We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We needed to change our travel plans due to the flooding in southern Alberta this week. We had booked with the Cedar Motel through an online reservation service. The motel owners waived the cancellation fee for us. Very kind of them, especially considering that the flooding was no doubt playing havoc with their normal traffic and revenues. Will definitely stay there on our next trip to the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_and_B_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    49
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nm
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had such a wonderful time here! The owners Ed and Astrid were pleasant and helpful. Their place is clean and we had a good nights rest. There was a guest who happened to be there that night who brought his alphorn with him. You could close your eyes and imagine you were in the alps. We asked about big horn sheep, and they told us where we could find them. They were right off the road, but it wasn't noisy.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs room nearer the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Stayed at the property in September'2012 and was pleasantly suprised by the size of the rooms. Amenities were basic and as per standards of motels in North America.
Reception was helpful and friendly, ready to even offer us towels to carry to the hot springs.
The room even included a small kitchenette adding to the utility of the room.
Value for money being the highlight of the motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akhilbansal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Prairie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Ed and Astrid own this and are very friendly people.The rooms are so clean and comfortable.The bed was fantastic and if I needed a toaster or anything it was provided.This was a single bed room.The price was fantastic.You could always get a conversation with Ed or Astrid if you wanted to.Just a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I have rated this as a simple stay in a motel which leaves you the feeling that you have saved some money but in a place that is very adequate, therefore VG for a motel. We were pleasantly greeted and welcomed by the owner/host. The room was very clean with a very homey European touch. The beds were very comfortable, the linens felt great and the comforter was just that..very "comforting" to allow a refreshing sleep. The bathroom was tight but very clean..what else do you need for one night. Behind the rooms is a connecting patio deck with BBQs, tables and chairs. Therefore, being tight in the rooms, allows you to visit on the patio deck for a night cap or two. Radium does not feature a lot of upscale hotels or motels, but this property was a nice overnight stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyRider99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Ed and Astrid own and operate this hotel and they are two of the nicest people. But nice is only good if the place you are staying in is clean and comfortable. The Cedar Motel is great. The rooms are cozy and modern in appearance. Everything was super clean and there is a heater and a/c unit in the room so you can get the temperature just right, no matter what is happening (weather-wise) outside. Water pressure in the shower was excellent and the tap water was superb for drinking. Very fresh and clean tasting. The wifi worked very well and the TV had a lot of channels. My room had a fridge, microwave and coffee pot.

There are many places you can stay in Radium, but I don't think you'll find a better value for your money than this "Mom and Pop" owned and run motel. It was comfortable, quiet, and within walking distance of restaurants and a grocery store. The national park entrance was only about a mile away, so very close and accessible.

Room Tip: If you have disabilities that make walking difficult, request a room on the first floor as the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frog4aday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked this direct with the hotel the day before we wanted to stay and had no problems. Based upon what I had read I was expecting basic / budget accommodation. To be honest, the room was much better than I expected.

The staff are friendly and helpful, our room was large and very very clean. It had a modern bathroom, very large bed, microwave, air conditioning, fridge and a coffee machine. The free wifi was fast and reliable. Plenty of parking spaces available out the front of the motel.

We had a really good nights sleep here, the bed was very comfortable and the location was very quiet.

I would definitely stay here again, and probably will on our return journey. Cedars motel charge a very competitive rate, especially for the peak summer season and it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#1 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel Tyrol
Motel Tyrol
#9 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Motel

Property: Cedar Motel
Address: 7593 Main Street West | P.O. Box 157, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cedar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing