We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the price of admission”

The Home of 1000 Faces
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the price of admission”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Admission cost 4$ each and was worth every penny!! A man greeted us and welcomed us in. Rolf, has lived in Radium Springs for the past 30 years, using locally found wood for his artistry. We walked through into his home with carvings littered all over the walls. Thousands of faces covered the walls inside, outside and upstairs. All of these self portrait carvings for sale at a reasonable price.
It was great meeting Rolf and hearing a few of his stories. He is truly an interesting character and would recommend children and adults alike to stop by for a glimpse at his 1000 faces.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    6
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Full of surprises!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were a little hesitant to go into the home but we ended up having a great time. Make sure you head down to the lower level and turn a few of the door knobs, you won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Starfishy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Intriguing and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just across the street from the Salzburg Restaurant is the Home of 1000 Faces. A lot to see from the outside, but pay the $4, meet Rolf and enjoy some of his art inside. Goats live on the roof!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crazy good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Rolf is a great guy and his talent and imagination are expressed throughout. I only wish the goats had come down and that I lived closer so I could buy one of his big carvings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nautical2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“weird done well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

stopped by the woodcarvers place out of curiosity, and were are glad we did! Rolf is very interesting, and a great artist! There are also a few surprises! we returned the next day and Rolf remembered us and let us in for free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lornecurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Home of 1000 Faces also viewed

Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Home of 1000 Faces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing