We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great motel”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“great motel”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We received a very friendly welcome here, plus lots of information on the area. It was easy to find coming from Kootenay Park. The room was not large, but the bathroom had been recently updated and was spotless. We took the motel owner's advice and drove to nearby Invermere, a pleasant town with beautiful flowers and interesting galleries. We had dinner at the Salzburg Restaurant in Radium (again as suggested) which is a very short walk from the motel. The food was very good and our bill for two with wine was $75. Later, we used our passes and beach towels (both supplied by the motel) and went to the hot springs which are 2 km away.

Room Tip: The highway through Radium is very busy and noisy, so if you are a light sleeper you might need earp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    34
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in room 15 as part of a honeymoon tour of British Columbia - my wife has never used a motel before (we are British!) so I was hoping we'd picked the right one. We literally drove the street and this one was the most attractive but still mid-range on price. Got a MEGA friendly welcome and loads of useful restaurant advice. Room is clean, comfortable and not lacking in any area for what you would expect in this price band. Good choice!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoyleJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Lady at front desk was friendly, and gave us lots of ideas for the time that we were there, and told us about a great little restaurant Casa Vino, that was also very good. The room was clean, and lots of fresh flowers, the only thing that would have kept us from giving a excellent, was the room was a little small. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamienP80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just spent the weekend at Radium BC at this Motel, very affordable, clean, the staff are very friendly, with in walking distance of many restraurants & pubs, 5 minute drive to hot springs, 2nd stay there would recommend this Motel 100 %

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robcindyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here two nights and had no complaints. Rooms were average but clean. Came in and cleaned gave us clean towels while we were out and we made use of the bbq they provided. Came with 4 free swim passes for each day we stayed. Happy travelers

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkie3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights while on a little golf trip with friends. The rooms were immaculate, the service was friendly and informative, and the price was very reasonable. It also had great floral decor and a nice patio area out back which was a comfortable place to spend our evening. The single queen room was quite
small, however, we were hardly in the room so that was irrelevant. There was a table and two chairs outside each room which allowed for more space to relax. I would highly recommend this place to anyone and we 'll be sure to stay again when in town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Team_Eli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Our room was spotless. It was spacious and very well lit. Although I think the walls were thin, we did not hear a thing in the evening. The clerk was friendly and helpful even though we were there only one night. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donjphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#7 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#21 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Village Country Inn
Village Country Inn
#8 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#1 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and...
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 4992 Hwy 93 | Box 257, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small cozy property is set in the picturesque town of Radium Hot Springs where the flowers and the scenery are as plentiful as the big horn sheep that call it home. The Gateway is located on Highway 93, just a short 5 minutes from the entrance of Kootenay National Park and it's world famous Radium Hot Springs. With spectacular mountain views overlooking the Columbia Valley, an afternoon can easily slip away relaxing in the warm sun. We take pride in providing reasonably priced accommodation, exceptionally clean rooms and superior guest service. All units offer air-conditioning and wireless Internet access. We have a range of rooms to meet your needs. Our rooms are the cleanest in the valley, 100% NON-SMOKING and exceptionally comfortable. The hot springs, restaurants, golf courses and hiking trails are only minutes away. So, why not spend some time in Radium Hot Springs and discover why we love to call this place home. We offer a light continental breakfast to all guests between 8am and 10am daily. There are a variety of baked goods (made fresh daily), fruit, yogurt, coffee and juice to choose from. We also offer traditional espresso and specialty coffees made fresh to order using only the highest quality locally roasted beans for just a little extra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing