We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice family owned Motel”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Travelled with group needing five rooms. No problems with reservations. Rooms clean, neat. Friendly and informative reception desk. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

We only stayed one night at the Gateway Motel, but it was great. The room was super clean - one queen and one double bed, cable tv, mini-fridge and coffee pot... there was a cute little table and chairs outside each room so you could sit and enjoy the mountain view. I even saw some hummingbirds visiting the beautiful flowers on each balcony. My only criticism would be that the beds are on the hard side, but it certainly didn't stop us from having an enjoyable night. Most importanly, it was clean, friendly and a great price ($100). I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laracee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Located on Hwy 93 just above the village we were greeted by a pleasant and helpful receptionist.

Our room was newly decorated and a reasonable size but rather poorly laid out. The integral kitchenette (no extractor) had a two ring hob, microwave, toaster, kettle, grill and coffee maker. Crockery and cutlery were good, pots and pans just adequate, but lighting in this area poor. The bed was only standard size and with limited space on each side. Bathroom was fine with good supply of towels but no extractor, however the shower temperature could be erratic.

There was a good size folding dining table but annoyingly no adjacent power point to allow laptop charging during use. Our wireless internet reception was sometimes difficult, perhaps because we were at the end of the building and getting a
poor/intermittent signal.

(We saw one other unit which appeared to be larger, better laid out and better equipped. It may be worth checking exactly what sort of room you are getting.)

Cleanliness was excellent.

There was some noise from adjacent rooms. The motel is on a busy road on a hill which carries a lot of heavy vehicles which operate throughout the night. We found road noise disturbing. However that consideration probably applies equally to the many other motels on this stretch of road.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wasleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karinweder, Public Relations at Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2009

It's great to get feedback from guests...it lets us address issues that may otherwise go unnoticed. However, I do wish that people would actually take the time to talk to us and let us know if something isn't to their satisfaction...rather than reading about it after the fact. The concerns that were brought up: lighting by the kitchen:...never heard that before but then come into the office and ask for a small spotlight. Power supply:...actually there is one by the sofa or we could have given you an extension cord. Wireless...we've had numerous guests use it and never complained but it is a large building. Layout....keep in mind this building was built in the 50's we've done tons of remodeling and take pride in modernizing it where we can. I explain to many people who make reservations, as well as this couple, that they are nice clean basic rooms. That particular room has a double bed which the couple was told before hand...the larger suite that they are referring to is the large group suite with three beds. Noise...on behalf of the noise well yes we are located on a highway, but in our defense when this couple was here the Trans Canada highway was closed for construction. So all that traffic unfortunatley was diverted through Radium. Usually the road is quiet in the evening and we've actually upgraded our whole motel with new windows. We're a small family run motel which takes pride in providing clean, affordable rooms and superior guest service. Obviously, as the saying goes "you can't please everyone", but we really do feel that we make a conscious effort to make everybody's stay here as enjoyable as possible!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

This Motel is not fancy however it is spotlessly clean and well situated. Great value for money. The owners obviously care about how it looks inside and out and have taken the time to keep it in great condition. We were a party of 5 and shared a room with 2 bedrooms a kitchen and a bathroom. The layout was a little different but it was really spacious and so clean you could have eaten in the bathroom. Will stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Layla2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Beautiful, well maintained, family motel. The owners were incredibly helpful and welcoming upon our arrival. The rooms are tiny byut they were also aboslutely spotless, in fact I don't think I have ever stayed in a motel as clean as this one.

My only concern is with the price. I think that 70.00 a night is way overpriced for what you get but that seems to be the average price for all the motels along the highway.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamzissou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Stayed here for one night with our 20 month old... Great staff - family owned and very helpful. There was a full bathroom and a mini-fridge, and they provided ice, glasses, etc on request. Very clean, and well-maintained. We had an upstairs room, so we were able to sit on the balcony after putting our son to bed, and enjoy a wonderful view (and sunset). A great Austrian restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColonelFlagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Stopped in to this place on a motorcycle trip through Radium. It is a quaint little family owned motel. We stayed upstairs in unit #9 as after riding through 30+ Celsius temperatures, we needed air conditioning badly.

The room was clean, the bed & linen spotless. Ok, this is not the 4 seasons but it gets 5 stars from me for what it is, and how well the staff treated us.

A great roadside stop for a family travelling through. Oh, and parents, it’s within walking distance of the local pub.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Bazza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#3 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Village Country Inn
Village Country Inn
#10 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#2 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#6 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radium Chalet
Radium Chalet
#12 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 4992 Hwy 93 | Box 257, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range: £54 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small cozy property is set in the picturesque town of Radium Hot Springs where the flowers and the scenery are as plentiful as the big horn sheep that call it home. The Gateway is located on Highway 93, just a short 5 minutes from the entrance of Kootenay National Park and it's world famous Radium Hot Springs. With spectacular mountain views overlooking the Columbia Valley, an afternoon can easily slip away relaxing in the warm sun. We take pride in providing reasonably priced accommodation, exceptionally clean rooms and superior guest service. All units offer air-conditioning and wireless Internet access. We have a range of rooms to meet your needs. Our rooms are the cleanest in the valley, 100% NON-SMOKING and exceptionally comfortable. The hot springs, restaurants, golf courses and hiking trails are only minutes away. So, why not spend some time in Radium Hot Springs and discover why we love to call this place home. We offer a light continental breakfast to all guests between 8am and 10am daily. There are a variety of baked goods (made fresh daily), fruit, yogurt, coffee and juice to choose from. We also offer traditional espresso and specialty coffees made fresh to order using only the highest quality locally roasted beans for just a little extra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing