We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine but limited connectivity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine but limited connectivity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Generally a fine hotel, but if you need access to the internet for work (as I do) this hotel falls far short of expectations. I had stronger and more reliable internet in a 2 star hotel in Peru. Email loads and send aare so long that the apps time out. Forget live streaming anything. I had the same issues between a phone, iPad and laptop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie K, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you kindly for staying with us during your recent travels and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for the internet connectivity issues that you experienced during your stay.
If your travels bring you to the area again in the future, we would love to welcome you back. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    248
    87
    29
    10
See reviews for
152
138
29
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel but it is a bit of a distance from the main attractions in Ottawa (with a good exception of the Canadian Museum of History which is just across the street). The hotel's area is rather quiet with few restaurants nearby. I booked this hotel quite in advance but the price actually dropped just a few weeks before my check-in date, so I felt i was over-paying. With a relatively high price I wish the hotel would include breakfast in the deal. Otherwise this is a pretty good hotel with friendly, bilingual staff. My room was spacious and comfortable; I was glad I had a nice shower head and I was given two bottled waters for free in the room. The hotel is right on public transit line so one can take a bus to cross the river into Ottawa, or take a scenic walk on the bridge for about 25 min towards the capital.

Room Tip: The best view is probably from the side facing east-southeast - i.e. facing the history museum and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouC151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie K, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you kindly for staying with us during your recent travels. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. If your travels bring you to the area in the future, we would love to welcome you back. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have often stayed at the Sheraton Four Points in Gatineau when we go up to Ottawa for week-ends or otherwise as we used to live in Ottawa for many years. We have found the hotel to be excellent in terms of service, cleanliness, staff, location and overall value for money. We have been particularly impressed with the General Manager, Jason Trottier, and his entire team who go to great lengths to make our stay comfortable, happy and memorable. We highly recommend the hotel when you are visiting the national capital region.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvt0travelthew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

It's very convenient. But that's only if you happen to be attending a conference across the street at the Museum of Canadian History (aka the Museum of Civilization). The rooms are a good size, the beds are comfortable, the TV screen seems new and I liked the selection of pillows. The lobby needs a little updating. There were a few odd things. One elevator we dubbed the Stephen King elevator because it wouldn't go to the floors we specified no matter how hard we tried. Let's just say it seemed resistant to direction. There's a nice heated little pool, great if you have children. Unexpected things are extra - like the mini fridge. There are no mini-bars in the room but you can rent a bar fridge rental for $20. But that was for our whole three night stay, so not bad. Parking is not included but you have in and out privileges. Breakfast isn't included either. Unfortunately, you are more or less removed from "what's happening" in Hull. Although apparently the street behind us was full of little shops and bars but the hotel itself faces the huge museum on the other side and the parking lot. So, if you want to go over and do the river walk there, it's very handy. And it's not too far from the bridges to the Ottawa side. The staff was accommodating and the rooms were very clean. The walls are a bit thin and you hear quite a bit of hallway noise. Luckily the weekend we stayed and the floor we were one was relatively quiet. But the price was right and it was quite decent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMSantarossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otonabee-South Monaghan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel for my Daughter's Dance completion. The hotel was very clean and our room was really quite large, but not all the rooms are the same. Our beds were about average quality, but be sure to bring your own pillow! Unless you like really really soft pillows! The hotel was also right across the road from the competition dance site/museum and that was great for us, but the hotel had a few down falls. The noise outside the rooms was really loud. There was construction going on out side of the hotel and we could hear them when they started at 7 am! The hotel also did not have fridges in the rooms but for a fee they would get you one. But they only had a couple and it was a first come first service basis. There aren't any places to eat in the area, so you either eat in the over priced restaurant ($8.00 for microwave Kraft dinner aka kids mac and cheese), order in pizza or drive somewhere to eat. Their parking lot outside was always full, but The hotel was full so I am sure that had something to do with that. As well their under ground parking is great for small vehicles only! We went in April so it was between season and the air conditions were not hooked up and the rooms were very hot! The hotel did offer us fans, but if I am paying all that money I don't want a fan! The ice machines on every other floor were emptied every time I tried to get ice, perhaps the heat in the rooms had something to do with this. Also there wasn't any place that people could meet up. We sat in the hall but were told that it was a fire hazard. Our rooms were to hot to sit in and there wasn't any place to just sit and talk with friends, or eat our take out pizza. I could understand the hotel being upset with us sitting there if it was late at night, but this was 6 pm! The other thing was that they didn't have the heaters on in the pool and the water was actually too cold for the kids to swim in! If we go back to that competition, we will look for another hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor the rooms are nicer! The second floor is very loud! Bring food with you becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for an event our daughter was participating in at the Museum directly across the street so it really made a lot of sense. Hotel is basically OK, but really needs some updating. It was quite loud and many people in our group couldn't sleep because of noise coming from other rooms and they ended up changing hotels. Food was expensive and not really worth it. Very little nearby to eat. On Saturday afternoon we tried to find alternative dining and nothing was open. Was like a ghost town, even a mall was closed. No real other complaints. Will probably stay there again for the same event next year but if there was another option we would probably take it. Underground parking is very old and extremely tight. Elevators were basically scary and 'jumpy'. My wife and I stay in hotels frequently on business, and one thing that struck us when we arrived we stood at the front desk waiting for someone to come out and check us in for a good 5 minutes. 5 minutes is a long time to stand and look at an empty desk and wonder how long you will be standing there before anyone acknowledges you. The lobby was full of people, just nobody seemed to be working. When they finally came out from the back there was no apology and they seemed to pick and choose who they wanted to help. However, when they finally did get to us they were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The room is large, comfortable, quiet and nicely decorated. The staff is pleasant but not overly friendly. However, the breakfast is very disappointing: on the morning I purchased the breakfast buffet for $15, the "omelette station" was closed, there was only orange juice, no ham and no salsa for the scrambled eggs. The breakfast is not worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torontofave8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
0.2 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#5 of 25 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
1.6 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa

Property: Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
Address: 35 Laurier, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gatineau
#3 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa is just across the river from downtown Ottawa, Parliament Hill, and the ByWard Market. Onsite, we have 8,000 sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
Four Points By Sheraton And Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
Four Points By Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa Hotel Gatineau
Four Points Gatineau Ottawa
Gatineau Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing