We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Gatineau
Reviewed 1 August 2014

When I come to the Ottawa area the Crowne Plaza is always a good value. It is nicely situated beside the river and across from a park. Fluent in both French and English. Had an issue with a misunderstanding but Angela and Cecile took great care of me.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay. I am thrilled to read your comments and happy to see that our front desk agents were able to resolve the misunderstanding. We thank you for your business and look forward to welcome you on your next visit to the Gatineau-Ottawa region.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I enjoyed our quick overnight stay here... we liked the fact that it was close to downtown (despite being across the river) and that it wasnt as busy as most of the hotels in Ottawa. I would stay here again as I had no problems with the service or value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Samuel,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your stay. I am happy you enjoyed our facilities and that you found our location (5 minutes from Ottawa) to be convenient. We appreciate your comments and look forward to greeting you on your next visit to Gatineau-Ottawa.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was reluctant to book it given that you have to cross the river and if you take your car, you will have difficulties parking it downtown Ottawa. However, it turns out that there is a free city shuttle bus that runs fairly frequently and you can also walk around the hotel enjoying the park.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room with a view of the Parliament (downtown area in general).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bus_leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Good day,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed our location and were able to take advantage of the services our city offers. We appreciate your feedback and your business and hope we get the chance to host you again soon. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I usually stay at the Crown every six months and have done so for the past 10 years to attend meetings that are close in proximity. I've enjoyed staying there because its most often quiet. The last two stays that I had, as recent as last week and December of 2013, something seemed to have changed. Overall I am happy with the room however the bathroom seems to have been an issue both times, I would find long strands of hair on the ground, coffee stains on the floor by the garbage and garbage debris under the vanity. The last time I stayed in December, I complained at the front desk and I am not one to complain. The hair strands were cleaned up the next day but you could still still some type of debris under the sink vanity which tells me that minimal effort is done in this type of situation. I didn't complain this time about the bathroom as I was not impressed the last time with the follow up. I will likely continue staying at the Crown in the future but for whatever reason, the bathroom cleanliness really needs to be looked at. I used to recommend to my colleagues the advantages of staying at the Crown but I feel I can no longer due so because of this issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Charles,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay and for being an IHG Rewards member. I also wish to thank you for your continued business and support. I am sorry to read about the issues encountered in your bathroom. I will follow-up with the housekeeping department in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If I had a choice, I would stay on the Ottawa side, which is just across the river, and being the capital of Canada has lot more to offer and is where all the attractions are. Lots of places to eat and good food.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Shujaul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Shujaul,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I am happy to read you enjoyed your visit and had a chance to visit both Gatineau Ottawa. We look forward to greeting you in the Gatineau-Ottawa region in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I traveled with my wife, small child (16 months) and a dog, so we called in advance to make sure we will have a baby crib in the room, and we were told that there is no problem. When I arrived to the hotel and checked-in I reminded the receptionist about the crib, and again, she said ‘no problem’. When we called again to ask when the crib will arrive they said the following “we are sorry apparently we ran out of baby-cribs.
The hotel staff gave me the filling since I booked it via a cheap last-minute site I am not equal to a real full paying guest. Also the over charge for the parking (17$ and just across the street its 11$) and they charged 50$ for a night for my dog !!!! but didnt even provide a small water bowl.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tomer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Tomer79,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I understand the disappointment you are feeling as travelling with a young child is not always easy and you did take the time to call in for your request. I will personally find out why the crib was no longer available after your check-in. I am sorry this issue prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. Following your comments, I am confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here twice in June 2014 and don't have many complaints. Even though it's in Hull/Gatineau and not Ottawa, it's very close and you can easily drive 5 minutes and be right downtown. The rooms were nice, spacious and clean. Nice updated decor and the view from our last stay was great (overlooking the Ottawa river, the falls and downtown). Staff was friendly and check-in was efficient.

My only two minor complaints would be in regards to parking.
1) There is a $16 per day fee for parking (which I was well aware of before booking, so no surprise there), but seeing as the hotel isn't in downtown Ottawa were space is very limited and at a premium I thought parking was a bit steep for what it was.
2) Since our vehicle was too large to get in the underground parking we needed to use the lot parking and enter coins at the gate everytime we wanted to get in. Now we could easily get coins anytime but I just found it annoying that we had to stop at the front desk everytime we would come back to collect coins.

All in all a nice stay and would defnintely recomment this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Pascal,

Thank you for your comments and reviewing our property after your recent stay. I am happy you enjoyed our hotel and its location. We appreciate your comments on the outside parking, we strive to achieve complete guest satisfaction and your comments will help us achieve our goal. Thank you and we look forward to greeting you in the near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#6 of 26 in Gatineau
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa
1.6 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 26 in Gatineau
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

Address: 2 Montcalm Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Plaza la Chaudiere)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range: £78 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pour de l'information en Français, visitez: Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Hotel. Welcome to a 4-Star Hotel in Gatineau, Quebec. The Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa hotel offers the perfect blend of leisure activities and business amenities in a convenient location just 2.4 kilometres (1.5 miles) from Parliament Hill. Guests of our Gatineau hotel appreciate the convenience of close proximity to attractions in both Quebec and Ontario. The Casino du Lac-Leamy, Rideau Canal and Byward Market are all less than six kilometers away. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Chaudiere Falls, Provincial bike path, La Route Verte are just out our door at the Parc des Portageurs. You can jog for miles right beside the Ottawa River. Business guests love the comfort of our riverside hotel near Ottawa, which includes a Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access. For meetings, we have more than 15,000 sq. ft. of flexible space. While staying at our hotel in Gatineau, just across the street from the Ottawa River, dine in our restaurant, La Jardiniere, enjoy a drink in Bar des Chutes, do a lap in our saltwater lap pool, sweat it in our Fitness Ctr, sauna or soak in our whirlpool. And of course, our rooms offer the most comfortable stay in the area. Discover the Nation's Capital with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plaza La Chaudiere Hotel Gatineau
Holiday Inn Gatineau
Gatineau Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing