We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winterlude Ottawa - Romantic Couples Retreat (Good family fun too)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Gatineau
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Winterlude Ottawa - Romantic Couples Retreat (Good family fun too)”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic long weekend in Ottawa during Winterlude. We stayed at the Best Western on the Gatineau side, which is reasonably priced and in a prime location. The hotel staff are completely bilingual. Our room was on the 9th (top) floor. We had an incredible view of the parliament buildings, the river and Jacques Cartier Park. The room was spacious and very clean. Some of the 9th floor rooms have balconies. There is a pool at this hotel but it was full of children and there was no hot tub in the pool area.

We brought our skates and warm clothes and had a wonderful time skating on the canal. It was an experience that I would recommend for anyone's bucket list. Along our skating travels we stopped to eat a "beaver tail" desert. I tried the maple flavour, which turned out to be a sticky and delicious treat.

The hotel was very close to Cafe St. Jacques, where we enjoyed our dinner. Expect to pay $150.00 for two dinners. The delicious food and french/spanish ambience are well worth the extra price (not a restaurant for small children).

We plan to return in the summer to explore some of the many museums in Ottawa and would recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for river view in upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Morag D,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at our hotel with the Trip Advisor community.

I was pleased to read that you and your significant other took advantage of this past weekend’s beautiful weather and the Festivities of Winterlude 2013. My team and I were so happy that you received good value from your stay with us. By far our River-View Balcony rooms are our most popular, mainly due to the panoramic views of the Jacques Cartier Park, Ottawa River and Parliament buildings. Thank you also for your recommendations of “Cafe St-Jacques" we will be sure to add it to our list of guest tested recommended restaurants. Once again, on behalf our entire team, that you for taking the time to write about your positive experiences with us and we hope to see you soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    215
    116
    64
    44
See reviews for
191
200
25
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This stay was great! Last time I booked at this location it was over booked and I had to travel at night to a different hotel in Gatineau. I was told I would get a credit to stay at a Best Western Hotel, but this has not happened. Roxane Brazeau remembers this incident.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Lisa J,

Thank you for giving us a second chance at making a first impression. I was so pleased to have been able to share with my staff how much you enjoyed your stay with us. In our industry it is rare that clients will give us a second chance after a negative experience, I am proud that our team made you believer and most importantly a return client.
We sincerely look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

There were a few issues with our stay at this hotel:

1) Strong odors as you enter lobby area (food)

2) Room smelled of moth balls / 'musty' odors as you enter room

3) Showers in morning were luke warm only

4) Parking is located in three different sites [first site is on-site, second and third are off-site and hotel does not take any responsibly to break in or damage to vehicle - and there is no security cameras on these off site parking locations]

This hotel is dated, yet has all the amenities for a traveller looking for value. They did offer the use of a small crib (not playpen) which is a bonus for any parent travelling with infant.

I'd say the main thing that we were surprised about was the fact that we didn't have hot water the next morning. We've travelled a lot and I have to say I've never experienced this before, didn't matter what time of day it was.

Overall the experience was a 2/5. The price of the room was what attracted us and well I guess you get what you pay for. We recently stayed at a Best Western Plus in Fernie, BC and there was no comparison.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Travelling_Two

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your stay with us this past weekend. Be assured our property looks at every comment, positive or negative and will act on improving our products and services for all our guests. I was very sorry to read that your stay with us was not to your expectations. I have personally passed on your concerns to each of the department heads involved and have been assured that steps are being taken to address and rectify these deficiencies. Regarding the carpet smell you mentioned, I will be further investigating this issue as from November 2012 - January 2013 our hotel has completely re-carpeted every single guest room.

Once again thank you for your constructive comments and we hope you will consider giving us a second chance at making a first impression the next time your travels bring you back to the National Capital Region.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gatineau hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel affords you one of the most spectacular views of Ottawa. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and the king size bed luxurious.

Bathroom was nicely appointed and wifi worked well. This hotel is worth a visit when in the Gatineau/Ottawa area. It is close to many attractions and right across the street from a bridge that takes you to Ottawa proper.

Two blocks from the hotel is one of the finest restaurants in the area, Le Tartuffe. Do give it a try and take home a memory you will not soon forget. Prices are very reasonable at the Best Western Plus.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
David K,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. It is comments such as yours that motivate us to continually improve upon our products and services. It was most gratifying to learn that our continual investments into training as well as the strong emphasis put on overall hotel and in-room cleanliness have not gone un-noticed.

Once again Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, we sincerely look forward to your next stay with us when your travels bring you back to the national capital region.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

the rooms were nice and big for 2 kids 1 adult, pool was fun clean and supervised so that was great.
Breakfeast though went down hill. over priced for what you get. Cook cannot cook an egg potatoes come cold and you could count them on your fingers.
Walk over to Mc donalds its cheaper and beter.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Mike L.

Thank you for your review of our hotel, we appreciate the time it takes to write comments after your stay.

I was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and specificity our indoor heated salt water swimming pool, and that you noticed that for our client’s security we always have a lifeguard on duty. To address the restaurants food quality, please know that I have personally passed your concerns and comments to The Bistrot Cartier’s operator and he has assured me that the issue has been resolved. He also wanted me to mention that beginning in January 2013 our clients will have all new menu’s that will ensure speed and most importantly food quality are never over looked.

We value all comments from our travelers, I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. My team and I hope that we can have a second chance at a first impression, if your travels bring you back to the National Capital region.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We were very satisfied with our stay. The view is to die for and the lobby is so very welcoming. It's only a quick walk to the downtown market. We felt that many attractions were very accessible and would recommend this hotel to all of our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingonadime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
travellingonadime,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We are extremely proud to feature such a breathtaking view. You will also interested to learn, that at this year's Best Western International Convention, our hotel was a finalist in the category of Best View from a hotel room amongst all 4100 Best Western Hotels.
Once again Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa hotel, we sincerely look forward to your next stay with us when your travels bring you back to the national capital region.

Yours in Hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We just stayed here for a weekend getaway to Ottawa. The Staff is super friendly and very helpful. We had a gorgeous view with a balcony of the River and Parliament hill. The Lobby is immaculately clean. The pool is small but nice, my daugher really enjoyed swimming there. It is comforting also to know that there is always a lifeguard there. The lifeguards were very kind and polite.

The rooms were standard rooms, very clean fridge, nice comfortable beds. Free Wifi was great. There is also underground parking which many guests do not seem to know about after reading some of the reviews here.

Location is A-MA-ZING! The Museum of Civilization is practically next door and a MUST for families. It was super fun. And you can walk across the bridge to the Byward Market and Parliament Hill. Also the taxes are lower so that's another plus to staying here as oppose to in Ottawa.

The only negative thing I have to say is, they need to water and trim their plants outside :) However overall we had a wonderful and fun time. We would like to stay here again.

Room Tip: If getting a Balcony view, ask for the upper levels to really get a gorgeous view!! We stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiRoRo_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Hiromi, P

Thank you for your review of our hotel, we appreciate the time and energy it takes to write comments after your stay. One of our greatest priorities is to offer clean and comfortable accommodations to our guests with speedy and friendly service.

Without the help of our guests leaving comments and letting us know what improvements are needed we would never be able to achieve our goal. I have personally passed your concerns regarding our front flower pots to our Maintenance Manager, and will be following up.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#4 of 25 in Gatineau
128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa

Property: Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa
Address: 131 rue Laurier, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gatineau
#5 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a moment to relax and enjoy the view! Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa is an award winning, waterfront hotel that provides guests with a picturesque view of Canada’s Capital. Our 9 storey structure has 133 guest rooms including 9 suites, 4 banquet rooms offering a total of 4500 square feet of meeting and banquet space and with our events manager directly on site, we can accommodate all your business or leisure event needs. Our hotel offers a relaxing blend of inviting hospitality with state of the art, modern day conveniences, including complimentary wireless high speed internet throughout, free local phone calls, an equipped health facility, a newly renovated indoor salt water pool with a lifeguard provided at all times and indoor parking. Enjoy a stroll across the historic Alexandra bridge, to the famous Byward Market and Ottawa’s downtown business, shopping and entertainment district. We look forward to welcoming you to the Outaouais’ best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gatineau
Best Western Gatineau
Gatineau Best Western
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing