We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Improving”
Review of Hotel Bernieres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bernieres
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Levis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel has expanded since my last visit several years ago and the new rooms are lovely. This is truly an example of a hotel that has grown and improved every year. The rooms are spacious, quiet, well-equipped, and comfortable.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hrssho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

Hotel Bernieres is our favourite stop-over spot between Toronto and the Maritimes. It's just outside of Quebec City, and right off the highway so you don't waste time. It's a bit of an oasis with manicured grounds, a gazebo, a swing-seat set and all kinds of little bric-a-brac touches that you associate with a privately owned and operated upscale motor hotel. We enjoy eating in the Resto-Bar -- try the spaghetti! Breakfast in the restaurant is also very good.

There are three iterations to the hotel. The old wing, if you like to sit outside and drink beer, the "classic" section, which is very nice, and the new wing (I forget what they call it). Take your pick. The property is pet-friendly. It is mid-priced, not cheap, but you are assured a clean room with a comfortable bed, and all the nice room amenities like microwave oven, fridge, coffee-maker, etc.

In the fall, you're surrounded by the fall colours of the trees, and in the winter, you've got snowmobilers who book rooms and roar in on their snowmobiles. Locals like to eat in the RestoBar and restaurant, so you know it's good.

If you like to make it from the Maritimes to Toronto with one night on the road, this is great place to stop for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BallBounces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Once again, TripAdvisor.ca and Hotels.com paired up to get us a gem of a hotel. We were driving from Toronto to Fredericton and wanted a spot somewhere around Quebec City to break up the drive. Hotel Bernieres popped up so we booked it. This is a combination motel/hotel (the hotel is a 2-story section so not really much more than a big motel, really). Our room was clean, large and comfortable with fridge and microwave. We were on the 2nd floor facing the back which was looking into someone's backyard.

The hotel is about 1min from Exit-311 from the Trans-Canada highway and there's a Tim Horton's nearby for starting the second segment of the trip. The hotel boasts a restaurant where the food was very good (we didn't try anything too fancy - except, of course, poutine since we were in Quebec).

There are cheaper places and there are fancier places but this was exactly what we wanted and far better than we had reason to expect. So we booked a stay for the return trip and requested the same room (which they held for us). The weather convinced us not to bother going into Quebec City itself but it couldn't have been more than 10min drive to Vieux Quebec and I'd stay here the next time I'm in that area.

Room Tip: Carrying luggage up a flight of steps is a tiny chore but the room was excellent. Stay at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Once again I trusted tripadvisor reviews and I was Not disappointed! This hotel or better to say complex is really nice. We arrive late in the afternoon and they were almost booked. However they could find for us 2 rooms to choose- one was in the hotel complex and the other was a motel room. Having in mind that I am a smoker I chose the motel room so that I could easily go out and have a cig. The room was cheaper but by no means worse than a hotel room. It was even better than some of the hotel chains we stayed in Canada. Two comfortable beds,a flatscreen TV,a small fridge and microwave. The bathroom was spacious and as everything else very clean. Yeah,the most important thing is the whole place is very tidy and clean, they did their job very good each day.
Furthermore there are 3 places within the hotel that you can eat- a bar and two restaurants. The food is very good and at reasonable price. If that's not your things,2 min walk there are other places to eat.
The staff is very nice and accomodating,great service.
It's not exactly in quebec city but very close. You can either drive to Levi and take the ferry to Quebec or if you are with car,you are there for 15 min. Having in mind how difficult is to find parking and hotels with a parking in the city, this is a great choice.I strongly reccomend it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaktaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This quaint little hotel/motel is right of the Highway 20. Easy to find, very close to Quebec City and great for travellers. It has a nice restaurant on the premises with great food and service and often busy with local ( which usually mean food is good). Free wi-fi which is really nice while your on the road. Very close to Tims and a Saint Hubert restaurant. We often make a sleep over stop here on the way to and from Toronto. Clean and always friendly! Lot's of parking. Little fridge and microwave which is always welcomed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peisweatergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We picked this hotel last minute based on the reviews.

We were not disappointed.

The woman at the front desk didn't speak much English but tried very hard and didn't act irritated that we didn't speak much French. She was very accommodating and set us up without a reservation without any hassle.

The room was very nice and very clean. Spacious and comfortable. Bigger than the rooms at the chateau Frontenac and for a fraction of the price.

The in house restaurant was nice... Perhaps a little pricey for dinner but couldn't complain about the food. Breakfast was less expensive and I felt like we got more food. The serving staff was very kind and mostly bilingual. They also let us add our meal bills to our total for our stay.

Very convenient location... Away from the city but only a 15 min drive which made it easy for us to do some sightseeing. Also close to st huberts and Tim hortens.

Great value!! Great staff!!

We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cie-Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I stayed in August 2010, though it was a bit diffucult to locate when driving from quebec, once there, it was really nice. the staff was really friendly, the hallways smelled pleasant, and the rooms were updated and clean. There was a plasma tv in our room. The bath tub looked brand new. Definitely recommend for stays to Quebec City where it is not important to be downtown. This location is just outside the city. (20min to vieux quebec) Worth it!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheddup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levis hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Saint-Nicolas
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Levis St-Nicolas
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Levis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel L'Oiseliere - Levis
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Levis
Comfort Inn Levis
#8 of 14 in Levis
220 reviews
8.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 14 in Levis
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernieres

Address: 535, Rue de Bernieres, Levis, Quebec G7A 1C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Chaudiere-Appalaches > Levis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Levis
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernieres 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Hotel closed for renovation until decembre 2017 Right at Quebec's doors and only 2 minutes west from the bridges, Hotel Bernieres is located at exit 311 from highway 20, Hotel Bernieres offers hotel rooms of great quality in Levis. Hotel Bernieres is located near several attractions and touristic sites of Quebec-Chaudiere-Appalaches Region such as; Parc Aquarium du Quebec, Laurier Quebec shopping mall, the Parc des Chutes de la Chaudiere as well as a the must see and historic Old Quebec. Come stay at the Hotel Bernieres and you will enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of our 76 rooms of grand comfort with a country decor, while being just minutes away from the beautiful Quebec City! A Restaurant Normandin with 2 terraces open all summer long is a few steps away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bernieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bernieres Levis, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing