We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disaster”
Review of Sunset Motel

Sunset Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Motel
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disaster”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

There is a renovated side and also some "cabins" which are portables divided into 4 extremely shabby rooms. We had to be moved into one of the renovated rooms because the shower in the "cabin" was completely nonfunctional (no hot water, rotting floor covered with mold) and the owners refused to see anything wrong with that.

Room Tip: If you must stay, specify a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unmikely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    4
    4
    11
See reviews for
8
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
marietta GA
Level Contributor
637 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

rooms were clean, but a bit small - due mostly to teh age of the property, a typical 1950's sized hotel room.
Was there for a very short overnight stay, did not try the wifi, but it was advertised.
room had fridge and microwave in it.
right in the center of the tonw and off the main street, so it was quiet and close to restaurants
Nothing bad to say, but nothing outstanding to note either

now a bit of a rant...

I booked this through priceline, mostly for a good rate (about $65) but also because i wanted to stay in one of the little motor hotel rooms that they have. These are like the classic motor court cottages that used to be popular, especially up and down the east coast prior to the advent of interstate travel.
the booking thorugh priceline had a bit of glitch in it, and i was only able to get a cottage that had a max occupancy of 2 ppl. I called and talked to the owners (wife) and she explained the glitch and that i had to stay in the motel section of property because the 2 bedroom units were $129 a night, and i was not able or wiling to pay double just stay in one of the cottages. She implied that she may let me stay in one if one was empty when i arrived since it was slow season, but when i arrived i was only offered the motel room by the husband - or pay 129$ a night for the empty 2 bedroom cottage.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I've stayed at the Sunset Motel a few times. This was my fourth trip to the Radium area and my fourth stay there. I think the rooms are charming. We take a kitchenette each time and the owners seem to think of everything that you would need for your stay. The beds were comfortable and the owners are always friendly and helpful. During our summer viistis they've put on a BBQ for their guests and they couldn't do enough to make our visit a great experience.
The motel is located a short drive to Panorama and of course having the hot springs so close was a nice activity after a day of skiing.
We think the motel is an excellent value and we will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beansolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

My family and I stayed here at the sunset motel in november, I have never seen more friendly owners then these people. They treated us like we were there family. The rooms were spotless, the grounds were kept up very nicely, I was very impressed that we could not smell smoke in the room.Because I know it don't matter how many times you tell guests they can not smoke you still get those jerks that do it anyways, which is very frusterating for owners as well as other guest. I think the price is awsome and would stay here everytime i return to radium area. I would recomend this motel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spunkygirl699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I stayed at the Sunset at the end of August/09 for the first time. The room was very clean and tidy. The manager, Heidi was very friendly and made me feel right at home from the time I arrived. The grounds were very well looked after, with a BBQ to fix a nice meal. I would recommend this friendly motel to anyone!

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank winlawgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The actual rooms aren't bad- if all your looking for is a cheap hotel. However, for the price they charge, they should be cleaner. The beds are terribly lumpy, and our room reaked of smoke. They claim this hotel is non-smoking but I suspect otherwise.

Our room also contained a kitchenette, however, it was also a little suspect. Mix matched glasses, and plates- appears they just picked up the kitchen items at a thrift store.

In summary, lots of other places to stay in this area, try somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gotama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Radium Hot Springs hotels

bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

the rooms are tiny. there's no phone. they advertise that they have internet access but you have to pay extra for it. the owner made me feel like i was an inconvenience. there's a lot of places in this town to choose from so i'd suggest going elsewhere.

Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank travlin_dude09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Bavaria
Motel Bavaria
#19 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gables Motel
Gables Motel
#17 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crescent Motel
Crescent Motel
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Motel
Cedar Motel
#10 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Springs Motel
Mountain Springs Motel
#13 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 4883 McKay Street, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing