We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting behaviour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

On Aug 22 while breakfast was underway and a number of guests (with small children) were trying to enjoy breakfast and the glorious view, a loud, aggressive argument in a language I did not understand broke out in the kitchen area. Yelling, apparent swearing and very aggressive sound from a male made me and my partner very uncomfortable. Other quests were not sure what to do. The argument and loud verbal "abuse" continued even after we went back to our rooms (which we continued to hear through closed windows) - the entire episode lasted well over half an hour. We felt this was highly inappropriate for a public area, and we felt this was as near to verbal and physical abuse as I have ever been exposed. We considered calling the police but had no real grounds to do so. We felt very badly for the person who was on the receiving end of this argument.
We will never ever stay there again - we have enjoyed the lodge on a number of occasions in the past.

Room Tip: Get the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Reinhold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hotel is rather old and dated. Bed was very good the view and the quietness was very good. Rate too high for what you get. Don't expect any extras. Breakfast was a disappointment. Yes you have a choice from a menu and they sound very good. The food tasted good, but the portions are an insult. Bacon and eggs came with two eggs and if lucky five fried potato pieces and not even a half slice of bacon. Coffee was served with only milk no cream. Would stay again if the price was reduced and no breakfast included.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SandyVV2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

First off I would like to say koodos to the owners for doing this on your own, but there is no excuse for being unfriendly and walking into your guests room without knocking. Also hotel is rather old and you can tell as the bathroom fixtures and appliances are very outdated. Also the walls are covered by like 20 1991 style cheap framed photos looks like they tried to cover up some up stained wood. When trying to take a shower there is little pressure and hot water cuts out every 5-10 seconds! Only way to avoid this is to turn hot water on and cold completely off, this makes for a scauldingshower. Also do not plan to keep screen door open if you are a non-smoker as the restaurant patio is below all rooms and people are allowed to smoke out there, gross!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have travelled far and near and have never found a place that felt like home. I have brought my family here from the West and cannot wait bring my family
here from the East. Every bite reminded me of my grandmas cooking. Grandmas hugs in every bite. I encourage anyone who appreciates well cooked food to spend time here. Hungarian food is the spice of life. <3 You haven't travelled till you have been here!!!!

Room Tip: 2 private queen beds, if you want a little privacy. You share a bathroom. Every room has AC with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed two nights here for a little get away and it was amazing. The view cannot be beat by any other hotel in the area. The rooms are very clean and quaint and the couple who run it are sweet. They also offered a wonderful hot breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunsetlimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife, kids and I stayed here for a weekend getaway to enjoy the hot springs. The staff (man and woman) was kind of quiet and non friendly. I view this place as non child friendly.
The view is beautiful and that is what you pay for. The food is very good but pricey, but free breakfast was very good but small.
The rooms need to be updated, there's no coffee maker in the rooms, crappy art on the walls, and depressing colors. If the staff was more friendly and welcoming, then I may have given a 4/5 rating. I called one week before booking and they said my room would be $99, when I called back to book, he said $109, and when I got there he told me he gave me a deal and I should be happy! But I was not happy.

Room Tip: Top floor is great for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

One bite of their food, and you will understand why the restaurant is packed! "Come back in half an hour" , he said. We did, it was still packed. "Come back in half an hour" , he said. We did, it was still packed. Join us, said a welcoming couple of strangers, as they invited us to sit at their table with 2 extra chairs, so we did! Wow! Excellent company of strangers, and the most marvelous food ever! No wonder the restaurant is so packed! The couple who manage the restaurant , also manage the hotel. After they are done serving dinners late into the evening, they are up early making everyone breakfast, then cleaning our rooms in the afternoons. They work hard! After my friend and I finished our lovely dinner with "The Beckers" from Southern Alberta and enjoyed hearing their fascinating tales about their travels, as they left the restaurant, I said jokingly, "don't be dining and dashing". A few minutes later the waiter came over and asked if we knew the names of the people who were at our table and what hotel they were staying in. Apparently... They " OVER PAID their bill. Rather than simply pocketing the money, this hard working couple tracked them down to return their money to them. What I saw that day was honesty and intregrity. So what if the rooms have wood paneling that's a little dated and no coffee maker. I will take their intregrity any day, hands down! And the food... I am salivating just thinking about it. And the view, did I mention the view?

Room Tip: We booked with Groupon, I think, and our room came with dinner. The food is so good. I just can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TeresaToasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Country Inn
Village Country Inn
#10 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#1 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radium Chalet
Radium Chalet
#12 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 5067 Madsen Rd., Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Citadella Restaurant is situated well above Radium Hot Springs with the BEST view in town. We have panoramic view from every and EACH private balcony, even from the lower floor. Our Hungarian Restaurant is under the motel, with a huge patio, also with a magnificent view and the most delicious meals in an idyllic atmosphere. You can see the Rocky Mountains from everywhere in town, from all the motels, but it is not comparable to our view, just like you see it from an airplane or a bird's eye. Room price includes hot breakfast served in our restaurant with a variety of items to find your favorite one. It is not a buffet, rather a freshly served breakfast made by our Hungarian Chef, just like our dinners. We have an extensive menu for the evening meals, a variety of Hungarian, western and vegetarian dishes. You can watch the sunset while dining or from your private balcony, and the sunrise from your bed if you wish. We have pet friendly and wheelchair accessible suites on the main floor. All rooms have sitting area, new queen beds, new carpets, fridge, microwave and free WIFI. We can provide coffee makers or cattle's in your room.We are located a 1000feet over town by the National Park with all sorts of wildlife frequently walking by. A trail trough the forest starts from our parking lot to the Mineral Hot Springs.We, the owners clean the rooms, so they are spotlessly clean and we serve you in the restaurant as well, very friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Springs Hotel
Rocky Mountain Springs Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing