We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Gatineau
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here one night this June on a business trip. The room was large, clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, one of the best I have slept on anywhere. The breakfast is a hot buffet for $15 which was OK, nothing special. The staff was friendly but a bit shorthanded in the dining room. The location was close to downtown Ottawa and a $31 cab ride from the airport. One quirk is that there is no cab stand outside the hotel. So. in the morning the front desk must call a cab for you. This can take 10-15 minutes, so plan accordingly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is very nice, the check in was fast and efficient the whole reception area is very well done. My room was on the penthouse floor and I must say it was spacious and very well laid out. The big failing is the lack of an exec lounge for these rooms, it is a little bonus that you come to expect when going for the more costly rooms. Still all in all a hotel that I would be happy to return to again.

Room Tip: Penthouse floor is the place if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Crowne Plaza Gatineau is best used by people having meetings in the government office complex down the street.

The hotel is competent and professional, but its not warm and cozy. On the two nights mid-week that I was there it was empty/quiet the first night, but full the second night with people attending a big training session at the government buildings.

Rooms big and modern looking and clean. My biggest gripe was ventilation: the windows dont open and the temperature controls didnt truely work - they only turn the fans on or off without changing the temperature. Also I felt there was no air exchange at all in the bathroom (usually steam from the shower will get sucked out of a vent in the bathroom, but no air was moving there at all so the whole suite got steamy and hotter than i prefer).

Breakfast was $14 for a buffet that was modest, not better than say a free Holiday Inn Express. But it does the job.

The location is super lonely and isolated if you are not attending a meeting at the government complex down the street. Its an easy drive or taxi across the bridge into Ottawa, but the hotel parking appears to be small and outdoor. Certainly there is nothing you can walk too near the hotel at night. Some streets nearby are beat up.

Because this hotel caters to government visitors beware of the rack rate. The regular price of the hotel if there is a meeting going on is too high for what you get. But on the other hand if you use some discounting websites to book a room you can probably get a good deal. Priceline got me my room for about half the rack rate, so it was a fair price for the room.

Its a good competent small business hotel in a boring location. I would stay again for the right price if I had meetings nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuckathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Good day,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is delightful to know that our location suited your meeting needs. I am sorry though for the issues you encountered with the ventilation in your room. Our downtown location offers a great deal of restaurants and pubs at walking distance and, as you mentioned, an easy drive to Ottawa. The underground parking at the hotel caters to our guests coming by car. Our front desk employees are happy to inform our guests and give them directions on where they want to go. We appreciate your feedback and your business and hope we get the chance to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Parking is a pain in the neck and expensive- $16/day. Very small underground parking garage. There is no concierge to help with luggage and very few luggage carts. There was never one available when I needed it! So, I carried heavy suitcases, cooler etc. up the stairs myself. Why a cooler? There was an extra fee for a small fridge in the room and I had medication that needed to be refrigerated. The room itself was tried and the bathtub was brown. Not from dirt but the porcelain was brown in colour! Weird! The ice bucket, coffee maker and glasses in the room were dirty. I tried making coffee one morning and the coffee maker didn't work. I also tried blow drying my hair and the hair dryer kept shorting out as if it was getting too hot. The restaurant was a joke! As a vegetarian, I noticed there was nothing on the menu for me. I asked the waiter if there was something else available that was vegetarian. He said "No problem, I will ask the chef". Then he came back to and said "The chef wants to know what you want!". Too expensive at approximately $200/night for this poor quality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank star4Mississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are sorry that the facilities didn’t meet with your expectations and disappointed that the offer from the restaurant staff to accommodate you seems to have been misunderstood. Your comments will help us improve our offer to you and future guests.

Kind regards, Nathalie, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We travel to Ottawa for the weekend with our then 4 months old. The staff was very nice and helpful to provide for a crob and all the necessities for our baby. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and had a nice water view. Breakfast buffet had lots of different choices. Will definatly go back there for our next trip. I highly recommend this hotel and it is worth the price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arame S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I and my wife spent one night in this property on our way from Montreal to Toronto in 1st week April 2014. It was a advance reservation.

Location was calm, bit away from the city, nothing much to do around, few eateries nearby unless you walk about 15 mints either directions.

Room was big, clean no fridge or micro. No complementary B/F; self-parking was at underground at $ 16 per day.

We had a exceptionally noisy night due to a party in the room opposite of ours.

According to my personal taste this property could not encourage me returning if we happen to be around again.

But in average our stay was just ok..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asoka B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear SriLanka2010,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I regret to read that you did not enjoy your time at the hotel and our city. We strive to achieve guest satisfaction, I trust the services you received from our staff was satisfactory . Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very clean, nice rooms, well-maintained. Saw lots of kids tho coming from pool area. Well located, close to a neat strip of bars with a pretty lively night life. Walking distance to Canadian Museum of Civilization and just over the bridge from Ottawa. Friday night stay was significantly cheaper then Sat. or we would have stayed two nights. Recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your stay. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to our region and hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of greeting you on your next visit to city.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 26 in Gatineau
1,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#6 of 26 in Gatineau
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

Address: 2 Montcalm Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Plaza la Chaudiere)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range: £78 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pour de l'information en Français, visitez: Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Hotel. Welcome to a 4-Star Hotel in Gatineau, Quebec. The Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa hotel offers the perfect blend of leisure activities and business amenities in a convenient location just 2.4 kilometres (1.5 miles) from Parliament Hill. Guests of our Gatineau hotel appreciate the convenience of close proximity to attractions in both Quebec and Ontario. The Casino du Lac-Leamy, Rideau Canal and Byward Market are all less than six kilometers away. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Chaudiere Falls, Provincial bike path, La Route Verte are just out our door at the Parc des Portageurs. You can jog for miles right beside the Ottawa River. Business guests love the comfort of our riverside hotel near Ottawa, which includes a Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access. For meetings, we have more than 15,000 sq. ft. of flexible space. While staying at our hotel in Gatineau, just across the street from the Ottawa River, dine in our restaurant, La Jardiniere, enjoy a drink in Bar des Chutes, do a lap in our saltwater lap pool, sweat it in our Fitness Ctr, sauna or soak in our whirlpool. And of course, our rooms offer the most comfortable stay in the area. Discover the Nation's Capital with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plaza La Chaudiere Hotel Gatineau
Holiday Inn Gatineau
Gatineau Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing