We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hockey team trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Gatineau
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hockey team trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

This hotel was selected for us by the hockey organization. The location right on the river in Gatineau meant that a lot of the Ottawa attractions are within a short walking distance of this hotel. In fact when we opened the drapes in our room we were presented with a view of the rear of the parliament buildings.

The hotel has limited parking out front but has a number of other lots behind the property. Even with these it can be a challenge to find a vacant parking space when returning late in the evening. Obviously parking must be at a premium at this central location as they charge $11 a night extra for the parking.

Check-in was smooth and the staff was professional, friendly and most helpful with advice on what to see and where to eat. On arrival only one of the two elevators were working and with the hotel booked close to capacity it made for very long waits. As we were only on the third floor we normally resorted to using the stairs.
The room was bright and airy although a bit small for a family of four. Everything in the room looked like it had been recently renovated and was very clean. There is separate heating/cooling in each room and this functioned well to keep everybody comfortable. Even with this central location we found there was very little traffic noise in the evenings/night and everyone slept well. The in-room complimentary WiFi is good and had enough bandwidth for our kids to video Skype their friends without issue. The kids were disappointed to find that the swimming pool was not open at all during our stay.

The family ate breakfast on a couple of occasions but found the food quality poor and expensive. Our teenage kids like their bacon and eggs but found both to be inedible here.

In general I would recommend this hotel to others and would return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side to have great views of Ottawa Parliament Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ph1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    198
    108
    54
    41
See reviews for
168
177
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western Gatineau several times while on business in the Capital Region. I have found the hotel well situated to access the various places that I need to visit while in the capital. Service has always been friendly and efficient. Great views of the Ottawa River.

Room Tip: Corner suites on the river side are great with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWood_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettleby, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We recently stayed here for the family day long weekend in Feb and it was the prefect place to stay since the Snowflake Kingdom was just across the street!
The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and the rooms were very well appointed and clean.
Looking forward to returning again next year and we highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for great value and service.
...Friends from Kettleby Ontario

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few times. The staff are friendly and it is close to the action just across the bridge from Parliament Hill.

It is also across the street from Jacques Cartier Park in Gatineau one of the sites for Winterlude.

Room Tip: Parking is not included but is at a very reasonable price. Ask for a view of the river that way you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petergoulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

* Ask for an Ottawa or river view room.. These rooms look out over the Ottawa River and the Parliament buildings, the other side is city view and it's just boring buildings..
We went to the BW last week and really enjoyed it. The location is great as you just walk across the bridge and you are downtown Ottawa, or just across the street to the Park and the museum.. The rooms are a good size, they look recently updated and are very clean. The pool was great, it has a lifeguard on duty, it is filled with salt water instead of that awful chlorine and a great size for families. The staff were friendly and accommodating, they helped us find restaurants and things to see. We didn't use the restaurant, as we chose the short walk to the market instead, however, it looked nice and welcoming. Can't beat the prices, saved minimum $50 per night since we were just across the bridge. We will certainly come back to the BW when we return to the Ottawa area.

Room Tip: Ask for river/Ottawa view - see above
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank georgieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lives2Travel20, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Georgie Canada,

Thank you for taking the time to your experiences at our hotel, with the Trip Advisor community.
Our hotel is extremely privileged to be able to offer our clients such a great view from our Riverview guest rooms. I was glad to have read that you and your family selected one of these rooms, and were able to see the Parliament Buildings. Thank you also for acknowledging the top level customer care my team provided you and your family.

On behalf our entire team, thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Martin Fogarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#5 of 25 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa
Address: 131 rue Laurier, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a moment to relax and enjoy the view! Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa is an award winning, waterfront hotel that provides guests with a picturesque view of Canada’s Capital. Our 9 storey structure has 133 guest rooms including 9 suites, 4 banquet rooms offering a total of 4500 square feet of meeting and banquet space and with our events manager directly on site, we can accommodate all your business or leisure event needs. Our hotel offers a relaxing blend of inviting hospitality with state of the art, modern day conveniences, including complimentary wireless high speed internet throughout, free local phone calls, an equipped health facility, a newly renovated indoor salt water pool with a lifeguard provided at all times and indoor parking. Enjoy a stroll across the historic Alexandra bridge, to the famous Byward Market and Ottawa’s downtown business, shopping and entertainment district. We look forward to welcoming you to the Outaouais’ best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gatineau
Best Western Gatineau
Gatineau Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing