We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good view, poor housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Gatineau
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good view, poor housekeeping”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I spent two nights at the hotel for a business meeting. My bathroom had a dead light bulb, which I reported to the housekeeping staff on my floor. Nothing was done, until I spoke to the front desk the following day. Also, the fixed in hair-dryer didn't work.

When I arrived in the afternoon the hallways were in terrible shape - it looked like they hadn't been vacuumed for days. Right until well into the evening there was a bag of garbage next to the elevator.

The following day, after my room was cleaned, a cleaning cloth was left outside my room in the hallway, and again, they hadn't been vacuumed (see photograph). They were finally vacuumed sometime in the late afternoon.

We had asked for decaf coffee for our breakfast buffet but the surly waitress pointed to packets of Sanka. Our organizer requested brewed decaf for the following morning but it didn't appear.

The best part of the visit in terms of service was the very friendly hospitality manager who really seemed to care about us. Also, the view of the river and falls was a nice bonus - make sure you ask for a river view.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trakette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello Trakette,
Happy to see that the Hospitality Manager was a highlight of your stay, from your review it appears you were attending a meeting at the hotel. I would like to know more details about your stay so that I can work towards correcting the deficiencies that you pointed out. Obviously the housekeeping issues need to be discussed in house with the person or people assigned to the floor you were on & I would like to talk to the people that offer the F&B services at the hotel about the your experience as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    144
    80
    36
    15
See reviews for
81
77
16
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I had an enjoyable stay at the Crown Plaza, they have a very nice property particulary the exercise room and spa. The room was quite clean and comfortable and as always has outlets and lights in all useful locations. The only complaint I have is the cost of eating breakfast at the hotel which is far to expensive when compared to the places you can go nearby

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights for work. There was nothing to do around the hotel. Most restaurants in the area were closed, except for pizza shops and the hotel restaurant. I ended up eating there on my second night. It was nothing special, and the food was average at best, though the service was good. The room was nice, though I could hear the neighbours' conversations and anyone in the hallway. I had a kitchenette with a microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge. No plates, no cutlery. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. Good sized bathtub.
I would probably not stay at this hotel again simply because there was nothing to do in the vicinity (walking distance).

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank D_Suk605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear D_Suk605,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was my first visit to the property, previously having stayed on the Ottawa side of the river. As a Platinum IHG member, I was upgraded to an Executive room on the 10th floor with stunning views of the river and Ottawa skyline. The public areas of the hotel appeared fresh and recently renovated. The front desk staff were professional and accommodating, directing me to the complimentary business center to print out a document and allowing me the privilege of late check out. The room was spacious, well furnished and featured a practical kitchenette with a coffeemaker, microwave and mini-fridge/freezer. The bed was comfortable and the room very quiet, affording a great night's rest. Furnishings were in good repair, with the odd minor scratch. The bathroom was large and adequately supplied with good quality toiletries. The only negative was the peeling paint in the bathtub that had been resurfaced to white from the original taupe color. Apart from that, the stay was very satisfying. You can choose to park on the street, with meters that offer many periods of free use, or utilize the hotel's indoor garage for $16. I would certainly not hesitate to stay here again and have no qualms in recommending this property to friends and business colleagues,.

Room Tip: The executive floor rooms feature kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

In town on business. Stayed on 9th floor. Room was nice with small kitchenette. Front desk and bar staff very friendly. Bed was very comfortable. Previous guests towel was still hanging on back of bathroom door, but the bathroom was certainly cleaned.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAHTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

If you have ever been to this hotel in the past (it used to be a Holiday Inn) they have just recently undergone a renovation and the hotel is gorgeous - they took care of the details and the rooms are very nice, comfortable and all around welcoming to stay in! If you didn't really love it before, I recommend you give it another try because it's much improved!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Pleasant surprise, we chose this place because it was close to a friends house and it was cheap but it's a really nice place. Everything looks new, the room we stayed in had a small kitchenette (sink, fridge, microwave, coffee maker). Apparently there are rooms with bigger kitchens as well. The hotel is located in a very quiet area - at least on weekends - i'm guessing it's a business hotel primarily. There are a few restaurants down the street on montcalm (you could drive, there seemed to be plenty of parking everywhere and the 16$ parking pass gives you in and out privileges but you might as well walk as the restaurants are close). We didn't eat in the hotel. We also didn't try the pool or workout room so no comment on those either. Free wifi and it was decent - no signal problems and speed seemed fine. If you get a view looking towards the river it is really pretty, probably would have been even better a few weeks ago during the colour change.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rockohorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#5 of 25 in Gatineau
119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

Property: Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Address: 2 Montcalm Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Plaza la Chaudiere)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pour de l'information en Français, visitez: Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Hotel. Welcome to a 4-Star Hotel in Gatineau, Quebec. The Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa hotel offers the perfect blend of leisure activities and business amenities in a convenient location just 2.4 kilometres (1.5 miles) from Parliament Hill. Guests of our Gatineau hotel appreciate the convenience of close proximity to attractions in both Quebec and Ontario. The Casino du Lac-Leamy, Rideau Canal and Byward Market are all less than six kilometers away. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Chaudiere Falls, Provincial bike path, La Route Verte are just out our door at the Parc des Portageurs. You can jog for miles right beside the Ottawa River. Business guests love the comfort of our riverside hotel near Ottawa, which includes a Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access. For meetings, we have more than 15,000 sq. ft. of flexible space. While staying at our hotel in Gatineau, just across the street from the Ottawa River, dine in our restaurant, La Jardiniere, enjoy a drink in Bar des Chutes, do a lap in our saltwater lap pool, sweat it in our Fitness Ctr, sauna or soak in our whirlpool. And of course, our rooms offer the most comfortable stay in the area. Discover the Nation's Capital with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plaza La Chaudiere Hotel Gatineau
Holiday Inn Gatineau
Gatineau Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing