We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bite of their food, and you will understand why the restaurant is packed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One bite of their food, and you will understand why the restaurant is packed!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

One bite of their food, and you will understand why the restaurant is packed! "Come back in half an hour" , he said. We did, it was still packed. "Come back in half an hour" , he said. We did, it was still packed. Join us, said a welcoming couple of strangers, as they invited us to sit at their table with 2 extra chairs, so we did! Wow! Excellent company of strangers, and the most marvelous food ever! No wonder the restaurant is so packed! The couple who manage the restaurant , also manage the hotel. After they are done serving dinners late into the evening, they are up early making everyone breakfast, then cleaning our rooms in the afternoons. They work hard! After my friend and I finished our lovely dinner with "The Beckers" from Southern Alberta and enjoyed hearing their fascinating tales about their travels, as they left the restaurant, I said jokingly, "don't be dining and dashing". A few minutes later the waiter came over and asked if we knew the names of the people who were at our table and what hotel they were staying in. Apparently... They " OVER PAID their bill. Rather than simply pocketing the money, this hard working couple tracked them down to return their money to them. What I saw that day was honesty and intregrity. So what if the rooms have wood paneling that's a little dated and no coffee maker. I will take their intregrity any day, hands down! And the food... I am salivating just thinking about it. And the view, did I mention the view?

Room Tip: We booked with Groupon, I think, and our room came with dinner. The food is so good. I just can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TeresaToasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    63
    20
    15
    6
See reviews for
59
130
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I had gone on a motor bike trip from Kelowna to the East Kootenays and had pre-
booked at this lovely hotel. We were most pleasently surprised that our package had included the most delicious 3 course dinner and the most tasty breakfast. The rooms were most comfortable, the view spectacular and the meals were most definitely 5 star! I would not hesitate to recommend the Rocky Mtn Springs Lodge and Restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from our second visit to this delightful and charming property. I rate this property as excellent, not because it it is a 4 or 5 star hotel but because of its charm and value received relative to price. Last time, we travelled with another couple and the visit this time was as good as last time except for the fact that the restaurant closed suddenly due to a sudden departure by the chef. We were saving our dinner experience for the second night and lost out on a wonderful dinner because of the restaurant closing. Despite this setback, the owners still prepared breakfast for the guests.

The rooms are a little dated but very clean. The layout is quite nice with the sitting/dining area providing a view of the mountains as well. The sleeping area is partitioned by a wall and so is the bathroom area which is the located near the front door. The private balcony is the best offering a stunning view of the mountains.

The food is excellent and you get a menu selection of hot, freshly prepared items. The Hungarian scrambled eggs are tremendous.

Do not go to this property if you are looking for a flat screen television, room service and updated furnishings. You will thoroughly enjoy this property if you like Old World charm and want a quiet, beautiful setting for rest and relaxation.

The property is located at the top of a hill so some may find it necessary to drive into town as the walk up the hill is a little strenuous but great exercise.

The owners do an excellent job and if you need something, they will try and accommodate you.

I would recommend this property if your expectations are for quaint and charming and appreciating the majestic view you will get here.

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view of the mountains but stay on the upper floor to avoid hearing peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starch0ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Pros: Nice place to stay. The small hotel size, few rooms and less residents makes it attractive, less noisy and a restful place. The rooms are quiet accommodating in size. Although everything looks & feels old, the places is well maintained and decor is good. The view is stunning & being remote keeps it away from noise.

Cons: Meals & breakfast is good, but the non buffet type breakfast served is small is size. Toast are well served. The rooms dont have coffee maker, nor utelsils for the microwave & fridge equipped in rooms. The breakfast too is served quiet late at 8:30am & there not being many hotels or stores around makes it difficult to purchase food after hours or early morning hours. The $149 per night is too steep...The 50% living social made it very reasonable in cost.

Overall I enjoyed my stay with my family. Both Steven & his wife work very hard to make the stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Upper most floor if no kids, else the lower level is better.All rooms face the mountain side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jovvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were looking for a place in Radium to take our out of town family and stumbled upon this gem! We booked their package that included an hour horseback ride, 3 course dinner, breakfast, one night stay AND passes to the Springs. We were blown away by the service, food, rooms and overall experience. The couple that runs the Lodge are pleasant, dedicated and an over all joy to be around. My sister and I, coming from a Polish background, were immediately in love with the wiener schnitzel and purple cabbage - but everything we tried on the menu was fresh, on point and clearly made with love. The breakfast included was not your typical free breakfast from a hotel - it was the best scrambled eggs I've ever had! Not to mention the waffles, crepes and fried eggs cooked INTO the bacon! The rooms were spotless, massive and with an unreal view. We all had our own deck and they were nice enough to put us all next to each other. The beds were comfortable and the style of the rooms played into our surroundings. We've officially found our new favourite vacation spot and can't wait to get back out there before the end of the summer. If you're in Radium, at the very least you NEED to eat here!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have the same awesome view! You're lucky to have any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My boyfriend and I found a deal on Groupon for this hotel and were not sure what to expect, but it was great! The room was really clean (and I'm a detailed oriented neat freak) and spacious. The food was amazing (breakfast was included). We plan to stop in Radium again just to go to the restaurant. The best part was the view. The restaurant and all the rooms have balconies overlooking the valley. We loved it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelsey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I went with my mother and grandmother to Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge for a late mother's day "girls weekend away" together. It's close to Radium Hot Springs and is up on the hill above the town of Radium, so you have the advantage of being close to everything but not along the hotel strip in town. Like most hotels in Radium, it is an older building, but it is clean. We thought the retro styling was quaint, and we found the beds were comfortable and the second floor room we were in was a good size. Radium can be cool in the evenings - it is in the mountains - so we loved it that we could turn on the baseboard heaters instead of having to put up with a noisy wall unit like most hotels we've stayed in while traveling!

A cooked breakfast is included, and the Hungarian restaurant in the lodge offers a nice selection for dinner. We each had different meals and all of them were tasty. As noted in other reviews, this isn't a four star hotel but the views from the balcony here are breathtaking. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return. If you're looking for good value and a view that can't be beat, Rocky Mountain Lodge is a great choice.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have the balconies with the view. Access to the second floor is by external stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebajagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Country Inn
Village Country Inn
#8 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#1 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant

Property: Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant
Address: 5067 Madsen Rd., Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Citadella Restaurant is situated well above Radium Hot Springs with the BEST view in town. We have panoramic view from every and EACH private balcony, even from the lower floor. Our Hungarian Restaurant is under the motel, with a huge patio, also with a magnificent view and the most delicious meals in an idyllic atmosphere. You can see the Rocky Mountains from everywhere in town, from all the motels, but it is not comparable to our view, just like you see it from an airplane or a bird's eye. Room price includes hot breakfast served in our restaurant with a variety of items to find your favorite one. It is not a buffet, rather a freshly served breakfast made by our Hungarian Chef, just like our dinners. We have an extensive menu for the evening meals, a variety of Hungarian, western and vegetarian dishes. You can watch the sunset while dining or from your private balcony, and the sunrise from your bed if you wish. We have pet friendly and wheelchair accessible suites on the main floor. All rooms have sitting area, new queen beds, new carpets, fridge, microwave and free WIFI. We can provide coffee makers or cattle's in your room.We are located a 1000feet over town by the National Park with all sorts of wildlife frequently walking by. A trail trough the forest starts from our parking lot to the Mineral Hot Springs.We, the owners clean the rooms, so they are spotlessly clean and we serve you in the restaurant as well, very friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Springs Hotel
Rocky Mountain Springs Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing