We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay stunk”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Radium Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Radium Valley Vacation Resort
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our stay stunk”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

During our stay the staff neglected to inform us that the grounds had a known skunk problem. We found this out the hard way!!!!!! The owner Wayne did come down talk with us his response to our concerns of not not being informed on check in was " not his problem " he was under no obligation to inform people that a skunk problem existed or to inform people if a bear or cougar were in the park. He was not concerned as nobody had been bitten yet. This attitude has proven costly for me as my trailer is a write-off and grooming costs ( yes my dogs were on leash as per park rules ) I found the attitude not only negligent but rude.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wade N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    1
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge Alberta
Level Contributor
216 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We bought a week here through RCI last minutes. Very nice size place . We had a three bedroom two bathroom house. Very roomy , this alot better than a studio we always get at Meadowlake Resort. We packed enough food and drinks to be able to cook right in our unit . Everything worked fine. We felt very safe here , gated code for entry . We had deer outside our unit most days to watch. The main building, we used the hot tub most evenings. This is low season , so it felt like we had the place to our selves. Hopefully we will be able to return here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have week 27 for one of the vacation houses for six years now and love it. My wife's parents have had one for about a decade or more. The family atmosphere there is amazing. Kids ride their bikes everywhere and parents feel safe to let them. Playgrounds and the two pools top everything off. You can be as social as you want or not at all. We have invited different friends and their families to join us and everyone wants to come the next year. The views are hard to beat in the valley as well as the people. We will be using our timeshare for a very long time to come.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have owned a week 52 for the past 5 years. The units are single family detached chalets with 3 bedroom 2 full baths insuite laundry fireplace and large deck with gas bar-b-q. It sleeps 8 comfortably. the rooms are spacious. The clubhouse has an indoor pool and hot tub as well as a well stocked library/games room/lounge. Deer, Rabbits,Hawks, Wild Turkeys and Big Horned Sheep are seen regularly. We are there in the winter so know little of the summer activities. We vacation numerous times each each year, cruises, Cuba, San Diego yet the one our family ( 4 adults and 2 teenagers) look forward to the most is our Radium week.The staff is friendly and caring and the setting is awesome. We all agree that this could be our ideal year round home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEREK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, AB
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Radium Valley Vacation Resort includes timeshare units and RV Sites. The timeshare units are interspersed among privately owned homes and cottages. It's actually like being in a vacation subdivision! The units are self contained, 3 bedroom units probably constructed in the 60's! However, they are in good condition, clean and equipped with a fully equipped kitchen and laundry. The beds were reasonably comfortable. Unit has a fireplace for cooler winter nights. Propane BBQ on large sheltered patio with patio furniture. First impression is that the unit is rather rustic but it's like visiting Grandma in the 60's! The owners are in the process of demolishing and reconstructing some units. When this process is complete, complemented by the newer recreation facilities c/w with a large outdoor pool, a heated indoor pool, hot tub, recreation building and large covered picnic area, this resort could garner a four star rating.
During the first week of September, 2013, my wife and I were invited by a friend to accompany him to the three bedroom unit which he obtained through RCI. We enjoyed our stay very much, making day trips into the Canadian Rockies and sightseeing in Radium and environs including the world famous Hot and odourless Radium Hot Springs! ! There are a number of world class restaurants nearby including Helna's Stube, (see my Tripadvisor review) which features excellent Austrian cuisine! The RVVR is an ideal home base to discover this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CanuckRedDeer_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheney, Wa
Level Contributor
421 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We could see how nice the RV sites they had there were, and their reputation is probably well warrented in that regard. My review is for their RCI properties and the overall feel for the place. They were wonderful. Granted, our stay was in an off-season so I cannot give an opinion of how RVVR would be when they are full to the gills. But these nice folks are so genuinely caring about their travelers, it's hard to not think that it all wouldn't be just as special. Our house was big, warm, comfortable, and perfect for a large family. There was a want for nothing. My wife's uterus almost fell out when she saw her master-bath jet tub. Tons of things to do in their very clean recreation center, and if the kids say there's nothing to do, tell them to state their case to the many beautiful big horn sheep tip-toeing through the gated grounds. This was the best week my family has had since we have been enjoying RCI properties during the Yank Thanksgiving week. There are bargains to be had out here people, and I highly recommend to all Yanks in upper WA/ID/MT area to consider this wonderful place for their vacation plans. Bravo, Radium Valley Resort. You'll have to put up with my family again. And I know you'll do it with a smile...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcleff11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Although we did call numerous times and our messages were not returned, we did finally make contact and arranged reservations for the day that we were planning on arriving. The desk clerk was friendly and helpful on the phone. We arrived with no surprises. Check in was fairly quick and uneventful. Our RV site was easily accessible. The only thing that was a bit annoying was we had asked several times (with our unanswered calls) for a quiet private campsite as we wanted some privacy for our romantic getaway that we were planning. Regardless of our request, they parked us right beside another RV and the campground was almost empty. We could hear the neighbor swearing at times, but we ignored it. The next day we were happy to see our easily-annoyed neighbors leave. But to OUR annoyance, the following day another RV had been assigned to the site beside ours. Again, the campground had maybe 3 other RV's in the entire campground and they had to put us together???

We only looked at the indoor pool and hot tub. Although they looked very nice and clean, we decided to spend our time at the nearby hot springs instead.

We saw big-horned-sheep on the campground and had a limited view of the mountains from our couch in the RV. Very nice. The campground was very quiet, other than the odd curse word coming from our neighbor's site of course!

We are planning on going back again next summer, only we will make sure to make reservations before we leave (we're prepared to spend a day calling until we contact someone), and make sure that we get one of the sites at the very front of the campground. They are back-in only style sites, but the views are amazing!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jewlesmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radium Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
9.1 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#1 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radium Valley Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radium Valley Vacation Resort

Property: Radium Valley Vacation Resort
Address: 7274 Radium Valley Road, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Hotel Class:4 star — Radium Valley Vacation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Radium Valley Vacation Hotel Radium Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing