of the too old tiles joints (not much but still discusting). Toilettery set is nice with lots of items (quality was also better than most):
- conditioning shampoo
- body lotion
- 2 different type of soap (fine soap and purifying soap)
- shower gel
- vanity kit (cotton swabs, cotton balls, nail file)
- shower cap
- mending kit
- shoe polish cloth

My room had a window to the pool area, no outside view.

I would not hesitate to return to this hotel for business or stop there for a night if I had kids but definitely not for a romantic getaway. Removing the wallpaper, fresh paint and new tile joints in rooms would help this hotel tremendously.

Room Tip: Some rooms have indoor view to pool area, others with city view and some on the water ( I don't...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jp2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRimouski, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rimouski, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We take all your comments into account in order to improve our products and every aspect of the establishment. Great renovations and upgrades into our rooms are planned in 2014.

We are very glad you appreciated your stay and the profesional service of our employees. We will share your comments with them because they are very important in our success.

Thank you again and we look foward to welcoming you in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rimouski
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Well spotted in Rimouski. Cool if you have kids, there is a nice indoor pool with a uge slide. Price is good but rooms need a refresh. The tiles in the bathroom were old and some of them cracked. Rooms are big and you have a small fridge ideal for your six pack of beers. Not so quiet in rooms, I could hear people talking next door. (Not screaming)

Overall pretty good place but needs some improvement.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank crccrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Given the limited standard hotel options in Rimouski, this would probably rank as one of the top offering locally. It is not a young place but has many pleasant features


What I liked: Large premium rooms (suites) available for a small extra and representing tremendous value. Friendly and knowledgeable staff throughout the hotel. Food on-site is good, although a bit pricey. On-site catering for events is top notch. Room was clean and everything was in working order. Reliable wifi/internet. Next to the water so great views for sunsets... Full-service hotel including gym and pool

What to watch for could be improved: Although well maintained, the décor is a tad dated and the room assigned lacked natural lighting (and overall, lighting was a weakness). This is not a young hotel and I am sure that they are trying their best to keep it up to date but it will likely require major upgrades in 5 years or so. Also, given the size and layout of the room, temperature control was a bit of an issue where you had to crank up the heat to keep it bearable in the work area (sleeping area was fine).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRimouski, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rimouski, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and to announce that many renovations and upgrades are coming soon, this spring at the hotel.

All our suites will be outfitted with new bedbases, mattresses, comforters and curtains. We are also looking on brand-new floor options. Guests are going to love the upcoming changes!

Once again, we thank you and we do look foward to welcoming you back during your next trip to our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have stayed a few times in this hotel and expect to stay there again, rates are reasonable and it I always get a good sleep there which is my nuber one concern. There is a touch of Fawlty Towers about the place but I always find the staff helpful. It is a good location.

Room Tip: ask if they can give you a room at the back (they seem to be bigger and very quiet but I knever had...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Have stayed at two different hotels and a B and B in Rimouski. Hotel Rimouski is the better hotel but certainly no better thsn average. Room had poor ventilation, very humid (water on window ledges all the time) and temp could not be turned below 20C for sleeping at night. Internet signal was poor and inconsistent since we were in a room on third floor at the far end of the hallway.
If you have to stay in Rimouski, despite these criticisms, this is your best bet.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auxiliary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Checked into this hotel with fairly low expectations, given the budget we were on. However, the room was amazing - a proper suite, with a fabulously comfortable bed! They also had a huge indoor pool and waterslide, but we never sampled this.

We did, however, spend an evening at the bar, and the bar tender was great. Was happy to stay back and keep the bar open longer, as we were all still drinking. Thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juicyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Good and efficient staff - Surprisingly large rooms which I suspect comes from being an older hotel. Excellent buffet breakfast with attentive mature staff. Great location across from the river wall walk/bike path. A brisk 15 minute hike will get you into the charming town center.

Room Tip: 5015 was a good top floor room. High enough to look beyond the pool and carpark and watch the sunset...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RENTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rimouski hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotels Gouverneur Rimouski
Hotels Gouverneur Rimouski
#12 of 16 in Rimouski
447 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Rimouski
Comfort Inn Rimouski
#7 of 16 in Rimouski
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Germain
Hotel Le Saint-Germain
#3 of 16 in Rimouski
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Navigateur
Hotel Le Navigateur
#5 of 16 in Rimouski
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel l'Empress
Hotel l'Empress
#8 of 16 in Rimouski
28 reviews
1.9 mi away
Motel Colonial
Motel Colonial
#11 of 16 in Rimouski
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rimouski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rimouski

Address: 225 Boulevard Rene Lepage East, Rimouski, Quebec G5L 1P2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Rimouski
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rimouski
Price Range: £74 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rimouski 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rimouski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rimouski Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing