We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay, comfortable clean and you won't leave broke.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Motel

Sunset Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Motel
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
638 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay, comfortable clean and you won't leave broke.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is an old fashioned, family owned and operated hotel, with guest cabins for those wanting something a little more homey. The place was spotlessly clean, the management bending over backwards to make sure we were comfortable. The hotel is located so you can park your car, and walk to everything you want to see and do in Radium, save the hot springs themselves. e had a relaxed comfortable evening for a fair price.

Room Tip: This is not a spa hotel, and if that's what you are expecting this isn't the place. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    4
    4
    11
See reviews for
8
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sunset Motel for May long weekend. Although the accommodations are outdated and small, for the price, it was a good deal! The owners were extremely friendly and accommodating, offering us new towels daily, and providing information for attractions and things to do around Radium and the surrounding area. The washrooms could be updated, but overall, for the price I paid, I was pleasantly surprised. The motel also has a nice location, off of the busy highway. I highly recommend if you're not expecting a 5 start hotel but a nice weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EzzaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed at the Sunset years ago, but unfortunately time has not been kind. The management is rude, and even confrontial when we try to address some simple cleanilness concerns. The first impression of the manager should have been our first clue. The rooms are filthy and in disrepair. The air conditioning did not work, the BBQ looks as if they have never been cleaned. We stay at motels very often and are not overly critical. But never again for the Sunset.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carlosspicyweiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Radium Hot Springs hotels

Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel provides old but adequate rooms - if you don't mind bugs in the kitchen, garbage that left under the bed or 1950's over-used furnishings including the bed. However, most upsetting was being confronted with a $10 increase in the rate when we arrived. "Take it or leave it" were the options the rude (female) manager proposed (her much more friendly partner didn't seem to be in favour of this policy but backed off once dragon lady started demanding the extra money). Being we arrived very late at night and needed a 2 bdrm suite (not many in Radium) we elected to pay the extorted rate. I wouldn't recommend you book here unless your prepared to pay more and put up with more "dated charm" than you bargained for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I have to say when I first read the other reviews I was nervous to spend the weekend here. Once we arrived we realized yes the cabins are older (I thought that was part of the charm) but they were clean and had everything we needed. The owners are such wonderful people so welcoming and accomidating they made us feel right at home. This place is so close to everything we walked everywhere One thing I want to point out is like one of the other reviewers said its not the Ritz but it doesn't cost what you would pay for the Ritz either. It is a great place for the price (one of the reasons we chose it) I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice clean inexpensive place to relax where you can have a BBQ and soak up some rays.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Admittedly the hotel is a bit dated - but that is part of it's charm. No phones in the room, but Internet worked great (no charge). The service from the owners was excellent - we asked and they provided. If you expect the Ritz then you will be disappointed. If you except and IMMACULATELY CLEAN little cute room from a 50's roadside motel with owners dedicated to make your stay great then the Sunset Motel will work for you. Hot water was hot and plenty of it. AC worked well. Bed was a newer pillow top, quite comfortable. Room #23 Location was very convenient for walking around the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JetSetterBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

The pictures on the website do not match the actual " cabins." This motel is very dated and the ancient and noisy air conditioner could not keep up, neither could the fridge. We ended up buying ice to put in the fridge to keep our baby's bottles cool. The beds were lumpy and the bedding pre-dates the war. I slept in my clothes. Our shower had hair in it for an added treat and it didnt even work properly if a person wanted to brave it. This place was shabby to say the least and the owner Heidi acted like we were an inconvenience. As far as the reviews that said this motel was clean, by what standards? Certainly not by my definition of clean. I have stayed in some shady places in my travels for work and this place is in the top 5 worst hotels I've stayed in. Not what we wanted for our vacation. We took the hit and moved down the road to invermere. Nicer town with better restaurants and hotels. I suggest you keep looking as this motel may put a damper on your family time as it did with ours.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Wade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel Tyrol
Motel Tyrol
#8 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gables Motel
Gables Motel
#17 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and...
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#16 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lido Motel
Lido Motel
#7 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 4883 McKay Street, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing