We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful flowers and wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpen Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpen Motel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Glace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful flowers and wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Second time staying here about five years apart and will keep returning.
Rooms are nice and clean and the flowers make it beautiful.

Management very considerate a she brought a phone book to help us find a room for the next night in Cranbrook and brought out cushions when we sat on the Adirondack chairs out front.

The only thing we saw the owner fellow chase away was big horn sheep eating the flowers and I can empathize, since a lot of work goes into keeping the grounds beautiful.

The only reason I did not rate it excellent was because nothing is perfect, the showers could be a little gentler.

Free pool passes are great

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nautical2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    28
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel caught our eye as we were driving down the hill towards the town. We decided that if the rooms were as neat and tidy inside as the motel is outside we were in luck. The room was spotless. When we checked in we received passes for the pool and towels to use at the pool. The bed could be updated with something softer but that could be just me. The manager was very helpful when we asked about the local restaurants. If you want a nice, clean place to stay for an excellent price this is it.

Room Tip: The upper floor view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Had not stayed here before and found Alpen to be a great little place on the highway.

Clean, convenient and reasonably priced. It was exactly as I expected upon arrival and did not disappoint.

Parking was good and it is convenient to most amenities in Radium.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Needs an upgrade, but I only paid $79 and got 3 pool passes, so what the heck! Motel owners need to think about upgrading their 1970's look.

Spent an hour trying to get the internet to work; no such luck...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSRW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Manager at Alpen Motel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. We are aware that the rooms are dated, and have begun to update them, however this will take time to fully achieve. We believe that people will forgive the datedness(?) if we provide a clean and comfortable room, and friendly service. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties logging onto the internet. Usually this means that we need to reset the modem. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronation
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

I have only been to Radium twice, very beautiful place to visit but had an experience that was unsettling that I want to share. I had inadvertantly missed my turn so I pulled throught the Alpen Motel to turn around, management followed me to where I was staying and told me off - he was very upset that I had turned around at his establishment - I apologized many times, advising I was from out of the province, missed my turn - did not mean to upset him etc, etc, and he just carried on - advising I was packing the snow down and to go further up the hill if I had to turn around. So....due to the blantant rudeness shown towards me I will NEVER consider staying at this establishment nor refer anyone else there either.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Manager at Alpen Motel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
I am truly sorry that you had to endure what sounds to me like verbal abuse. This happens to be a pet peeve of my husbands, and you were unfortunate enough to be the recipient of his ire. Many locals use our parking lot to turn around, and often do so at some speed. During the warmer months our dog likes to lay on the pavement and soak up the sun. Sounds like a recipe for disaster doesn't it? I hope that your comments make my husband realize that his actions do have reprecussions. Once again, my deepest apologies for his rude behaviour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Booked 5 rooms for a family reunion. A perfect and central place to explore all that the area has to offer. The BBQ area and tables were arranged for our party to have a get together dinner which was fabulous. A small park across the street for dog walking, and walking distance to the springs, shopping, restaurants, and some tourist activities. The Alpen is exceptionally clean, and the owners went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

This is a nice clean motel on the main street to the hot springs. The owners are very friendly and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. When we checked in we got 2 passes to the Hot Springs which were well appreciated. The bed was a bit firm but not too bad.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank auntylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#1 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radium Chalet
Radium Chalet
#11 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Motel

Property: Alpen Motel
Address: 5022 Highway 93 | P.O. Box 6, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpen Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing